Ulta Automatic eyeliner in Raisin

3.6

16 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $

Package Quality: 4.4

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



on 7/5/2015 11:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I went on a hunt for some pretty summer colors that I could try out since I have been feeling a lot more outgoing than I have ever in the past, and of course I also wanted cheap. At the time, Ulta was having a sale that put these at $3 each, which was cheaper than NYX's, and with a bit of a wider selection of color, I decided to try some out.

I picked up Raisin and one other (the teal blue one, whatever the name of it is, might actually be Teal Blue...). I instantly fell in love with it because it isn't as bright. Though I am getting more comfortable with colors, I still want something a little more subtle. This is a great every day purple but not PURPLE color. It's a deep, burgundy, mixed with brown, mixed with a type of bronze sheen to it. It's absolutely gorgeous. This would be so perfect for green eyed ladies that want to make their eyes pop. I have blue eyes, but I still love the look it gives because it does have that bronze sheen to it. It's such a pretty color I can't exactly describe.

It isn't the smoothest in application, but it isn't horrible. I've had drier, I've had less pigmented. But this does go on with at least 2 swipes pretty well and with minimal tugging. I went with it to work where I tend to sweat a bit and with my oily eyelids, it was the perfect place to test it out and see about staying power. It did stay on all 8 hours I worked, and it did not smudge either. So that alone makes the minimal tugging very very worth it for me.

What I will complain about is why the heck would Ulta price these as $8 but always have sales that bring them down to $3 or less? It isn't worth $8, so why not just price them accordingly and just have sales like every other line with the buy one get one 50% off? It baffles me when brands overprice their things, then have sales to bring down the price of the product to what it "should" be.

Rant aside, this is a great product. Grab it when it's on sale if you like these types of colors. Definitely worth it when it's on sale!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 11/13/2012 6:01:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I liked the Ulta Automatic eyeliner in black, so I decided to try a different color. This is not worth the $8 pricetag at all. While the actual product works fine, the pigmentation is terrible. It barely shows up even when you go over it 20 times. The color is also more of a dark purple than the color of the eyeliner. I like the automatic eyeliner, just not this color.


on 8/27/2012 11:07:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is pretty awful, but just because it isn't pigmented at all, it reminds me of purple water colors it's purple.... but barely so it's useless doesn't define my eyes at all. This ones awful but I also own the espresso one and it's very good so I guess this liner is hit or miss with the colors. Anyway I got it very cheap on sale for like two dollars so it's no big deal.


on 4/9/2012 12:17:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Not very pigmented, had to use a lot, didn't twist up properly, color is very pretty though looked a little muddy at first & lashes stuck to it but once look was complete looked nice. I won't buy again tho.


on 5/5/2011 6:53:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

For $2, it was a bargain. It's a nice raisin/brown color. Not very soft, so application takes awhile and can tug. Good staying power. Would buy it on sale, but would not pay full price.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Boooo. I have these eyeliners in Teal Blue and Moss and I like them. However, this one is all dried up and it is really hard to get pigment to show up. This is probably because its dried up but also may have to do with it being lighter of a color on my skin than what I thought itd be.


on 10/15/2010 5:20:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I have green eyes and I'm always on the hunt for "the perfect raisin eyeliner" (I once owned it, WAAAYYY back in the 1980s). This is not perfect, but I am impressed. When swatched, this color looked more lilac-y/purple-y. I prefer a raisin that has some brown in it, but since this was only $2, I figured why not. On my eyes, however, it is more of a bronzy-purple. Hard to describe but it definitely looks great with green eyes! I like that these don't need sharpeners (hate dealing with sharpeners). It goes on fairly smooth, and lasting power on the upper lashline is good; wears off fast on the lower lashline, but I have yet to find a pencil liner that doesn't.


on 9/16/2010 12:44:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is such a pretty color except that it is barely noticable against my dark skin. It is definitely not as dark as the packaging. I imagine that this would be beautiful on people lighter than me...oh well! I do like UIta automatic liners, they have good staying/lasting power and wash off easily with warm water and cleanser. Just be careful not to accidentally rub your eyes...it will smudge.


on 7/21/2010 7:11:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

My favorite NYX eyeliner is now discontinued, but it was a perfect burgundy type of plum color that looked great as a brown. Raisin is an awesome replacement for the burgundy plum color. I love this color because Browns eyeliners show up black on me, and purple eyeliners look too blue. This is a very forgiving plum color that can mimic other colors. Its versitale, if I wear brown eyeshadow, raisin looks brown, if I wear red or plum colored clothing, raisin reflects that warm reddish color. This eyeliner wears alll day...I used Benefit creaseless cream eyeshadow, and this eyeliner glided over it beautifully, and stayed there all day. And I only got this for $1 on sale at Ulta. Definitely worth my dollar.


on 7/17/2010 10:30:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I got this for $1 when Ulta had their sale. Amazing price for an amazing product! I love it!

This eye liner is a creamy texture with a nice plum "raisin" color. It doesn't crease on my upper lids and doesn't budge on my lower lash line. This is so great, after 2 uses I went to buy another one before the sale ended :]




Top Rated Ulta Products

image

Silk

41 reviews
Back to Top