January 24, 2015 | 1826 users online

Crème - Maybelline - Dream Smooth Mousse

rated 3.6(663 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 65% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.1
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 1/21/2015 11:35:00 AM More reviews by sugarfreee

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I have dry, clog-prone skin and foundations can be tricky especially drugstore ones. This works great! More coverage for times I want that, but still looks natural with no caking. The packaging is annoying but the product and price overcome that flaw. I found this recommended on a dupe site as an alternate for a similar Nars version. I only tried the Nars tester b/c Sephora was out of my shade. However this works wonderfully for me and the price is definitely right. I have color 150 classic ivory and for reference my other favorite foundation is Mac face and body in shade C1.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/8/2015 8:27:00 PM More reviews by MikeyLauren

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Curly, Other Eyes: Brown

I have a terrible time finding foundations - both high end and drug store brands - that match my skin. I'm biracial and have a tan complexion with neutral undertones. Most foundations geared towards women of color are too olive/yellow toned for me and other foundations often do not go dark enough. This foundation is a perfect color match: absolutely seamless. I could use this on just one part of my face and it would blend perfectly. The drawback to this foundation is that to get full coverage I have to use a lot of product and that leads to caking. I have tried many different brushes/application techniques and can't get full coverage without a cakey face. I have tried primers, setting sprays, setting powders: nothing gives a good finish. So I use it sparingly and use concealer with it to fake full coverage but the texture of the foundation still leaves a lot to be desired and while it lasts all day it can look a little dry, even with a dewy setting spray. Overall this is a good everyday foundation and I buy it because it's a good backup and a perfect shade match but I am actively looking for something better.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 1/5/2015 5:12:00 PM More reviews by Ketol

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

HORRIBLE. This foundation makes my pores look HUGE. It looks cakey and I look overly "Made up". It doesn't matter how I apply it or if I use a primer or not. The ONLY Good thing I like is it glides on nicely...but other than that, I should just throw it in the trash. Horrible foundation. It might look good on a 18 year old with perfect skin...Maybe. Save your money. Hell even Elf foundations have this junk beat!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/3/2015 2:06:00 PM More reviews by Brisbaneem

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Terrible. Does not last the day, sits on the skin and gives an oily, overly-made up look. I was trying to save money and buy a cheap foundation for once. I didn't like this.
Coverage and colour (110) was fine.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 1/3/2015 7:40:00 AM More reviews by GeorginaDawson

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I hate this product , it will look cakey on even the oiliest of skin, it feels heavy and doesn't set. It crease majorly and makes it look like you have dirty, unnatural skin

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 12/2/2014 1:43:00 PM More reviews by FeminineWoman

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

Purchased this fdtn last winter, and this is one of the worst fdtns I have tried.

Dream Smooth Mousse settled right into and highlighted fine lines. Pores aren't a problem on my face, but this fdtn settled into every pore and made them more pronounced than they are.

The fdtn began fading after a couple of hours of wear, but the fdtn encircling the pores didn't fade, which made my face look dirty. Ugh.

Packaging is average. Twist off top for the fdtn, and a flip-top for the sponge located underneath fdtn.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/25/2014 8:11:00 AM More reviews by alywesney

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This is a great cream foundation if you like cream foundations. It costs $7.97 for a .49 Oz/ 14g product. I feel like you get what you are paying for with this product.

This product comes in 10 different shades, so there is a good chance for a color match for everyone. It is a very lightweight product, and provides fairly good coverage. I do not have a lot of acne or redness but it does cover up the areas where I do get a few red spots every now and then, so I am not sure how well of coverage it would work for someone with a lot of acne, or scarring, or redness. It does provide a very smooth look, and finish and is not shiny or shimmery and I really like that. It also lasts all day long. I use a finishing setting powder over mine so that may have something to do with the amount of time it stays.

I also love that this product comes with a compartment on the bottom and a sponge applicator! It is very convenient to travel with, and is very compact. The sponge is a small triangle and works fairly well.

The only problem I have with this product and sometimes it is hard to blend out. So if the color comes on too strong I find I have to wash it off and start over because I got too much product.

Overall, I would recommend this product to anyone who likes creamy foundations.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 10/19/2014 4:49:00 AM More reviews by Sarahdawson2006

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other Eyes: Brown

Yuck ! Worst product ever. Do not buy. Within the hour of applying it goes cakey and creases majorly. Leaves my skin greasy and looks super unnatural.
super expensive for a product of this rubbish quality at 8 pounds

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 10/17/2014 6:35:00 PM More reviews by celina5847

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Never in my life have I had a foundation match me spot on and I'm 36! From drugstore to highend, trying to match myself or having "professional" help. I applied DSM with all sorts of foundation and buffing brushes...horrible and streaky! I found that it applied flawlessly with the included sponge by patting it onto the skin. Setting it with powder and applying a primer underneath it still made me GREEEEEESEEEEEE! I'm not one to make a big deal if foundation breakes up little or if it fades or even if I get a bit oily. I'm not one of those O-M-G my makeup is horrible! I mean come on,touch up and keep it moving. But this crap was seriously disgusting and greasy as hell! I know this is for dry skinned girls but I read that those with oily skin were able to use it with no problem. LIES!! (At least for me)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 7/20/2014 6:27:00 PM More reviews by michele4

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I bought this creme foundation a couple months ago & didn't break it out until today. Well it's packaging is probably the best & worst part about it. Twist off the cover & there's the makeup. Opposite side you flip up 2 get 2 the sponge. Aggravating, but I don't mind, plus it's more sanitary. I haven't used many creme foundations, but I do know this-this is not my favorite. It did go on smooth, I used the sponge b/c a sponge will give you a heavier coverage than a brush, & a heavier coverage is what I was after. The thing is, I didn't put too much on, just used the sponge 2 put about 4 dabs on my face then blended it in w/sponge. I wanted 2 like this so badly b/c my Estee Lauder Resiliance Creme Foundation cost so much more. But my pores, which arent usually that noticable, showed so badly I had 2 go get my blending brush & try 2 buff it in. I still didnt like it so I blended the Estee Lauder Creme over it & was finally satisfied enough. Gonna give it 2 my mom & maybe she'll have some luck w/it. For the time being, I'm just gonna stick w/my HG, which is the Estee Lauder I mentioned.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No