Cover Girl Lash Blast Length Water Resistant

3.0

102 reviews

47% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

When you buy the same mascara 3 or 4 times, you know you just might be getting addicted....I think I'm onto my 5th tube of this stuff :D In saying that, it's not going to be perfect for everyone, so make sure you know what you're after, and what this mascara offers, before taking the plunge.

This mascara does a fantastic job of providing natural-looking buildable length with plenty of separation, and zero clumping.If you're a girl that wants big, dramatic volume, or a false lash effect, I suggest you try something else. Instead, if you want a more everyday, look-how-naturally-pretty-my-lashes-are mascara, or a brilliant first-step mascara for building length and separation, this one's your girl.

One of the most unique aspects of this product is that it's marketed as 'water-resistant'. To be fair, I had no idea what this meant when I first purchased it, and kind of assumed it was waterproof. The reality is, it's not quite waterproof; it's better. Unlike waterproof mascara, it doesn't take years of rubbing and tugging at your lashes to remove it, and it doesn't ball up or flake off. Even better, it definitely has more staying power than normal mascara. It holds up just fine during exercise, or during hayfever season with all my sneezing and watery eyes. Can I promise that it'll make it through a screening of Bette Midler's Beaches? Maybe not.

The only negative I can think of is that the packaging is a little uninspired. Design-wise, I love how thin the tube is (nice and sleek in my makeup bag), and the shape of the wand, but the yellow plastic packaging is fairly average. Sure it's distinctive, and Cover Girl have used just about every other colour for their mascara containers, but c'mon guys, at least try and make it look pretty!!

Overall, I'm going to be devastated when I can't buy this anymore. I've already started scouting for possible replacements, and nothing else comes close. It's a niche product, in an otherwise saturated market, and i freaking love it.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.



on 12/12/2014 2:27:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

By far my HG mascara I've used this for 2 & 1/2 months now and am in love!! There's nothing on the back of packaging but my lashes are naturally longer I have not put anything on them apart from this mascara, I've noticed this as my lashes are like 1/2 a cm long and stick straight but now they naturally curled and about 1cm long!! I will purchase this for the rest of my life <3


on 11/16/2014 10:13:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Love this for a base! Under regular lashblast volume it is perfect. Alone, it'd take awhile to build up the intensity. As a primer, it's amazing. It really fans out and separates lashes and I don't even need to curl my lashes. Will definitely repurchase and keep in my collection.


on 4/30/2014 5:23:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a very good mascara. It is "the one" for me at the moment but I can't say I wont have my eye out for something better. First off what I love about it is that it may be the only mascara I have ever tried that does not flake or smudge all day! For that I am very excited. I think it is because the formula is water resistant. I don't use water proof formulas because they are too hard to remove so "water resistant" is perfect for me! It stayed on beautifully all day and removed very easily with warm water. I usually remove my mascara in the shower by gently grabbing my eyelashes and "pulling" it off ( yes I know, I have a strange way of removing mascara). So I don't use a mascara if it takes any more than this to get it off. The downside to it is that it takes some work to get any results. First coat looked almost no different than my bare lashes. But after the 3rd coat it looked pretty good and still natural because it does not clump at all. I found that if I add one more coat to the tips of my lashes after it is completely dry this really helps give me a little added length and definition. This is probably a great mascara for girls who were blessed with long thick eyelashes that just want a little darkening. Unfortunately I am not one of those girls so I would like it if it gave me a little more length but overall I like it a lot. Also the bright yellow tube is very pretty. I keep it in my purse just because I like to look at it.:) Yes, weird, I know.


on 4/18/2014 9:21:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I use this mascara as a primer. Weird but it doesn't clump up and it adds such a nice long base! It's always perfect!


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I think this mascara is okay. It's nothing spectacular, but I don't hate it. I do actually use it everyday, but in combination with usually one other mascara - at the moment this is the Maybelline The Falsies Everlasting. I don't think that I'd ever use this mascara just on its own though.
What I do with my mascara is:
1. Covergirl LashBlast Length Water Resistant - 1 coat, just to lengthen them slightly (I do think that it does this) and to separate my lashes out a bit before using a more heavy-duty mascara.
2. Maybelline The Falsies Everlasting WaterPROOF - 1-2 coats. This is where the bulk of my mascara-work is done. I'm not going to say too much about this because obviously this review isn't for this mascara, but pretty much I use this mascara to add volume and even more length to my lashes and also to actually waterproof my lashes. Trust me, this'll do it.
3. Covergirl LashBlast Length Water Resistant - 1 extra coat. I use this to separate my lashes out really quickly before my Maybelline mascara dries. If there's one thing this mascara DOES do, it's separate. I actually really like this brush and it's definitely a lot less scary-looking than many mascara applicators I've seen. The bristles are really neat and small and close together, but each bristle is definitely individual and not on top of another one. I think this helps separate out the lashes really well.
4. Covergirl LashBlast Lenght Water Resistant - bottom lashes! Although this brush isn't particularly small, I still think that it works well for my bottom lashes because of the reasons I outlined in step 3. The brush isn't curved, its bristles aren't different lengths and the brush isn't a strange bulbous shape or anything like that. It's nice and simple and good, in my experience, for applying mascara to my bottom lashes as I'm generally not brave enough to use my Maybelline mascara here.

I would repurchase this mascara because it seems to have grown into rather an important role in my lash-enhancing process, and I'm sure there are others out there that'll do the same job better than this (and without having to use two mascaras), but for now I think I'm content with what I've got.


on 3/5/2014 5:49:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Blue

First off, reviewers complaining that this isnt waterproof should read that it is marketed as water resistant. Which it is. I, too, bought this before a vacation expecting waterproof because I didnt read. I went fully submerged for long periods and didnt come out with my mascara all over me, thankfully, but if I touched my lashes, it did transfer. When worn outside the water however, this means it holds up very well during the day. For 'water resistant', cant really ask for anything else. As a mascara, I agree that it's decent. It can create nice natural, feathery lashes which is what I go for, but this takes effort ie. several coats. I have loved the entire LashBlast line, and this is bringing in the rear. It does lengthen, but not much, and separates with ease. Amazing for lower lashes or for no makeup makeup days. Would potentially repurchase.


on 11/29/2013 11:17:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I wouldn't really call this a must-have, or anything really worth reaching for in the drugstore.
I wouldn't call it a waterproof mascara, either.
It just doesn't perform all too well.
Firstly, the wand. The wand is quite long and kind of narrow, but with extremely thin, long, closely-spaced bristles. These bristles don't harbor much product, and don't deposit much. It's good in a way; there was absolutely no clumping with this mascara, but it didn't do much else for my lashes. It's a bit difficult to do the bottom lashes with this mascara as well.
This mascara gives anything but dramatic results.The finished results that you get with this mascara are very, very minimal. If you go for the super natural look, then you'll like this mascara. It hardly gives any volume to my lashes; it gives okay length, I'll give it that. But what's the use of great length when the lashes are so thin that you can't even see them? I'm a heavy eyeliner user, and I could hardly distinguish my lashes from the eyeliner. Kinda disappointed.
The color wasn't totally black; maybe a greyish black tone. Not opaque black like I was expecting.
Now, the staying power- this is not, at all, a waterproof mascara. I do synchronized swimming, so all of my "waterproof" makeup gets put to the ultimate test of having to survive in chlorinated water for extended periods of time. In the water, it stayed, at first, but very loosely; after a few minutes, it flaked off very easily and ran down my face. Not pretty. Out of the water, it has decent staying power; it flakes a little bit, but it stays. Interestingly, it's quite easy to remove, for a waterproof mascara. To be honest, I see no difference between the staying power of LashBlast Length Waterproof and a regular washable mascara.
The price is affordable; I think it's about $10. There's not a lot of product that comes in the tube, but it lasts a while. I wouldn't really recommend this mascara as a waterproof product, or anything that gives dramatic results; however, it works well as a washable, natural-looking mascara. I'm not repurchasing.


on 10/19/2013 4:42:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Grey, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I would have to agree with the criticisms of this mascara. It's really not the best for length or volume. I love it, however for my bottom lashes. I accidentally bend the wand slightly so that it has a little curve to it and now it fits my lower lash line perfectly. I have been reaching for this every day. The wand has short plastic bristles that are perfect for the lower lashes. I can't recall another mascara right now that does a better job. Doesn't smudge throughout the day, either. Am thinking I'll likely repurchase.


on 10/10/2013 1:54:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

2 coats and it didn't add volume, which would be ok if it added length, but nothing there either. Regarding the packaging, they wanted the applicator to be "long" so it is, but that reduces control and the actual brush part is so long that it's inconvenient to use on corner lashes. Smudges very easily.


Popular Mascaras


They're Real
2034 Reviews
False Lashes
127 Reviews
Lash Blast
4340 Reviews
Back to Top