September 19, 2014 | 919 users online

Lipstick - Chanel - Rouge Coco No. 21 - Rivoli



image 0

rated 4.3(22 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 63% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.8
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 8/10/2014 11:04:00 PM More reviews by Novelist12

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Beautiful wine color that applies smoothly onto my lips. As always with Chanel, the packaging is chic and glamorous. The SA paired this color with a lip pencil in Le Crayon Levres #03 Roux Sienna and a top gloss in Levres Scintillantes 04 Spark. I am very happy with this purchase!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/16/2014 2:50:00 PM More reviews by themindispoison

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is arguably the prettiest lipstick color I own. It's truly gorgeous, looks fantastic on my lips, doesn't dry them at all and does not bleed. My one issue with it is that it wears off quite easily, and leaves you with that white-halo-in-the-middle-of-your-mouth kind of look. I've never experienced that problem so clearly with any other lipstick, but I am so utterly in love with the shade that I don't really mind it that much. I'm currently looking for a lipliner that would be a good match for the color - I think that should fix it, but so far I've been quite unlucky and always picked some that are a few shades darker.

The one big issue is the price. Specially when you're buying it in Brazil, like I am, it really is a spurge item.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/8/2014 2:38:00 PM More reviews by Shopaholica82

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I have really wanted a wine coloured lipstick for the past few months and have decided to splurge on a Chanel one.

Pros:
- beautiful colour that builds up
- it's not too pigmented so you can choose to layer the lipstick on for a lighter or darker lip look
- glides on smoothly
- stays colourful and smooth all day if you don't eat/put your mouth near anything

Cons:
- you only get around 1" of lipstick for $40, I just found the lipstick shorter than most drugstore lipsticks (like 1.5")
- is not kiss proof
- could have more intense pigmentation, I have to wear 2 layers to achieve the deep wine coloured look I was going for (but this is just personal preference)

Overall, I think I could get a similar high quality product at a way lower price (i.e. MAC) so I will not be repurchasing this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 9/26/2013 11:26:00 AM More reviews by Bmelodyb

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This was bought for me as a gift and I loved the surprise, as it was my first Chanel purchase, but the colour just doesnt suit me. I have tried both light and heavy use and neither suits, it makes me look very washed out and my lips thin. I am generally very pale, with freckles, but I have found that the orange-reds suit me much more and make my skin glow. I wont be repurchasing this, but it did kick start my Chanel cosmetics addiction!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/12/2012 2:45:00 PM More reviews by akhala

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Blue

Even though I absolutely loved the color of this lipstick, because of the reviews below I was a little bit afraid of buying it. I hate lipsticks that wear off to a ring. Anyway, I decided to buy it, the color is just that perfect red for my skintone and eyes. And I am glad that I did! It looks stunning on my lips! Unfortunately, I only got 2 solid hours with it and by the third it was completely gone. Here I have to mention that I did a lot of talking during those 3 hours and in addition had dinner. But, it wore off evenly to a beautiful shade! It not only did not transfer to my teeth, but it made them look brighter. Nice! I really think this is a great red lipstick and it is becoming one of my favorites. I really don't mind the fact that it is not very longlasting, because my lips keep a color very difficultly and this does a better job than most.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/3/2012 7:56:00 AM More reviews by AnneMarie13

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Red, Straight, Other Eyes: Green

Great color for cool understones! i just woudnīt buy it again because itīs so pigmentated that a little goes a long way, and i think when mine is finished, chanel might have other ones to try!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/24/2012 4:21:00 PM More reviews by AnnaODowd

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Rivoli was my first Chanel makeup purchase.
I stood at the Chanel counter having researched the colours online for weeks beforehand and having narrowed my options down to Rivoli, Ballet Russe or Rouge Noir.
Well the last one was way too dark for practicality, Ballet Russe was lovely, but slightly too brown for me (pale skin, dark hair, light eyes) but Rivoli was perfection. Deep pink/purple in a hue that lit up my face, it's amazing what the right colour lipstick can do for you even if there's no other makeup on your face.
For day time wear, I use it as a stain applied with my ring finger. For night time, I outline the lips with Revlon Timeliner in Plumwine, paint Rivoli on with lip brush, blot, repeat and go. This method lasted through a night out at a Japanese restaurant where I ate a huge bowl of ramen noodles.
I love this colour and would wear it to death, the price is €26.50 here in Ireland.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/10/2011 1:28:00 PM More reviews by celegia

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Once Yves Saint Laurent said that the best makeup for a woman is passion...but cosmetics are easier to buy.
Saint Laurent worked in Paris and the classic look of a parisian girl is cherry lips, porcelain skin and dark eyes.
Every woman knows how hard is to find the perfect cherry tone. None wants orange, purple or -bleh- brown lips.
For me Rivoli could help you to show the best red lips ever if you follow the next steps.
First: check it on your lips. It looks almost blue red on my hand but it's a bright plum red on my mouth. Second: it's a very pigmented colour so if you don't feel confident with it, dub it on the center of your lips and blend it with the tip of your fingers to achieve the "bitten lips" look. In this way it won't disappear right away. Third: use it on balmed lips. Fourth and most important: you can use Rivoli as a blush if you put it on the apple of your cheeks and blend it with a brush. With Rouge Fatal nail polish Rivoli rocks!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/31/2011 5:04:00 PM More reviews by dennymc

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I find this a highly pigmented lipstick, which like others have already said wears and leaves a ring around the mouth. I apply with a brush and do like the colour, but prefer the chanel glosses or lacques for texture and quick reapplication....won't repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/26/2011 4:23:00 AM More reviews by prettyinpink_sf

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is my favorite red lipstick. i use this for a quick daytime look - black eyeliner and this lipstick - i look polished and chic.

Is this review helpful? Yes No