April 18, 2014 | 1218 users online

Misc Beauty Tools - Bobbi Brown - Brush Cleaning Spray



image 0

rated 4.3(9 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 66% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 2/21/2014 1:56:00 AM More reviews by jennyyip

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Other Eyes: Brown

This is one of the best make up brush cleansing sprays I have used! It really gets the old, dirty makeup out of the brushes in one spray. I think it is because the spray is oil based so it removes the product very, very well.

The packaging is a convenient spray but the nozzle sprays out a straight, jet stream of product so it is really difficult to spray onto the brush. I usually just spray it onto the paper towel that I have and swirl my brush onto it. I assume that the jet stream that is sprayed out is like that because it is oil based, which leads to the problem that I have with this product. My hands and brush handles always get really oily after I clean them with this spray. Even after I realized that the spray comes out in a jet stream and I began spraying the product onto a paper towel, the product hits the paper towel and squirts around the area and makes everything around it oily.

The product is expensive, but I think it is worth it because I recently purchased a Clinique Cleansing Spray and it's about $6 cheaper but I use way more product to spot clean each brush. If the product didn't make everything so oily, I will definitely keep repurchasing it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/20/2013 2:54:00 PM More reviews by julia178

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

Excellent product and a timesaver too. This spray is very effective, yet gentle and it cleanses my brushes in no time. I just spray it on the brush head and gently swirl the brush over a clean, dry tissue until there is no pigment residue in the brush bristles. I then wrap the tissue around the brush head and softly squeeze to dry the brush. The brush is then ready for immediate use which is convenient within makeup applications when I want to use the same brush for different shades. Since high quality brushes are so expensive I am willing to invest in good cleansing products to ensure their longevity. I alternate between this spray cleanser for daily use and the tube cleanser from Bobbi Brown which I use on a weekly basis to wash my brushes with water and then lay them out to dry overnight. My brushes seem to like this regimen, I have a number of brushes that are 10 years old and and they still look and perform like new ones.
Retails for $22

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/13/2012 3:09:00 PM More reviews by Enkida

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I bought this cleanser in Germany, where it retails for about 23 Euros, and have almost finished my first bottle. With almost daily use on my assortment of brushes, it lasted about three months for me.

First and foremost, the most important thing to note about this formula is that it claims to be alcohol-free. As any painter could tell you, using alcohol regularly on brush bristles, particularly natural hair bristles, will kill them more quickly than you could say "I would never use rubbing alcohol as a hair conditioner in the shower!" Also, as noted, it is a very "oily" formula, which most of us know is the basis for some of the oldest hair conditioning recipes in the world (think olive oil). These two ideas combined make this an excellent daily spot cleanser, because it will allow you to clean your brushes quickly and regularly without ruining their texture - especially if you have expensive, high end natural hair bristles. If you use this as directed - spray on a tissue, swirl your brush gently against it until it stops releasing makeup, and wash your brushes regularly with some kind of shampoo, say, once a week in addition - your brushes will stay soft and supple despite the constant "washing."

The biggest downside is the price - at 23 Euros for such a small bottle, it's not as cheap as making your own brush cleaner from scratch, or buying something from the drugstore. You really pay for that lack of alcohol. Another downside is the "oiliness" of the formula - while it's fine for your brush bristles (and your face - not enough oil remains in the bristles to even leave a mark in powdered makeup pans), it can soak right through your cleaning tissue after a while. The problem with this is that the surface area you lay your tissue on will subsequently also become oily and/or stained after repeated usage. Or to put it another way, the time you may save cleaning your brushes you spend cleaning your countertop instead.

While I own good quality makeup brushes, they are not expensive brushes and also mostly synthetic hair. For that reason I am going to give homemade brush cleaner (which contains alcohol) a try after I finish my bottle of Bobbi Brown cleanser. However, if I owned expensive, very fine quality natural hair brushes, I would repurchase this spot cleanser without hesitation for daily use. I simply don't have enough time to do a castile soap-or-baby shampoo wash and dry every single day of the week, and I would consider this cleanser a good way to protect both my expensive brush investments and my face.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 6/13/2012 12:10:00 PM More reviews by Jubilee

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I wanted to love this product, and at first I did. As other reviewers have said, it gets rid of all traces of makeup on your brushes quickly, so you can use them again. My only problem is the packaging. My spray nozzle clogged up and would only spray a very sharp line of product, which would in turn soak my brush and it wouldn't be usable. This happened long before I got to the bottom of the bottle. I've sinced discovered Sonia Kashuk's brush cleaner, which is the same concept as this. It smells nicer, hasn't clogged up and is about a third of the price of the BB. So I don't think I'll be repurchasing.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/28/2011 5:33:00 PM More reviews by nukacola

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

Absolute HG for me. This is perfect for me as I often use the same brush more than once when applying my makeup. It removes all traces of products quickly (even liquid foundation!) and effectively and dries them instantly. I don't see any film like other reviewers have mentioned, but it does feel slightly oily. This however doesn't bother me as it doesn't affect makeup application at all. The only con I can think of as at 15, it's pricey but I will continue to purchase as to me it's worth every penny.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/17/2011 11:32:00 AM More reviews by silentboo

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Fine Eyes: Blue

I'm quite lazy and hardly ever wash my make-up brushes and this product makes me feel less guilty about it.

Only my foundation brush doesn't come away completely clean after use, but I still feel half cleaning it is better than not cleaning it at all.

I have noticed the slightly oily look of brushes after use which the last review describes as a film, but I've never worried about it as it doesn't seem to have any adverse effect on them or my make-up application.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/13/2011 12:35:00 AM More reviews by pel2iwinkle

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Other Eyes: Brown

I like that it comes in a convenient spray bottle with a cap and dries quickly. But I find that it leaves some sort of film on my brush bristles. Even if I leave it to dry overnight, my brushes don't fluff up to its normal shape. It looks like its damp. I'm not sure if I'd repurchase, so I selected "no" but I think it's good for spot cleaning when you want to use the brush right away without waiting, which is what it was designed for. When I spray it onto a napkin or towel to clean my brush, it leaves a film like oil would. It retails for $22 for 3 fl oz (100 mL).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/19/2011 10:06:00 AM More reviews by nea18

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I really like this brush cleaning spray. It cleans my brushes in a few seconds and they are dry instantly. It's quite expensive, but worth the money.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 8/1/2010 6:51:00 AM More reviews by bassetmomma

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I bought this product at the suggestion of the sales associate. I was looking for something to remove gel eyeliner from my brushes. This stuff works great. Just spray it on a tissue and run your brush over it a few times...voila. Great stuff. Will buy again. It's a bit pricey at 22 bucks but I think it will take me a long time to use up a bottle.

Is this review helpful? Yes No