April 24, 2014 | 1377 users online

Cleansers - Garnier - Skin Renew The Brusher Gel Cleanser

no image

rated 3.3(27 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.3
  • 44% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 2.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 3/11/2014 5:28:00 PM More reviews by LeilaXXX

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

I bought this on a blogger's recommendation, always willing to try the new skin care fad. As many have said, the face wash itself is pretty good - leaves my skin feeling fresh and clean, and a little goes a long way. However, the brush head itself is somewhat cumbersome, and I don't feel it exfoliates as well as it could. I tend toward oily skin and don't find I can ever exfoliate TOO much, so this might just be me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 9/9/2012 5:41:00 PM More reviews by ToriBiohazard

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

I picked this up on clearance, just because it looked interesting and I've never tried anything from the Garnier skin care line.
I like it because you can twist open the bottle, squeeze a small amount of scrub onto the brush, then twist it close again, so you don't have too little or too much scrub on your face. It's not super harsh on my sensitive skin, the brush is I think silicone, but its flexible, and doesn't dig into my face or hurt. The microscrub smells great, and doesn't leave my face raw and red. It's a little drying, but I have dry skin to begin with, so I just make sure to moisturize afterwards!
I haven't emptied it yet, but I'm hoping there's a way I can refill it, or fill it with a different scrub when it's gone. That'd be cool!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 9/4/2012 10:48:00 PM More reviews by tb0ne11

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I purchased a facial cleanser from SDM this past week and I am not certain on how I feel about it.

The product is by Garnier; The Brusher. The appeal to this cleanser is that it has a rubber brush head at the top of it, used to exfoliate. When I used the scrub brush, I found that the product does not make its way down the rubber bristles as it is intended to, however, the cleanser itself is fine. Would I purchase it again, probably not. Will I continue to use the product until it's finished, yes. All in all, I give it a 2.5 out of 5. It's completely mediocre.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/2/2012 2:56:00 PM More reviews by wintersfire

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I bought this awhile ago and used it on/off for a couple months now and I'm starting to see a pattern. Although the product is okay (it's a decent/standard cleanser) the packaging makes it a lot harder to get to and the exfoliating head doesn't really deliver.
When I use this as my main cleanser (I like to switch now and then between brands and cleansers) I tend to break out after a couple weeks. That could be from the build up of skin that isn't scrubbed off from the exfoliating head :/ (after using it I still feel like my face wasn't as exfoliated as it could be)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/22/2012 5:04:00 PM More reviews by Hayxoh

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

I got this at my CVS sale. It was 50%-75% (i forgot) off of the original price. I got it for $2-3. There was only 2 left on the rack, so I bought both. When I bought this, I was expecting more of a natural bristle on the top. They're rubber, which I'm not really a big fan of but I can live with. The exfoliation is ok, but no way does it compare to my St Ives apricot scrub. The cleansing gel inside is a bit hard to get out when squeezing. Overall it's an OK product but I will not be repurchasing.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/10/2012 1:35:00 AM More reviews by kmaroney35

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I found this on sale at Walgreens for 3$!! I picked up three for around the price of one. I LOOOOOVE this product, and use it daily. I find that the brush does not exfoliate, but aids me in cleaning my face. I use make up remover wipes and after I use the Garnier cleanser I can see make up residue in the brush head. Such an easy product, I don't get how everyone is having such a mprblem with it.

Also, i've used this for about 3 three weeks, and am acne prone, I see that my skin has cleared up!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/29/2012 6:38:00 PM More reviews by Kkate142

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This product is not the best.I like the product inside but the package is a PAIN. Once you have used enough of the product you have to tip the bottle spill some product out but then the prodcut goes back in the tube so you have to do it again.I don't think this cleanser does anything overly special to my skin, but at least it cleans my face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 3/20/2012 4:08:00 PM More reviews by sakecat22

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Packaging - a PITA. I can understand the concept, but execution is lacking. The brush doesn't seem to exfoliate very effectively and after a month's worth of use I discovered that the cleanser actually clogged my skin. Interestingly - it works much better on my boyfriend's back zits. Giving this to him.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 2/6/2012 4:55:00 PM More reviews by AmyK2005

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I've been using this for about a month...although I don't use it every single day. I had run out of my exfoliating scrub (I had used St. Ives) and decided to give this a shot, just to see if the brush was as good as an actual exfoliating scrub.
In my opinion, it is not. The product itself is okay; I like Garnier stuff. My skin is pretty normal, but a little on the oily side on my T-zone. I just honestly don't think the brush does a whole lot. It feels okay, but I think the plastic "bristles" are far too large to really work on pores...at least mine anyways. I had been really paying attention to my pores the last week or so and today I couldn't stand it anymore so I bought an actual exfoliating scrub, because I just don't think "The Brusher" was doing a whole hell of a lot of anything. I'll use it up, because like I said the cleanser is okay, but it definitely does not do the job for exfoliating.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/13/2011 7:27:00 PM More reviews by producthoarder

Age: 36-43 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other Eyes: Green

I am VERY surprised by this product. I picked it up on a whim, admittingly being sucked in by the gimicky "brush". I paid $8 + tax, which in my opinion, is UBER cheap. I thought, hey, if I dont like it, it can be tossed or given away without a huge expense. I have used every face wash on the market (Clarins, Kiehls, Olay, Dermalogica..you get the drift) without a huge success.

Enough blabbing, on to the review. I agree with most reviewers on here saying that the brush is a pain in the a$$. What I do is:
1) Use a seperate eye makeup remover. I didnt even attempt to use this product on my eyes.
2) Squeeze the product into my clean hands. Dont try to squeeze it and then rub on your face with the brush. Pain in the a$$. I then put the product on my face, getting a good lather.
3) I then use the brush, gently, in circular motion on my face. Rinse and done.

I gave this product a 5 because, I swear, in a week my face had cleared up (some mild acne) and my skin tone had improved greatly. The only CONS I have about this wash is, I found the fragrance overwhelming at times and without a decent moisturizer, it can be a tad on the drying side.

I have been using it for about 3 weeks...the bottle is not even half gone and my face looks fantastic. Give it a shot, believe me, you have nothing to loose.

Is this review helpful? Yes No