September 2, 2014 | 2035 users online

BB Cream - BRTC - Gold Caviar BB Cream



image 0image 1

rated 3.9(29 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 58% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/24/2014 9:18:00 AM More reviews by Eastend_Snob

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is the fourth bb cream I've tries and I'm loving it! Unlike the others it comes in a conventional squeeze tube, which makes it super easy to control the amount of product you want to use. I find the formula very comparable to Skin79 Pink. It's very smooth, creamy and super blendable - no caking nor accentuating of fine lines. The shade is very similar - a light neutral which does not oxidize on me and matches my skintone perfectly. The coverage is light for a BB cream and more characteristic of a TM, but it looks very natural on my skin, albeit slightly dewy. I'd say its a great daytime product, but perhaps too sheer for night. Will buy again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 4/14/2013 4:02:00 AM More reviews by PiMehMeh

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I obtained a sample sachet of this product, which lasted about 5 uses when applied minimally (and as intended). I can't say how my skin fares with this product in the long run as far as whitening and anti-aging properties as I didn't notice any during the 5 days of usage I had. The product's immediate properties were decent, however.

This BB cream comes in only a single shade that should suit light to light-medium skin tones. Gold Caviar's single shade is a little darker and more gray-toned than BRTC's Jasmine Water BB cream, almost the same shade as MISSHA'S M Perfect Cover BB cream in No.23. It is also similar in consistency to the MISSHA BB cream (possibly a tad bit thicker), and is quite moisturizing. I thought that Gold Caviar would have a different finish than Jasmine Water, but both of these BRTC BB creams have dewy finishes that are best for dry skin in need of a luminous finish. The dewiness can be matted with powder.

The coverage is buildable to medium, but I recommend applying sparingly and layering additional coverage on as needed as applying too much product causes it to oxidize too slowly or not at all, which causes the skin to look gray and ghostly. The gray cast should oxidize to better match the skin tone within 5 minutes. The BB cream's staying power is quite durable, at 5 hours without powder and 8+ hours with powder. This BB cream does not have great oil control though, as I've had to blot once or twice each time I wore it, as soon as the 3rd hour.

While I enjoyed this BB cream more than the Jasmine Water BB cream for its better coverage and durability, I was not so pleased with its gray cast (Jasmine Water has a yellow undertone and no strong gray cast, but is best for fair skin tones and too pale for fair-medium skin tones).

It also takes a while to oxidize; I usually like BB creams because it streamlines my makeup routine so that I'm out the door faster. But even with minimal application of this BB cream (which by the way isn't all that heavy) I felt it was taking too long to wait and ensure that it oxidizes before blushing and bronzing my face without over-flushing the color.

Again, great product if you have dry skin and want a luminous finish, and have the patience to work with this product. I just personally wasn't down to add 5 more minutes to my routine to wait on this BB cream to match me and powder down the shine. I'm always rushing as it is, and it was simpler to just apply a regular sunscreen and a truer-color foundation to my face instead. And sensitive skin types: stay away! This has a very strong powdery fragrance.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/27/2013 1:59:00 PM More reviews by prblms4loki

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

My favorite BB cream thus far. The color is nearly a dead-on color match for my skin, and a pea-sized drop covers my entire face. I don't blend, I don't rub, I don't brush it onto my face. I dot the amount I have over my chin, cheeks, forehead and nose, and then sweep the dots across the face. It means I don't rub it all off by trying to blend it in, and it achieves great opacity. The initial result is incredibly shiny, but I always top my bb creams with a powder, so it is not a concern for me. I love that with a powder on, this still looks incredibly natural on the skin, and does not look like it's sitting "on top" of the skin, as some foundations and powders are apt to do. I am very happy with this purchase. I don't feel like there were any skincare benefits here, whitening, clarifying or otherwise, but I do appreciate the SPF, and given that I apply a relatively thick layer, feel confident that the promised amount of SPF is probably on my face since the proportions are right.
For reference, I am a light neutral skintone, neither pink nor yellow undertoned, but I would say this has more pink undertones than yellow, but it is not a true neutral.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/9/2013 7:17:00 PM More reviews by bert6889

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Grey

This is the second BB cream purchase I have made based on reviews I have read and seen on YouTube. This is a very nice BB cream but I will not be repurchasing it. Sadly it doesn’t quite match my skin tone, though with a light hand and some blending down my neck I am able to pull off this cream. I really wanted to like this BB cream more than I did.

PROS
-gives fair to medium coverage that is buildable
-great for sensitive skin (some BB`s contain Mineral Oil this one is free of that product)
-Smoothing
-Moisturizing (great for normal to dry skin)
-very easy application; beautiful texture
-I like the packaging it is a simple tube, you can get everything out of it unlike pumps or built in wands...they are just wasteful when half your product remains stuck in the packaging where you can't use it

CONS
-Oxidizes to a darker shade that is slightly more pink than when it comes out of the tube
-feels a like you are wearing makeup, similar to the feeling of Sephora and Laura Mercier tinted moisturizers
-has a smell similar to that of an unscented tinted moisturizer
-many BB creams have priming qualities, this one works ok as a primer (if you have oily skin or if any part of your face is oily I wouldn’t solely rely on only this to keep everything you place on top; eye shadows for example)

Overall if you are getting serious into BB creams this is one you should consider trying. It will cost you around $40 ($28 originally) for the full sided product with shipping in Canada. I do really think that BRTC should be making samplers or travel sized containers for those looking to try without committing to the full sized product. I am an NW20 according to MAC and I feel like this BB cream would be best suited for an NC20-25 complexion. I have very dry skin, and although this cream is moisturizing, it isn’t enough in some places on my face (during the Canadian Prairie Winters) I do think this cream would be good for someone with dry to normal skin. In the end I won’t be repurchasing this product again, not because it was bad (in fact it is very nice) but because it is the wrong colour, and I have used other BB creams I have liked more.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/16/2012 3:31:00 AM More reviews by sillys

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Would not buy this again because it's a shade or two too dark for me.

It has good coverage, stays on over several hours, and is easy to apply. I have pretty dry skin though, so if I use the BB Cream on it's own without moisturizer underneath, it will dry out my skin. If I use moisturizer underneath, then my skin won't dry out...however I do get oily in the T-zone after a couple hours. I have sensitive skin that breaks out if I wear foundation for over 6-7 hrs so the same goes for this product: I do break out a little if I wear it too long. And for those who want their acne to lighten up, I did notice that in the first few weeks I started using this, my acne scars seemed to be lighter. Overall it's a decent product, but because of my own skin type, it's not a good product for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/19/2012 11:03:00 AM More reviews by minjing319

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have combination/dehydrated/oily skin. This product is hydrating but a bit too thick and oily for me. It has meduim coverage and does brighten up my skin after i put it on (the shade is a bit lighter than my natual light Asian skin tone). If I don't put powder on top of it my face will look shiny in 30 minutes. In summer time I don't like to use too many products on my face and I am looking for a one-step product that's light, non-greasy, hydrating, with medium coverage and high sun protection. This BB cream only meets half of my requirements. I bought it based on many good reviews and hoped it works like a "magic cream" as what's advertised, honestly this's like a tinted moisturizer and I don't see "magic" in it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/6/2012 8:43:00 PM More reviews by BluEydQT

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

When I first started using this I wasn't too sure I was going to like it. I'm a MAC NC25-35 depending on if it's summer or winter. I originally found that this was too light. Then I was watching BentleyBlonde on YouTube and she suggested that you use bronzer over top to get it to match. This was the magic trick to beautiful bronzed looking skin. I used NYC's bronzer in Sunny with a EcoTools bronzer brush. Absolutely amazing! This is now back in rotation and I will use both tubes that I purchased. I will definitely repurchase this and I also want to try Missha BB Cream Perfect Cover in #23.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/9/2012 4:44:00 AM More reviews by 10858951

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Black


I've tried Missha perfect cover #23, Lioele Tiple the Solution and Skin 79 gold + pink bb creams but I find the BRTC gold cavier works best for me.


It gives medium coverage so if you have very dark acne scars you will need a concealer. This cream gives my skin a slight dewy and smooth look. The cream is not too thick and is super easy to blend. The colour isn't too gray either unlike the Missha perfect cover bb cream.

Before applying the cream appears a little darker than my skin but after it's all blended in and the powder is applied to set it everything looks perfectly fine. Most people can't tell I'm wearing makeup sometimes since the look it gives is so natural.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/29/2012 7:30:00 AM More reviews by Indigomama

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

BRTC Gold Caviar is a tad too tan for my winter skin and a tad too rich/oily for my summer skin. I would say it is my second favourite after Dr.Jart+ Premium, and I will use my first and only tube but will not repurchase. It's a decent product well worth its price on eBay or Sasa but just not for me. I believe someone with medium skintone and drier skin will like it alot. Sadly, not me. Overall, it definitely deserves 4 stars

Update 19/10/2012: tried it again with less oily skin and in cooler weater. Will rate it 5/5, even despite my only gripe: it gets completely transparent by noontime. Have to reapply for coverage. Otherwise very comfy and enjoyable. Already repurchased

Update 03/01/2013: imagine my surprise when an October repurchase from Sasa turned out a completely different product! A much better version than the one I reviewed. All my complaints were duly addressed: the color became much lighter and neutral (instead of dark tan with dull greyish pink undertone), there is now oil control, well, at least the product is less rich upon application. The coverage is medium at most but of those SPF50 BBs this one is (or remains) a thumbs up leader. The new version is now marked with Pore something Complex instead of Perfect Protection System and is very difficult to distinguish from the old one unless you have a true close up photo. Therefore all previous reviews are now totally irrelevant to this new product

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/2/2012 12:40:00 PM More reviews by ksasi04

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I love this BB Cream. It covers very well and has an SPF of 50. It goes on light, a little bit gray but oxidizes pretty quickly for my olive skin. Add some bronzer and it matches just fine. Perfect for winter because it's so moisturizing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No