October 22, 2014 | 1803 users online

Top/Base Coats - Sally Hansen - Miracle Nail Thickener



image 0

rated 2.9(29 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.9
  • 55% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 8/25/2014 12:02:00 PM More reviews by jblissenbach

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This product went on easily for me, did not bubble or produce strands, and dried very quickly. I just put it on yesterday, added two coats of color (Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure) followed by one coat of Seche Vite.

I do not like this product as basecoat! It has only been one day, so I can't really say how it will do as a thickener, but it did not provide a nice base for applying color and my polish is peeling off all over today, which I can't imagine is good for my natural nails that are already prone to peeling.

I like to keep polish on my nails, but if you like your nails bare this may work for you as a treatment only. I will stick with Nail Envy.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/10/2014 7:11:00 AM More reviews by Hollylolly123

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Well it was a good product and it says if you use it for four days then they will be 70% thicker...... Well, they were only thicker I think maybe because you have four layers worth of nail polish on but it did do some good and made my nails a tiny bit thicker, but me and my mum have quite thin nails and they take months to grow out even slightly! So if you have nails like mine, this product won't do too much but if your nails are already grow in under two months and aren't super bendy then I would recommend this product to you!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 7/8/2014 8:22:00 AM More reviews by myinfo1donnawpcom

Age: 44-55 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Hi Everyone,
I just need you all to know that ANY products with these chemicals (below) cause serious rash and allergy issues, so if you get any problems you will know what has caused it.
I had to take out every product that had any of these chemicals in them as my skin went inflamed - red - peeled - cracked and would bleed. I was in unbelievable pain and discomfort for 3 years before I learned that these chemicals were poisoning me.
And what about the poor marine life? They can’t stand up and speak for themselves. MIT is in ambi pur toilet flush, so we are infecting our water ways with this toxin with ever flush. I no longer use ANY chemicals - I have changed my way of thinking and now use ONLY products that are totally natural and good for me and the environment and I suggest you ALL do the same and look after the animals and our planet- because it looks after us!!!
What is MIT?
This ingredient is a powerful biocide. That means it’s a chemical substance that can control or kill harmful microorganisms. It works well as a preservative in products like shampoo and body care products, helping them to last a long time on the shelf and in your bathroom cabinets without becoming contaminated with unwanted bugs, bacteria, and fungi.
MIT belongs to a group of similar compounds called “isothiazolinones,” which also include the following chemicals:
• Chloromethylisothiazolinone (CMIT)
• Benzisothiazolinone (BIT)
• Octylisothiazolinone (OIT)
• Dichlorooctylisothiazolinone (DCOIT)
You’ll find MIT and chemicals like it at low concentrations in “rinse-off” products like shampoos, conditioners, hair colors, body washes, laundry detergents, liquid hand soaps, bubble bath, hand dishwashing soaps, and shampoo/conditioner combinations.
Donna.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 4/18/2014 8:12:00 AM More reviews by saturdayenvelopes

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

My nails: thin and damaged
This product: AWFUL.

I paid $18.95 from Woolworths for this. I applied it once, it had a weird stringy base and took a long time to dry. I applied two coats of opi nail polish, seche Vite top coat and opi drip dry. Within three hours of lying in bed, maybe scratching my head once? My polish started to chip and peel. I decided to give it one more try, I dehydrated my nails with CND scrub fresh to make sure it wasn't any oils on the nail, applied it with the same products and about four hours later I was patting my cat and noticed it was chipping again!

I texted and watched tv during that time. That's all. Absolute bs product, I ended up returning it and purchasing opi nail envy for $22. MUCH BETTER PRODUCT. this product thinned my nails out if anything. You may say this isn't a fair trial, but honey - for that price and low quality within hours? It doesn't deserve it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 4/13/2014 7:07:00 AM More reviews by Bee82

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I really don't like this product it's thick and stringy I couldn't apply it I wouldn't buy this product again and I usually love all sally hansen products I was very disappointed.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/13/2014 10:40:00 AM More reviews by Kissalex

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I like this product.. It's not bad and it's not great. I really like the shine of it.. It does peel off rather quickly though. I used it for the 4 days as I have incredibly thin nails. Saying that, after removing it day 5 with a nail strengthening remover (also SH) I noticed the top of my nails seemed more strong however the tips still rather flimsy. Also, when I used it again the following week, it was rather thick and had these tiny floaty strings flying from the tips of my nails..I also started taking a b5 supplement to help them along and I rub some b5 gel cap on them as well. Hope it all works!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/18/2013 1:40:00 AM More reviews by Ohh2pretty

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I don't understand the poor reviews- overall, for the price it's great stuff! After wearing acrylics my nails were in the worse shape ever! They literally ached for a month after removing my tips! I tried many products to help heal and strengthen my nails- this one was one of the best. It actually dries QUICKLY and serves as both a base and top coat. It has a lot of shine too! Finally, my nails are much better and getting stronger with this product. I apply it according to directions daily for 4 or so days then remove and start over. You can't beat the price way under $10. I gave it one less lippy because it tends to get thick and gloppy inside the bottle after using for a while- I be sure to shake it before applying.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/10/2013 4:55:00 PM More reviews by shaancyr

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I see many people are saying that this product takes forevever to dry and that it is bubbling a lot. That is probably because you are applying coat after coat without letting the first coat dry completely. I notice that this product dries after about 30 seconds. I wouldnt say it is the best strengthener in the world, but it has definitely made my nails a bit thicker. a downside is it does peel off easily but that is why youre supposed to apply a new coat daily, as per the instructions, so i wouldnt use this product as a base coat.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 2/25/2013 5:38:00 PM More reviews by Emac42

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This is more like a nail thinner. It didn't thicken my nails at all. When I immersed my hands in hot water, the coat started to peel off and took some of the top layer of my nails too. I paid £10 for this thickener which is way too expensive considering what it did to my nails.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/27/2013 2:14:00 PM More reviews by CatsEyes82

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

**EDIT** For the Biotin, you work up to 5000 mg per day in case you were wondering. Also, the nail thickener does add shine so if you do not like shiny nails, I don't suggest this particular thickener as it will not be matte.** After reading a lot of the other reviews, I noticed a lot of people said the product bubbled or didn't work. I always got my nails thickened at a spa (basically a gel nail set without adding tips) but found that, when my nails would grow, my nails under the gel were thin, soft and would have the potential to break.

I just bought this product yesterday at SDM for 10.99 + tax and followed the instructions on the bottle. "Apply 1 coat to bare nails. For extra thin nails, apply daily for up to 4 days. Use alone or as a base coat." Now, first, I filed my nails down to remove any residual gel. I then used a buffer (harder side first to ensure nails were even on the surface as best they could be) and then the side to make them shiny. To remove residual oils, I washed and fully dried my hands and nails in colder water (I had heard warm water makes them softer and more pliable for those with thick nails to be able to cut their nails without cracking them) and then applied a thin coat (wiping the wand along the edges to remove excess product). It only took a couple of minutes for it to dry. The next day (today), I applied another thin coat. I have no bubbling. What I find is, with products like this that are buildable, thin coats are best. It does drip a bit so make sure you wipe off the end of the brush prior to the application to each nail. Other than that, it isn't a miracle persay, but my nails are shiny and already feel a bit thicker. I am not sure if this will actually make them thick or will do what a gel set did and just give the illusion of thickness. 4 stars for now but we shall see. Also, I suggest taking Vitamin B5 (Biotin) which is supposed to be helpful (in time) for nail and hair growth. The research I did was that you need 2500 mcg per day. Most grocery store supplements contain only 250 mcg so unless you want to waste money and take 10 a day, I suggest a health food store for a "hair and nails" supplement. I did manage to find "Nature's Bounty" Biotin 1000mcg for about 8.99 + tax at Superstore but that will be another review. For this product, just ensure your nails are clean and buffed and apply a thin coat daily for 4 days. Thicker application would result in the bubbling effect others have experienced. Also, I haven't utilized it as a base coat (as I am waiting after the initial 4 day application to do so, so that will be another review. Good luck and I hope this helped! ^_^

Is this review helpful? Yes No