October 25, 2014 | 1993 users online

Pressed Powders - Revlon - PhotoReady Powder



image 0

rated 3.3(59 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.3
  • 54% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 2.8
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/18/2014 6:43:00 PM More reviews by hayleyelwick

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

I'm a harsh critic when it comes to powders (and well, everything, as long as we're being honest here) But this one has quickly become a favorite, and I already plan on repurchasing. I told this to my mother, and she almost fell over in shock- I NEVER plan on repurchasing a powder, they are never good enough, and I'm always looking for a better one. I'm pretty close to hitting pan on this, and I know that when the time comes, I'm going to be running to the local drugstore and buying another one of these bad boys.

I really hate looking at others reviews sometimes, because when I love a product, and I see negative reviews, it makes me second guess myself. After seeing some of the reviews on this, I really focused on this product for a few days, just to make sure I REALLY love it. Well guess what folks, I do!

I have the shade light, and it's basically perfection in a pan. For everyday looks, I use this to set either Revlon CS, or Revlon CS whipped. This doesn't add coverage, which is great, b/c I always use full coverage foundation. It leaves a semi-matte finish. Because I am oily, I do need to touch up mid-day, but this powder is AMAZING for touch ups, as it refuses to cake up!!! Some would be turned off by the fact that I have to touch up, but when I say "touch up", I don't mean I'm a big oily mess, I'm just a tad oily. No matter what foundation I'm wearing, I'm always going to do some type of touching up, and this powder is amazing for that purpose. I'd go so far as to say this is the best touch up powder I own. All the others will cake up easily. (with the exception of revlon nearly naked. I think you're beginning to see that I really freakin' love revlon face products)

I've received many compliments on how pretty my foundation looks when I pair this with Revlon CS. (although most days, I mix a tiny bit of revlon nearly naked, just for a bit of luminosity) Most of the people complimenting me are ladies that rarely pay attention to my makeup, so I take that as a big deal!

I dread the day I hit pan on this, because Lord knows I hate buying boring old face products, but my face just isn't complete without this! I am a firm believer that ladies should spend more time and money on your face, because if the face doesn't look good, your beautiful highlight, lips, or eyes won't matter a bit. With this, I know my face will look beautiful and flawless!!

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/12/2014 2:03:00 PM More reviews by JudMoo

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

2 lippies for doing up to its job as a compact powder but coverage is light to medium. Not a bad thing and doesn't look too chalky on application. In fact, I wouldn't say I don't love it for its very affordable price but the casing does look cheap.

I would give it a 4 out of 5 if not because I start to develop tiny white heads on my skin. Now white heads are HARD to remove!!! I absolutely hate it now and I would love to throw it away. It only started appearing after a good 3 months of usage. Perhaps my application is light but uuuggghhhh.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/27/2014 6:04:00 PM More reviews by lildzik

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This gives the perfect matte finish. Love it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/27/2013 7:48:00 PM More reviews by Victoriajane89

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

I wanted to try this powder to find out if it does make your skin look photo ready and I can say it does. It leaves a matte flawless finish. The colour is a good match for me. I went for light/medium and it evens out my skin tone and keeps my skin looking good.

It controls the shine just as well as any other powder but as with all powders you will need to reapply throughout the day/night.

Overall I am really impressed. Packaging doesn't need to be as big and it comes with a brush which I don't use so would be better if they made the packaging smaller.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/19/2013 12:26:00 AM More reviews by chechi

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is an average face powder. I like it but it's not good for travelling. It cracked in my makeup bag....

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/19/2013 12:19:00 AM More reviews by katiexcutiekiss

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I love this powder.its the only powder i will use, even though it comes with a not so teen income friendly price tag. Its like... 15 bucks. The only reason i didn't give it more stars is because a) I'm not 100% sure exactly WHAT i like about this powder and b) neither light or light medium have been my color so I've had to compromise either way. me and my mom both use it on a daily basis.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/7/2012 12:20:00 AM More reviews by Lame901

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I use this to finish my foundation and I love it its flawless :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 9/30/2012 1:34:00 PM More reviews by corrynxxxxxx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This is a good product and does give the airbrushed finish as advertise, however it does NOT last long and i have to reapply at various times throughout the day, also the brush that comes with the powder is absolute poop and i'd much rather use one of the puff thingys haa. and when using it the product goes all over the case and just ends up looking like a mess. Its alright and does work, and i wouldnt buy again as maybellines dream matte powder works 10x better and isnt half as expensive!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 9/2/2012 4:22:00 AM More reviews by Magapurna

Age: 36-43 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Grey, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

Does not work for me - too "white" (instead of translucent), makes me very oily in under 2 hours, the brush is useless (nice concept but it doesn't work), my pores seem almost enlarged... I'm "PhotoReady" for perhaps 20-30 minutes... Waste of money altogether!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/22/2012 1:17:00 PM More reviews by Enkida

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

This reciew is for the "Translucent" (silver case) variety of powder.

First of all, my skin tone is a "30" in Dior Hydarating Nude Foundation; that's a medium tan with warm yellow undertones. I find like many other reviewers that this powder does tend to make my skin appear lighter than it really is, though apparently not as dramatically as paler reviewers here. That did not bother me overly much, as I had been using a foundation with this that I purchased while more tanned, and I found it evened out the too dark foundation tone nicely. Still, if you are looking for a "translucent" powder, this is not it.
The formulation is chalky, and the packaging is crap. You really need your own soft kabuki or powder brush to put this on properly, the packaged brush is completely worthless. I had been misusing this as a setting powder, and it worked just fine in that regard, but in reality this is a finishing powder - like a cheap version of Guerlein Meteorites, or a comparison to Physician's Formula Pearls of Perfection, etc. It is not a foundation powder, not a setting powder, and not an oil absorbing powder. It's supposed to give you an illuminated look, otherwise known as "dewy" on the youthful, or "youthful" on the older. ;-) In all of these cases it is really important to have a good powder brush to apply properly, and to use a very light touch when putting it on as a last step powder over all your other "stuff." A lot of people complain about the sparkles; I really didn't notice a sparkle overkill going on, though it is definitely not a matte powder (and doesn't advertise itself as such). My one complaint about the shimmer - and I would call it shimmer rather than glitter or sparkle - is that the particles that are there could have been more finely milled. But I don't find the highlighting effect excessive at all, compared to the powder's much more obvious shortcomings: non transparency and chalky texture. I think if you find the sparkle in this product overwhelming, you may be putting it on too thickly.
These days for a transparent setting powder I have moved on to better things, but I would still keep this around for when I start losing my summer tan and don't want to switch up foundations. Not worth repurchasing, though - at this drugstore price, I would expect a better texture and packaging.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No