October 25, 2014 | 1876 users online

Fragrances - Hanae Mori - Eau de Collection No.1



image 0image 1

rated 3.6(7 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 57% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 11/24/2012 4:59:00 PM More reviews by jamieeimaj

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Brown

This is one of my favorite scents. I have several different perfumes to suit different moods; but I find that I go for this one more than any other. It's like my happy, everyday scent.

Prior to finding this, I was into philosophy's unconditional love. I think No. 1 is similar, but a little more "grown up". I think unconditional love is more cotton candy-like, while No. 1 ends up a little more "creamy".

First spray is kind of harsh, but dries down quickly to a really pleasan, berry-dominant scent. Lasting power is not the best. But I like that I don't have to worry about overdoing it - it's not super strong from the get-go.

The packaging is simple and works well, but I wish it came it other sizes (i.e. for travel). Regular price is pretty steep... so I agree with looking online for a better deal than in the store.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/31/2011 3:46:00 AM More reviews by berrycurious

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This is like a more grown-up, more brown-sugary, version of Aquolina Pink Sugar. Reminiscent of rice wine. I'd wear it out to dinner, def. not an everyday kind of scent. Staying power is not great. But I like it, it's unique.
Cloying? Not at all.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 4/25/2011 8:55:00 PM More reviews by botoxic

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

Light berry vanilla eau fraiche, limited edition--if you like Britney Spears Midnight Fantasy, this starts off similarly, perhaps not as sweetly--but it's got that same warm blueberry accord to it. The dry down is a bit milder and more refined than the Spears' though. Can be had cheaper than the $95 recommended retail online. Nice.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 1/16/2011 6:49:00 PM More reviews by JenniStarBrite

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Finally got a sample of this. Very pretty--like it a lot. It's a warm berry vanilla scent warmed up by the bergamot, though still light. Might be too cloying for summer though.

This actually smells JUST like Philosophy's Unconditional Love to me. Similar blah lasting power.

Def does not feel like a high end fragrance. You might be better off with one of B&BW berry scents.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 1/7/2011 6:26:00 PM More reviews by ashleydutta

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

This is a pretty scent but it doesn't last at all - it's about like a body splash. I sprayed it on and one hour later it was barely detectable. by one and a half hours it was completely gone.
When I first spray this, it smells like some kind of berry-citrus fizzy soda :). Then it dries down to smell like sweet vanilla & berries. I'd describe this as a bright, bubbly fragrance - not particularly warm. it would be nice to wear in the summer. I think any age can wear this - while it is sweet and similar to popular "teen" scents like Britney Spears etc, this smells much more natural, more artistically executed, and just all around higher quality - it does not smell synthetic or generic. a lovely scent, lovely bottle, but not worth it to me because I do not want to reapply every hour.
p.s. you can buy this online for only $40, and $30 for tester bottles - don't pay full price of $95 if you want this! scentiments, amazon, and parfum1 (or maybe it was fragrancenet) have this :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 6/15/2010 12:41:00 PM More reviews by drvogue

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This is a fancier version of Jessica Simpson's Fancy (pun intended). It's got that same fruity opening which quickly turns into delicious caramelized sugar. It borders on cloying but it's delicate enough to narrowly avoid it. I didn't find anything special about the packaging compared to other Hanae Mori fragrances. Overall, very nicely done. I chose "repurchase" because it's a nice addition to anyone's gourmand collection. I doubt I ever will (repurchase) though: a little goes a long way.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/14/2010 9:34:00 PM More reviews by dial800whocares

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

OMG, this is heaven in a bottle and the best most delicious fruity floral perfume ive ever smelled. Its a bit pricey because its a limited edition but its SO worth it.


THe Opening notes of No.1 are bergamot, black currant, grapefruit and mulberry leaf.

Sustained notes are blackberry, jasmine, raspberry and white musk

Lingering notes are Indian sandalwood, amber and vanilla.


No.1 is a limited-edition fragrance which is part of a new collection entitled Eaux de Collection (lit. Collection Waters). Its defining characteristic is that perfumes created under this label are made



The Eaux de Collection will feature perfumes created thanks to the energy of the sun and wind. No. 1 relied for 30% of its manufacturing process on these natural sources of energy. Up to 5% of the proceeds of the sales will be donated to Clean Air-Cool Planet. Another scent is slated to launch by the end of 2010.



7000 copies of the fragrance will be released. Each 3.4 oz bottle is priced at $95. The concentration is said to be midway between that of an eau de toilette and an eau de parfum.



Eau de Collection No2 is already out in France although its launch has been discreet. Presented as a duo in France, the perfumes are said to complement each other following a story line: "Like the dual facets of the same woman, the differing imprints of her femininity blowing both hot and cold air, No1 and No2 were born."



While No1 is described as being fruity, floral, musky and woody, No2 develops the main facets of fresh, hesperidic, fruity and ambery notes.


No2 opens on mandarin, blackcurrant and mint leaves. Its heart rests on notes of peach, apple, patchouli and white musk. The base is composed of teak wood, amber, cedar wood and benzoin tears.



You can find this scent at Nordstroms, Niemans and Bloomingdales. Sephora doesnt have it yet but Im sure it wont be long before they do as well. :)

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No