October 24, 2014 | 1753 users online

Loose Powders - Mattify! Loose Powder



image 0image 1image 2

rated 4.2(19 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.2
  • 73% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 9/6/2014 6:19:00 PM More reviews by curlylocks

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

After the reviews here, I thought maybe I'd found a cheaper alternative to my HG MUFE HD powder. Wrong. I've tried it as a primer, as a finishing powder, as BOTH.....I might as well grind up some sticks of chalk and have zero expectations of it. I guess all the more reason to confirm my MUFE HD loose powder as HG. 1) it works, 2) it melds into my skin and 3) I can probably make a container last a year, so all in all, not that expensive, since it all gets used and nothing gets waster. I *would* suggest you try it though, the price is right and there are plenty of people that have had success! Just be aware it's not for everyone.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/24/2013 8:53:00 PM More reviews by xtorie

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I have EXTREMELY oily skin. When I've already had oil develop on my face and I dust some of this over top, I am instantly matte and it works extremely well. I love using this to take down shine instead of blotting, which can remove your makeup if it's already disturbed by oil.

However, I was hoping for something that could prevent shine from coming out in the first place, and for some reason, this doesn't work. I think it's because my oil is so intense that it breaks through the powder, no matter how much I put on. I also find that if I put this on in the morning after my foundation, it sucks all the moisture out of my skin and makes it scaly, and then I get oily over top of that-- not good. That oily-dry look is the bane of my existence!

Despite that, I will repurchase because it works better than any other powder at removing shine instantly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/26/2012 6:16:00 PM More reviews by wowopin

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Other Eyes: Black

Packaging can do a lot of improvement. I used the product on top of my foundation and it sets the product and mattified for a about 2 hours, and then I had to blot since there is a build up shine, right under the powder. It looks weird on me because the powder looks like it is sitting on top of my face and you can see the shine building underneath. I tried using it under my liquid foundation, and again on top of the liquid foundation. It caked. It is just like a regular baby powder minus the scent. An Okay product. Will not repurchase. I bought a new powder from Kryolan and that one seem to be holding up better than this. Will post a separate review.

**EDIT - I was using it incorrectly. I used to just apply it using a brush, using small amounts as it leaves a whitecast on the face. I tried again, by patting a good amount of powder on my face(just pat the sponge on your face, and leave it there, do not spread), pat it until absorbed. Then dust away the excess using a brush. Let it settle for a few minutes, the white color of the powder will somehow diminish. It is still a bit white for me, so I had to use a darker foundation to even the color. It holds my oil through out the day. 4 lippies since it does what it promise, but I do not like the finish. It is very noticeable because of the color. May have to try the colored one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/18/2012 7:01:00 AM More reviews by Bindi7

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

If you have oily skin you MUST get this. It is seriously a HG product for those of us who get shiny within a few hours of cleansing.

I read the reviews and studied the website before purchasing and as its so cheap i thought well what can i lose? I am so glad i bought this. I used it yesterday evening over my foundation and by the end of the evening i was less shiny than usual and looked more dewy rather than greasy. The best bit was that i never looked cakey - when i applied over my foundation i just looked polished and later on when i got home i just looked healthy with a little shine.

This is a first for me. I have tried so may powders over foundation and they all leave me looking cakey and dull. This was amazing. I only used a little and buffed onto my T Zone as advised by some of the reviewers on MUA and i looked great! It does blur your imperfections and pores which is great and looks so natural - but make sure you don't use too much!

I have used it again today, but under my foundation (before primer) and then over my foundation and the result is even better.. I put my make up on at 6.45am this morning and it is now 12 midday and i look fresh and a little dewy.. not greasy and no need to blot! I would normally need to blot at 11am..

I will update over the next few days to see how i go after midday and also how effective it is if used after blotting...

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 4/27/2012 10:09:00 AM More reviews by lisawardddd

Age: 36-43 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I was hoping for HG with this product; I have terribly oily, acne-filled skin. However, it did nothing for my oil production of face. It really felt like I was brushing baking powder on my face. It was quick to arrive and the price was right it just didn't do it for me. Also, the package was really small - now I realize though it is better tap it out into a glass bowl for application.

Onto the next product.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/16/2012 12:39:00 PM More reviews by MimiCakes88

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

O-M-G!!! Let me start off by saying I have super, extremely, unattractive oily skin and if that isnít bad enough, its acne prone. I used Proactiv but for some reason that made my skin even more oily so I stopped using it and my face didnít get as oily anymore, but the acne started but it started clearing up eventually (that's a whole other story) ... Any who, I started using this on top of my Monistat chafing gel (which is awesome primer for oily skin and inexpensive) and then followed by my foundation, either Revlon Colorstay for oily skin or Make Up Forever Velvet Matte foundation. After i applied my foundation I set it with this powder and it looks flawless. I went out to a club that was hot and crowded and with all the dancing I thought my face would be a mess, so I went to the bathroom to retouch and my skin was still matte and perfect. I was amazed. The next day I wore it all day on a sunny day... Usually within 3 hours my face looks like I rubbed butter on top of it, but this time it didnít. By then end of the night my T-Zone had a bit of shine, but I just blot it and it went back to normal which I can tolerate as in comparison to butter face. If you have oily skin try this! its cheap! and very effective!!!. I've tried ALOT of high end products and none compare to this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/19/2011 10:06:00 AM More reviews by DaniellaD

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Amazing! Why is no one talking about this company?! Sets make-up, actually blurs pores and stay oil free all day. No irritating ingredients - corn starch and kaolin clay - perfect for acne-prone skin. My pores are huge so I am always on the hunt for something to make my cheeks look less orange peel, more smooth. This product actually does works. My only complaint is that it is a little chalky for darker skin tones but I fix that with a healthy does of matte bronzer (Dior). It's dirt cheap - $14 for a decent size canister (compared to Tarte Amazonian and the like). I apply with a skunk brush with a light hand only over my T-Zone. I bought the Ultra formula but think I would repurchase in Original because my skin isn't super oily anymore.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/26/2011 3:03:00 PM More reviews by slynsexysteph

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

The Mattify Ultra Powder is my very favorite #1 must have product, because without it, my oily skin looks like it was dipped in olive oil! I know, nasty. But anyways, Iíve already reviewed the Mattify Powder - now I have an update because I bought their tinted oil absorbing powder last week.

The sample was $3, and I got the Fair Skin color. Itís amazing!! Usually I wear liquid makeup, but in the summer am always looking for something lighter than liquid that will still provide good coverage. I applied the Tinted Mattify with a flat flexible foundation brush. I patted, tapped, and blended until all of my flaws were hidden, then put the Mattify Ultra Powder over the top. My face looked fresh and oil free for about 3 hours before I needed to touch up with the clear Mattify Ultra. I was amazed that my flaws (freckling and a few acne scars) were still hidden, and that my face still looked even colored.

I have tried many different mineral powders, but they all made me itch and look blotchy only a few minutes after application. My biggest nemesis in the world of Mineral Makeup is Bare Escentuals, because it looks horrendous on my skin. I also wrote a review on that, detailing my experience, and it was NOT good! Iíd just about given up on tinted mineral powder, but since I love the transparent Mattify Ultra Powder so much, decided to try their tinted version. The Mattify tinted powder is very high pigment and long lasting, at least for a mineral powder. All the other tinted minerals I tried made my face look oilier and didnít provide any coverage at all.

I didnít need to do a touch up with the Mattify Tinted until about half way through my day. It is very easy to blend, and to layer the color. Iíve noticed that if I use the transparent Mattify Ultra first, then the Tinted Powder, then more Mattify Ultra, I can go about 4 hours without a touch up. In the summer I swim a lot, so will probably use my waterproof liquid makeup for beach days. But this Tinted powder will be perfect for days when I want to look like I have naturally perfect skin, without having to layer on a coat of liquid foundation.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/14/2011 7:56:00 AM More reviews by kedery

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

This is the best powder i have ever used!! And so cheap! I have very oily skin on my nose and chin and this controls the shine super!
Its now 2 o clock and i have make up on since 6.30 this morning and the shine is minimum! i live in belgium and let it ship to me and it was within 3 days delivererd! super! i used mufe matte loose powder thats very expensive... this is much better and cheaper, the colour of my foundation doesnt change during the day and thats also ++++!!
if you have very oily skin, do not hesitate and order the powder, i have the one for very oily skin.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/7/2011 3:39:00 PM More reviews by spearmintcookie

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine Eyes: Green

After reading a rec for this stuff on ESD and checking out the reviews on MUA, I decided to give it a try, and I am so glad I did! It's relatively cheap ($15 or so for a big container, including shipping) and quite effective.
Some background: I have unbelievably oily skin. I wash my face, and 20 minutes later it's covered in oil. Super gross. Nothing has even been able to get it under control for longer than an hour, but I find that the Mattify! Ultra powder (I decided to go for the strongest stuff, given how oily my skin is) keeps it shine-free for 3+ hours, and the great thing is, it's really easy to wipe away the oil that does collect. And the oiliness isn't as glaring as it was before, it's more of a glowy sheen. I'm really pale, so I don't have the problem of it making me look ghostly, though I can imagine that being an issue for darker skin types (they recommend only putting it on under foundation, not over, if you're dark), and wonderfully, it doesn't make me look powdery or made-up. It's not a perfect product--I do have to reapply during the day, and I have to put it on both under and over my foundation, and the powder has a tendency to fly up everywhere when I apply it, but I am still extremely pleased. If you have really oily skin (I think the Ultra would be too strong for someone who's combination or drier), I recommend giving it a try!
And note: it contains silica beads, which are NOT the same as silicone. I'm sensitive to silicone products, and this has given me absolutely no problems.

Is this review helpful? Yes No