December 18, 2014 | 1755 users online

Palettes - E.L.F. - Beauty Book - Eye Brights Edition

rated 3.4(27 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.4
  • 51% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.4
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 3/11/2011 7:37:00 PM More reviews by Crescent

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I REALLY hate to say this but I HATE this with a Burning passion... and No, I'm not a brand snob (I've never even bought them). I've recently have been on a Elf Kick because my target finally acquired elf. :D Though I found this at A ross for like $4.46 and the colors looked Beautiful and I heard and that they're dupes for the UD stuff.
While on my Elf kick, All the products I found were Great. But This was horrible and the most expensive out of the stuff I bought.
~Little to NO pigmentation(4 or 5 of them) unless you have some really good primer or base.
~chalky!
The only decent shadows in this palette in my opinion is the burgundy, blue, brown, taupe(upper right hand), and The slightly okay Purple. But other then that the others are USELESS.
>_____>
I Really don't get how the swatches look so nice but this palette sucks. I wish i would've spent the money on another Wet n wild palette.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/8/2011 9:08:00 PM More reviews by dddoxie

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I don't care what the haters say...I love ELF and this palette does not disappoint.

The majority of the colors are extremely soft/creamy and are super pigmented.

love, love, love.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/15/2010 1:02:00 PM More reviews by 1CosmeticJunkie

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I love love love this pallete! The colors have awesome pigmentation. They are all very shimmery but thats fine with me. For $5 you cant beat this product!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/26/2010 12:35:00 PM More reviews by mitzio3

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I can't believe all of these low ratings for these eye shadows on MA! These are AMAZINGLY pigmented, and in beautiful shades of every color! It really is such a great find for such a low price! The eyeliner is nice too! I would definitely recommend this to anyone!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/18/2010 5:46:00 PM More reviews by Christinaann5

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

Im sad to see the low reviews on this bc i absolutely luv this palette. Now im OBSESSED AND LOVE the neutral and smokey eye palettes even more so if u were unsatisfied with this one try the other two (these are repackaged items- the eye beauty encyclopedias on elfs site so u can still get them but theyre not the new back 2 school packaging but i love em more u can go check em out) on to my review of 'eye brights' for $5 i adore this! But im an elf fanatic so i love anything elf. All the colors are pigmented and contain shimmer or glitter. I love the purple, cranberry, black, browns, ok i love em all except the first color in the top row, bc its white glitter, mine was broken when i got it so it went all thru the palette. It was a mess but i cleaned it up and i repressed the shadow. I may find a way to use it, make a cream shadow, i dunno. I reach for these encyclopedias so much that im neglecting all my other shadows. Its so versatile. The pigmentation is phenonomal! And they apply and blend like HE shadows. Elf really rocked my world with their encyclopedias. I love this one. There are only two matte shades, a dark brown and the purple. If u want color get this one, def comparable to urban decay. If u want more neutral shades go with the smoky or neutral books. But i find i can do any type of look with 'eye brights' if u missed out, just get the elf 'sparkle eye edition' its the exact same, same price but u get 2 cream shadows, a silvery white and a pink and a mini eye liner and a duo ended brush and sponge tip. I find this one to be a better deal. But i do have both bc im a sucker for LE items :) the swatches show how buttery smooth these are and the pigmentation, Damn! $5 for 12 wonderful shadows and endless looks, yaah! I LOVE U E.L.F.!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 11/18/2010 5:01:00 PM More reviews by shescrafty72

Age: 36-43 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

There are some shadows in this set that I really like, some that I absolutely hate so I am on the fence. They are pigmented but lack the stay power of some HE brands. The glittery shades tend to fall off of my eyes and the glitter ends up on my cheeks. I have used a mix of glycerine and water which seems to set some of the colors but what a pain in order to get use out of them. This set has prevented me from purchasing other sets from ELF. I love some of their products but this is not one of them, having said that for $5, I don't feel so bad about it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 11/6/2010 7:33:00 PM More reviews by gorbe

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

I see someone already beat me to the punch in pointing out that there are quite a few dupes of Urban Decay's Urban Ammo palette (which I also own) in here. I have the same issue with both- too much freaking glitter! Not shimmer, full on giant chunks of glitter that get EVERYWHERE. There are a few shades that are safe- the green and blue, and the two purples on the bottom. Those are workable. That glittery white mess on the top left is a dupe for Polyester bride, except even more horrible and unwearable. I hated it so much I took a paperclip to it and dumped the pigment out in a trashcan. Anyway, besides the general glitterfailness of the product as a whole, the eyeshadows are generally creamy and pigmented- some more than others. Another minor gripe: what's with the plastic sheet over the palette? Really irriatating, I'm comtemplating cutting it off, but I think it does serve the purpose of keeping some of the fallout pigment from getting EVERYWHERE. (Better solution idea, to ELF: make eyeshadow with less fallout). And yes, I know, it's 5 bucks, so I shouldnt expect perfection. But still- ELF has some great products that are amazing quality for the price (like the studio line brushes) so I have high expectations from them. Bottom line: would not repurchase, though it's fun to have to try new eye looks without wasting a lot of expensive shadow.

Oh, and FYI, the Urban Ammo dupes in this (besides Polyester Bride) are: Grifter, last call, oil slick (ELFs is actually better than UD's on this one), mildew, and maui wowie (almost).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 10/15/2010 10:32:00 PM More reviews by tango2470

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

Good-but not the best.

Some of the colors are really pretty and pigmented in this palette but others are unpigmented, and kind of chalky.

It also bothers me that ALL the eyeshadows in this pallette contain shimmer. An ideal palette would contain both shimmery and matte eyeshadows to create an ideal look.

The price wasnt THAT cheap either.

It was about 10$ Canadian. For the price I would have expected a little more. I prefer the neutral palette.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 9/13/2010 3:58:00 PM More reviews by ayaspiralout

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I was excited to buy this at Target after hearing that it is similar to the Ammo palette, but when I swatched them next to each other at home I was pretty let down. The ELF shadows are chalky, chunky, and not pigmented compared to UD which is creamy and smooth. For someone who isn't used to having nice eyeshadows this might be ok but I returned it, knowing I would never ever use it.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 9/12/2010 4:06:00 PM More reviews by tanyagovea

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

This pallet should cost less, I dont like the glitter in the shadows, I wish the black was matte. its hard to hold it up when doing makeup, should open up instead of side. I probably have used it 2x in 4 months.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No