November 29, 2014 | 1677 users online

Cleansers - Dermalogica - Dermal Clay Facial Cleanser

no image

rated 3.6(181 reviews)

Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 11/11/2014 9:06:00 PM More reviews by tatumophelia

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

great cleanser. feels very fresh and clean on the skin. I use it with the clarisonic and I absolutely adore the luxury I feel when using the two together.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 11/3/2014 8:21:00 PM More reviews by melissa200

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I was recommended this product by a friend (who is also a beautician) after suffering with slightly blemished/bumpy skin around my cheeks and mouth area.

To begin with I loved the product, it smells zingy and fresh and it left my skin feeling very clean.

However after 3 weeks of using this cleanser I noticed that my skin was worse than before! I have always had relatively clear skin and have never suffered with acne, only the occasional whitehead - most likely due to hormones -yet I began to get acne-like bumps on my chin. There were just a couple at first but it was soon covered in itchy spots. Face also felt tight and dry.

Despite being told that any new product takes 28 days to work properly, I decided not to stick with using this product for much longer, which is a shame considering the price tag and the amount of product still left in the bottle! Even within just a week of stopping using the dermal clay, I noticed that the spots were clearing up quickly which was a huge relief!

Overall very disappointed. Have recently switched to a clarins cleansing milk though which I love.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/22/2014 5:46:00 PM More reviews by Mikey87

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

This face wash is AMAZING!!!! You can literally feel the dirty and oils being sucked out of your pores. A little really does go a long way my 250ml lasts me at least 4 months and I use it morning and night. I've got combination oily skin and this locks away my exes oil all day. My skin is that clean after using it my make up goes on perfectly. I also use this as a 30 minute mask once a week which makes my skin look and feel gorgeous. since using this over a year ago I hardly ever have any blemishes. This is one of my favourite dermalogica products and a must have for all you oily/combination people :-)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/13/2014 11:55:00 PM More reviews by Sophasaurus93

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I was recommended this product after getting a Dermalogica facial. I've got combination skin, I get particularly oily in my T zone and occasionally cheeks and my skin tends to be dry around my jaw especially in the colder weather. I bought this in the 500mL bottle and even though it was 20% off I believe it was still about $60 which on a student budget is a bit of a stretch but I really wanted good skin care products. Within a week of using this I was really pleased that the oiliness in my T zone had basically gone, even after a day of wearing makeup there was minimal shine. However then I started to break out. At first I thought it was just all the toxins being cleared out of my skin and that the cleanser was purifying my skin so I perservered, only for my skin to continue getting worse. I've been using this product for probably 6 weeks now and have developed acne along my jaw line and small breakouts on my forehead. I had previously had really good skin with only the occasional break out, usually hormonal and it was never this bad. The cleanser does have it's perks, it definitely helps oily skin which is what it is targeted at however I didn't find it particularly purifying. Also, I found that the menthol really irritated my skin. I've never suffered sensitive skin but I found it stung to the point I was rushing to wash my face at some points. The consistency of this is quite watery and I never felt really 'clean' after having used it compared to other cleansers. Overall I think this is still an okay product - wouldn't condemn it, I'm sure for some people it works wonders just wasn't particularly impressed with it on my own skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 4/9/2014 8:35:00 AM More reviews by beautybash90

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This product made my skin red and my spots WORSE, also for such a high price I did not expect to have sulphates and parabens in it! Poor product with a high price tag! Can get a lot better for a hell of a lot less money.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 11/17/2013 12:54:00 AM More reviews by Lauriexxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

In general I have normal/combination skin but lately I wanted something more purifying for my skin to make it clearer so I gave this one a try since everything written on the bottle sounded like exactly wanted to achieve. When I first started using it I loved it! My skin felt so soft and it left a nice matte shine free finish after use. The following couple weeks a few pimples arrived and pretty big ones at that in odd places like near my eyebrows, neck and upper lip that I've never gotten pimples before.I wasn't too concerned about them at first because I thought the cleanser was just clearing out my skin of impurities. However 6 weeks later here I am writing this review with 3 new pimples after popping up and it's really starting to annoy me. Now don't get me wrong, I'm not getting HUGE breakouts but there's still always that annoying 3/4 pimples on my face along with a lot more blackheads whereas before I'd only get 1 or 2 pimples on a rare occasion and a minor amount of blackheads but I seem to have them the whole time now. I thought maybe after a few weeks the pimples would stop and it'd start working but nothings changing and my skin definitely hasn't improved. Also my pores in particular the ones on my nose are a lot bigger these days.

I feel like after 6 weeks of pimples here and there,open pores and dryer skin I've really given this cleanser a fair enough chance but it may be time to give up. I can't deal with it anymore I'm so tired of having to conceal these spots every day and it makes me feel like a teenager again! I'm still on the fence about if I should continue using it for another while to see if anything will change but after reading some other reviews here I really don't think I'll bother. The weird thing is it does leave my skin feeling very soft and clear or any oiliness directly after I use it but then overnight up come the pimples and over time it dries out my skin. I admit I think maybe my skin is a bit too dry in general for this cleanser but dryness aside it was meant to purify skin and it's done the opposite of that. It seems to be giving me skin problems I never had before. I really wanted to like this cleanser since I've used a Dermalogica moisturiser for years now (Skin smoothing cream) but this product just isn't for me. I always read reviews on makeupalley yet never write them myself however I've never in my life used a product that did the polar opposite of what it said it would do to my skin before so for that reason I felt compelled to write this one. I may try using it for another while longer and update my review if anything changes but unfortunately I don't think it will.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 10/31/2013 7:03:00 AM More reviews by Laski

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

Judging from the reviews it seems you either love this product or you hate it. I belong to the latter group. I don´t think I ever had a worse opinion about a cleanser. This seems loaded with menthol, probably to create a "nice cooling effect" - but to me it just feels as if i applied tigerbalm all over my face. Very uncomfortable. I also don´t have the impression that it cleanses thoroughly. I expected the texture to be a bit thicker - it´s a really liquid, runny mess which doesn´t seem to cling to my skin to hold on to makeup/dirt/oils to take them with it when it´s rinsed off. Instead it just swishes around and is as easy as pure water to rinse off (which may be a plus for some). For me, a complete fail.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/15/2013 11:50:00 AM More reviews by jodieleannexx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

After reading some good reviews on the internet about this product I decided to go and buy it because my skin is very oily and acne prone. I brought the oily skin kit and this cleanser was in it, I use it twice a day and so far I am noticing that it is improving my acne. When I first started using it this made me break out but it got better. I have ran out of the 50ml bottle I had in the kit which lasted me 4 weeks. I have re purchased another bottle for 23.00 pounds along with the Tonner.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 6/14/2013 4:15:00 PM More reviews by nanamisan

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

worst face wash i've ever used in my life. *possibly* the menthol irritated my face, or maybe it was something else. my face never felt clean while using this. within one use i had like 15 new pimples on my face, within 2 uses i had like 30 new pimples on my face! they were itchy tiny whiteheads in clusters, and i broke out in strange places i normally never do, such as sides of face or bridge of nose, or underneath chin, or in corners of my mouth. i would NOT recommend. Zero lippies.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/23/2013 6:21:00 AM More reviews by rockychick

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This is definitely a must have cleanser for all those who have oily skin. It does not overly dry the skin. So you could certainly use it twice a day. A little goes a LOOOOOOOOOONG way.......im on my third day on this. and i have been able to see a huge difference.. so go ahead and purchase it!!!!!you will not regret it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No