August 2, 2014 | 1569 users online

Sunscreen - E.L.F. - Studio SPF 45 Sunscreen UVA/UVB Protection



image 0

rated 3.3(24 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.3
  • 58% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.1
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 7/28/2014 10:34:00 AM More reviews by Formerann83

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

Better SPF than Colorscience at a fraction of the cost and this one actually blocks the sun! Gave me a few whiteheads but no sunburn. Probably won't buy again due to the bumps.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/7/2014 5:06:00 PM More reviews by 4eyes

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

This stuff is great for those who wear mu and cannot reapply liquid ss over a made-up face. I always wear ss, but then I apply mu over that. I can't wash my face and reapply everything every 2 hours, so this is the next best thing.

This powder is fragrance-free, non-irritating and does not me break out. It's labeled sheer, but looks a bit pink/orange in the container. I can't notice much color, if any, when applied, though. It's a finely milled powder that protects very well from the sun, and has a nice smooth finish.

My only complaint is the bulkiness of the pkg and the loose formulation. However, elf's clarifying pressed powder contains MO, and my skin does not need more oil, so perhaps it's best that this is in a loose form w/o added oils. It's so nice that I am tempted to make my own pressed powder with it using the add-alcohol-mix-and-dry method. I can't believe this is so cheap - ColoreScience and PTR both sell powder ss and they're abt $30. Hmm, this is made in China ... don't know if the others are made in safer countries. I guess if they are that would justify the higher price. However, I don't like the powder-coming-through-an-attached brush that the others use (ColoreScience does offer other pking options). .

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 5/7/2014 9:34:00 PM More reviews by SHeust

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I was wary to try this because of reviewer comments about it having a pinkish tint on skin but I'm very pleased with it so far and glad that I tried it despite my initial reservations. I have used the Bare Minerals mineral sunscreen powder in the past and liked it but wanted something less expensive and in a jar, rather than brush applicator, format. This fits the bill perfectly.

The powder has no scent and a quick search on cosdna revealed the ingredients to be minimally irritating which is great for my sensitive, dry, acne-prone skin. It does have a bit of color to it - not "sheer" as labeled. If you use a brush it dissipates the color more than the included puff does. The tint is slightly pink-toned. This powder does not oxidize.

It has not interacted poorly with my other makeup (turning colors, causing caking). I wear over my powder foundation and under bronzer, but I may start skipping my powder foundation entirely and just wearing this. It has just a little bit of coverage, which may be just enough (with concealer) for summer.

I have not burned with this and am very pleased with the SPF 45 protection. It has not caused any new breakouts or irritation (at least, yet).

I love the jar although I agree it is unnecessarily large. I am happy to be able to use my own brush and not have one of those damn click brushes for this type of product that I can't choose the amount of powder with.

I purchased this for $8.75 but I think the e.l.f. website sells it for $6 + shipping. It's a steal and I'm surprised it hasn't become a cult favorite already because it works as well as the high end mineral sunscreens at a fraction of the price. I've already bought a second jar.

I definitely recommend this to those who want daily sun protection but can't or don't want to use a liquid sunscreen on their face.

Update: After using this alone for a week on a tropical island, I can say the sun protection of it works well. I never got a burn. One day I got a little pink, but that was because this had sweated off out in the sun. That's the caveat of powders, they don't sink in like liquids (obviously) so while there are (many) benefits to them, there are drawbacks as well.

I did find that wearing it alone, without other makeup, the tint was more of a problem. It made my face looks both too white and a little pink at the same time. It was glaringly obvious I had powder on, which is less than ideal on a tropical vacation - looks silly. Furthermore, I have noticed when using this in conjunction with my regular makeup at home, it 'rejects' my bronzer powder somewhat and does give somewhat of a whitish-pink cast to my face.

Finally, many complain about the messiness of the jar, especially for travel, but I found it to be a minimal problem. Although I applied this with a brush, I keep the puff in the container to keep something pressed over the holes in it. I would just tap out some powder into the lid and use the brush with it. There was a bit of excess around the screw-on lid of the jar but it's not like it spilled all over my bag or anything. It really wasn't a big deal at all.

I'm bumping this down to a 3 overall, but it's still a steal for powder sunscreen compared to all others out there. I just wish it came untinted.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/18/2013 11:53:00 AM More reviews by JenPhil1313

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Grey

Once again, I am pleasantly surprised by the quality of an ELF product! This high SPF powder comes in a generous-sized, chic, square black container that looks like it would cost $50 and come from the MAC store. If applied with the powder puff provided, this provides coverage like a powder foundation. This first time I used it, that's how I applied it and I did not need any foundation. If you use a fluffy brush, the application is sheerer and gives coverage more akin to a setting powder. This is a lovely product- it provides a matte finish without looking chalky and doesn't make my skin look or feel dry. Additionally, the color works perfectly for my uber-fair skin. I would say that this powder has a slight rose-apricot tint to it. But it looks great on my skin! Actually provides a little warmth and color... particularly if I apply it over the whitening Coppertone Waterbabies that I typically use. I am going to buy a back-up immediately. This isn't sold in stores, but you can get from drugstore.com or the ELF website. I've been so happy with the products that I have tried from ELF that I plan on trying a bunch more soon.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/6/2013 4:44:00 PM More reviews by BeFineFilipina

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Black

The packaging is the same as the HD powder, so I knew not to open the plastic all the way so that all the powder wouldn't sift out into one huge mess. Overall, I'm really liking this! It's cheap, works great on my tan skin and I love getting everyday SPF protection when I don't want to break out my uber expensive JM argan sunscreen face lotion.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/30/2013 2:44:00 PM More reviews by tori497

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

First off, I have not road tested this in harsh conditions. I will update my review to speak more of the SPF aspect of this product later. What I already know I like, and why I will continue to use, is the cost to benefits ratio. This stuff is super cheap compared to other powder SPF's and most others are white, creating a cast on my skin. This does have a tint to it but unless you are really caking it on, it is unnoticeable on my light/medium, cool skin tone. I can see for those with more yellow undertones, this may look a little strange. But again, I find it to be sheer enough to not color my skin.

The packaging could be better. I left the sticker over the sifter and lift up from one side each time I use it. I am sure in time, the sticker will come off completely and make a mess. I use a powder brush with this, not the enclosed puff, so I cannot comment on that aspect of the product/packaging. There are really no directions about how MUCH of this to use to achieve the desired SPF level indicated by the product description. It mattes my skin, but does not make it cakey, and doesn't feel like I have anything on at all.

I use a moderate dusting on top of all my other makeup and call it a day. If you are looking for something portable, unless you have a big purse, this is not the best. Perhaps at one point they will have a combined jar and brush delivery system to use on the go. I will update once I have used for its sun protection to the fullest, but for now I am pleased. I am not breaking out and did not go broke buying this product.

UPDATE 7/9/2013: I wore this while touring botanical gardens out in the sun from 2-6pm. I brushed an even layer on top of my (SPF 20) moisturizer and makeup. It set my makeup beautifully and kept my t-zone shine-free AND I did not get ONE freckle from being out for four hours!! As an SPF, this stuff is AWESOME!!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 9/14/2012 2:58:00 PM More reviews by redlipstick47

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Medium Brown, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I wish I could have made a go of this, but I could not. It makes such a cast on my skin that it is unwearable as is. Maybe if there were a lower SPF, I might be able to use it easier. I am medium-dark, African American and I had to mix dark mineral makeup with this just to make me not look like a ghost.I have this problem with a couple of so-called colorless sunscreens. Physicians Formula was a fail as well on this front.The only powdered sunscreen I have been able to use with success is by Colorescience, which makes one in in my skin tone AND the clear one is actually clear.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/14/2012 1:56:00 PM More reviews by smsine

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Love this! Yet another ELF win. This is the only sunscreen that I have seen in powder form. I recommend this to anyone and everyone!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 9/13/2012 1:17:00 PM More reviews by APassionateObsession

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have become a strong advocate of sunscreen. Sunscreen prevents age spots and uneven skin tone, discoloration and melanoma.

However during the mornings when your running 15 minutes late as usual... waiting for yet another layer of liquid to settle into your skin is a few seconds too much to spare. Not to mention most sunscreens leave a white cast or make your skin appear oily.

I discovered this E.L.F Sunscreen almost 2 years ago. After booking my ticket to Costa Rica I knew I would need layers upon layers of sunscreen. I marched over to the E.L.F. website and ordered myself one of these bad boys.

I do not know of many brands that offer a powder sunscreen and since this was the most memorable to me I wanted to give it another try.

I used it every single day in Costa Rica and came back almost no tan whatsoever. (I did use a liquid sunscreen under this.)

What sold me on this sunscreen was it's powder form. I love that I can just buff this in over my foundation and it both sets my foundation as well as gives me the SPF I need!

The ELF one comes with a puff. I normally tap some into the cap and buff it in with a kabuki brush.

The site says there is no color but if you wipe your face, the sunscreen will come off in a foundation like tint. It doesn't have any coverage, I would say it is very sheer on your skin.

There is one downside to this product. When I do buff this in, I notice my skin appears pink compared to my neck and chest. Having yellow skin town it is a bit weird to have such a pink face. I would like to say that my face is naturally darker and less yellow than my neck and chest but with this on it is more obvious. I am also very fair so that might make the pink more pronounced.

It retails for $6, however I think it is only available off their website. I haven't seen it at Target. Their $7 shipping fee is steep.... I would wait for a coupon code if your interested in this product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/1/2012 10:19:00 PM More reviews by Sierra0001

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium Eyes: Brown

It's a good product to put on after moisturizer and before foundation. Since my skin is dark, it looked kind of chalky but went away after I put on my foundation. I HATE the packaging though. It's huge and bulky and annoying... It can't even fit in my makeup bag and I hate that. I had to buy a separate sifter from sephora so I could carry it around with me. I didn't use the puff it came with to apply it either, I decided to apply it with a kabuki bush instead and save the puff for another use. Other than that, I guess I'd buy it again, but I wouldn't be running to the store to go get one.

Is this review helpful? Yes No