October 24, 2014 | 1696 users online

Hair Removal - Vaniqa



image 0

rated 4.4(7 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.4
  • 100% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 4/23/2014 9:30:00 PM More reviews by lanierae

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I purchased this cream to help with my facial hair problem and it works wonderfully. I no longer have to worry about plucking daily. I feel such relief when I begin my day because I know that it won't start out with me having to search for dark hairs on my face. I haven't noticed much difference in my peach fuzz only because I mainly use it on the areas where my hair is darker. Now that the dark hairs seem to be under control, I am hoping to see my blonde hairs respond just as much. The tube doesn't last me that long because you are supposed to use it two times a day and it's 15g a tube. I use Eflora (which is the same thing as Vaniqa, just the generic), because it's much cheaper! I order mine from Tara Skin Care for only 39.80 and there are no shipping fees. It's also great because the company is within the US so you get it within a short amount of time! I don't find that using it twice daily everyday is a hassle at all. It takes me no more than a minute each time. I prefer using it for the rest of my life than to have hairs all over my face. I have not had any adverse skin side effects from this cream. I have particularly sensitive skin so I was initially concerned about how my skin would respond. I started to see results quickly. It says one month in you should start seeing results but I started seeing them earlier on than that. I also would like to add that using a little bit of water helps the cream spread more easily. You can also conserve more of the cream that way. I strongly encourage any woman who is suffering from facial hair to try this out! It truly is life changing!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/8/2013 9:36:00 PM More reviews by kaixin101

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have been using Vaniqa now for 6 weeks. The reduction in facial hair being problematic has been remarkable! I find myself hardly having to pluck hairs anymore, which has dramatically improved the quality of my life. I suffered for too long with unsightly hair and Vaniqa has not only retarded the growth of facial hair at an incredible rate, it has also been gentle to my skin and I can tell you that there have been no adverse reactions at all to Vaniqa. Another wonderful component to Vaniqa has been its compatibility with Meladerm, which I use as well. I started using these two products together 2 weeks ago and there have been absolutely NO negative interactions between these products. The Meladerm continues to fade problems due to hyper-pigmentation while the Vaniqa has steadfastly been eliminating the need to pluck unwanted facial hair. I am thrilled with Vaniqa and highly recommend it to ANYONE who suffers with excess facial hair in a daily basis. Stellar product and it's also compatible with other products as well. Vaniqa has completely improved the quality of my life. I also use a rebate.save $35 on my VANIQA prescription. http://www.manufacturerdrugcoupons.com/vaniqa-coupon/

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/26/2013 11:02:00 PM More reviews by ravnoss

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Curly, Medium Eyes: Blue

I asked my dermatologist for a prescription for this, but I haven't picked it up yet due to the expense. I did a google search for "vaniqa coupon" and found a coupon for $30. I saw a review that said she received a rebate for $60. I'll check for that as well before I pick mine up. I asked for this because I have blond fine hair on my lip and chin, but plan on using for the bikini line. I will follow up here as soon as I pick up my prescription.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/27/2011 12:42:00 AM More reviews by idressyou

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

I've been using this for about 2 weeks, now. I have noticed a little change in the amount of peach fuzz I was battling, which is great. I'm sure if I continue as I am I'll be fuzz-free in 3-4 months. The thing I want to warn about here is for the acne-prone folks. I have ultra sensitive, oily and acne-prone skin... all brought on by post-hysterectomy hormonal changes... as is the peach fuzz I'm using this for. Since starting this, I've had some issues with cystic acne, which isn't my usual type. Mind you, I'm using this before my normal moisturizer, so it could be the combo of the two, but since I can't go without a moisturizer, and this isn't moisturizing enough on its own, I will have to choose my poison: fuzz-free w/breakouts or fuzzy without? Also, wanted to mention the really off-putting scent of this... a little on the musty feet side, but fades as it absorbs (I'm using Eflora, which is 13.9% Eflornithine Hydrochloride... same as Vaniqa, just different manufacturer). Lastly, for those of you avoiding them, it contains parabens.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/7/2011 8:22:00 AM More reviews by guccigrl

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Medium Eyes: Brown

First off i want to say that i have PCOS and one of the symptoms is facial hair. I have had this condition since i was 14 but it didn't get noticeably bad until i turned 18 . Waxing was never an option, i only tried it once but it didn't remove any hair at all ,only skin. Tweezing was ok until i started noticing that it left me with scars ,deep red ugly scars that may never go away. So next i started shaving and been doing that for years , i am now 28 and my face is ruined!! I get horrible razor bumps, so bad that they bleed and turn scabby. i feel like a monster sometimes. My family thinks i'm crazy and say i'm pretty but i never believe them. I got so depressed that i never want to leave my house, i won't dare go outside if it's sunny and bright . I mostly wear my hair down and i have grown it long so that i can cover my face. The worst point of my life was when my own friend told me i had a "beard" and no makeup could ever help me ..her exact words! After that i realized that i could not keep living like this. I turned to my doctor who put me on Spironolactone to control my hormone issues . I recently got a prescription for Vaniqa but it cost me $72 for one small tube at walmart. I did get a $25 rebate offer as well so that helps. I only used this for 3 days so i cannot say much about it but i promised myself to try it out for 6 months at least. I will update this review after the 6 months is up. However I do know that this cream does not work best on it's own, you need to have another way of hair removal to go along with the cream. I have decided to do Laser hair removal, i start in a few weeks. I hope to God it works for me. Also for those of you who shave, do NOT shave upwards it will scar you and give you a razor rash. I did that for years and i ruined my face. I now shave downwards only and my razor rash is starting to go away but there is a stubble feeling. But no hair is noticeable and makeup covers what i need it to. Best of luck to all of you struggling with this problem. Try the Vaniqa, even if for only a few months and plz review it for us !

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/18/2010 1:39:00 PM More reviews by froglet

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I also have PCOS and have dealt with coarse dark hairs on my chin and upper lip for many years. Although I am on meds for this (Aldactone), every year the hair seemed to get worse, and I reached a point where I have to pluck every day. I cannot wax due to my skin also being hypersensitive. It had gotten so bad that for the past few years I would never let my husband touch my chin due to how self conscious I was about the bumps and stubble. My chin was covered in dark scars from where I had "picked" at the hairs with tweezers.
No longer. I have been on Vaniqa for 6 weeks. I apply it twice a day, morning and night. I began to see a difference within the first week and now I have hardly any hair on my chin or upper lip. I can count the dark hairs that have come in within the past 3 weeks on one hand. And not only is most of the hair gone, but the few that do come in are finer and thin. I have extremely sensitive skin and I have experienced absolutely no irritation from this product at all.
I have no doubt that once I reach my 8th week and beyond the hair growth will stop all together. I couldn't be happier. The scars on my chin are already fading and I can once again let my husband touch my chin without feeling embarrassed. I can't believe that I waited this long before trying it. It's a bit pricey, I paid $88.00 US dollars, and it required a doctor's script (unless you order it from overseas) but I cannot see myself EVER doing without this cream again. If you are considering trying Vaniqa, I cannot recommend it enough. For me, it has been a godsend.

Edited to add Jan. 2011
I am still using Vaniqa but wanted to mention that I have been on an anti-androgen (spironolactone) for 10+ years so this may be why the Vaniqa worked so well for me. I still had lots of facial hair while on the anti-androgen and that is why I tried the Vaniqa along with it. Recently I reduced my anti-androgen dosage and the Vaniqa couldn't keep up at all. I was once again stubble girl. I would still recommend this cream as an adjunct therapy if you have bad PCOS as I do.

Edited to add March 2012
I had stopped using the Vaniqa as it seemed to be causing me to break out along my chin line and upper lip, but having PCOS makes it really hard to tell the difference between my hormones going crazy and a product causing a problem. I stopped using it until I got my hormones under control (having re-upped my anti-androgen dosage) and once stable re-started the Vaniqa. It's been at least 7-8 months since then and I'm happy to say that it's working well and only (possibly) causing a pimple once or twice a month. Good trade. The facial hair is much more sparse and the 4 to 5 darker hairs that still come in are very slow growing and of a much thinner diameter. I have gone from plucking daily to only remembering to check my chin every 5 to 7 days or so. A vast improvement. It's possible that without the anti-androgen the Vaniqa wouldn't work as well, but without the anti-androgen I can also grow a mean goatee so as with all products, YMMV.

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/10/2010 3:31:00 PM More reviews by CarrieLynnJ

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

OMG Where has this been all my life?? I developed PCOS in my late teens and have struggled with a hairy chin for the past 20 years. Plucking, shaving, you name it. I was so worried about people catching a glimpse of the fact that I might have facial hair it made me insane going out. Then about 4 months ago my doctor (you need a prescription for this) suggested it and I went for it. All the other prescription treatments weren't really doing anything for me. I literally have no facial hair at this time. The fact the tube costs me about $60 for a month and a half treatment means NOTHING compared to the ease I feel now going without make up on my chin and neck and seeing smooth lovely skin there without redmarks or ingrown hairs. I will keep buying for as long as they make it, I am never going back to how things were.

16 out of 16 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No