July 31, 2014 | 2008 users online

Highlighters - Becca - Hyawatha Loose Shimmer Powder



image 0

rated 4.2(30 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.2
  • 80% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.6
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 2/28/2010 5:24:00 AM More reviews by nelson

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I wanted a cheek highlighter for my pale skin and after all the rave reviews for these shimmers i bought Hyawatha as it was the palest shade available on Strawberry Net. And yes, i think this is a very good shade for my skin colour but alas, and i can't believe i'm about to write this, but i actually think the shimmer particles are almost too fine to be really effective (which is strange for me as i love a very natural look for skin and eyes so i can wear an eye-catching lipstick). Previously i was using an eyeshadow shade with larger shimmer particles as a highlighter which was lovely, it still created a sheer, slight shimmer effect without being over the top, and i thought this would be similar. Try as i might i really had to put quite a bit on before it showed up and even then it was only ever so slightly shinier than my natural complexion! However, with necessity being the mother of invention, i found that by prising the shaker lid off and mixing this product with another pale, loose shimmer shadow that i occasionally used on my brow bone, i ended up creating a very effective, eye catching formula for my skin tone.
I would give this creation 5 lippies but as i'm reviewing Hyawatha i can only give it 3 stars. Value wise, this is one of the biggest loose shimmer highlighters available, i think it'll last forever. If i did by a Becca shimmer again I would go for an even lighter shade and perhaps this would solve the problem.......

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 1/26/2009 2:07:00 PM More reviews by UrbanHibiscus

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I got this a while ago and I've since tried to make it work on my tanned, olive skin but it's just too ashy looking on me. Gorgeous color in the pot, and great quality -- would look amazing on lighter, more neutral gals.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 1/26/2008 10:31:00 PM More reviews by sixxmum

Age: 36-43 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I do like this highlighter on my pale neutral skin. It gives it a nice shimmery highlight, but isn't too glittery. It is also a neutral color, so there isn't that worry about it being too yellow or too pink. I don't really care for the packaging. It is in a sifter jar, but the jar (and lid) are much too small to fit a brush into. So, you have to tip some into another container. The grey top on the jar also wants to "hold pigment" if anything gets on it, so it is a bit harder than some to keep tidy. These aren't huge factors, but little issues with the product. I won't likely rebuy this, simply because, while it's nice, I have similarly nice products from MMU etailers that do the same thing and are much much less expensive.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 9/17/2007 4:05:00 PM More reviews by zoeferret

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

On me it gives my face a nice glow- it's a lighter version of Mermaid, ( which I love. ) The shimmer is very finely milled so you don't see glitter all over. It's also great over eye shadow- helps blend the color together.

continued >>

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/18/2007 4:58:00 PM More reviews by iberian

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

As mlbalinge said in her excellent review, at first it will seem that the powder didn't DO anything - until you look at yourself in the mirror an hour later. Radiant, polished, awake, vibrant - that's how I look with this powder! It's nothing obvious, it just makes my skin look really vibrant without any shimmery highlighting (sometimes I want a break from my beloved Lorac Luminizer!). I haven't noticed any glitter whatsoever. It's also excellent as a brow highlighter, without giving a frosted porno look. I have dry skin so I don't need any other powder when I use this. I'm light olive, very warm and yellow-toned and Hyawatha is absolutely perfect. The only thing I'm not crazy about is the packaging. It's a small jar - it has a sifter, which is great - but it's difficult to get enough on the brush. But no matter, this powder is worth every penny!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/28/2007 11:22:00 AM More reviews by mineren

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Did not quite know how to use this powder, but after some experimentation, found that it works great over the Becca Powder (Wheat) to give your makeup a less matte look. I get the same effect applying those over the TLeClerc powder. However, I found that when Hyawatha is applied over blush, the blush color washes out too much, so I will have to buy a couple of other highlighters to complement Becca blushes I currently have in stock. I find this to be nice alternative to the mineral powders, which seem kind of heavy on my combo-skin. btw, I wear a Mac C6, Becca Bamboo and did not find the Hyawatha to be too light.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/13/2007 8:15:00 PM More reviews by mlbalinge

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

When I first used this shimmer powder I was disappointed b/c I thought it had disappeared when I brushed it onto my cheekbones. I just wasn't used to shimmer that wasn't high-beam, glittery, or opalescent. I caught a glimpse of myself in the mirror later that night and my skin looked luminous and my cheekbones were subtly highlighted. Those of you who usually shy away from shimmer should try Becca shimmer powder. It won't make you look fake or cheap, and it won't magnify your pores. I love this stuff!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/3/2006 1:04:00 AM More reviews by aj814

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I was so upset I thought I lost my Hyawathta loose shimmer powder. I love this product so much, I had to run to Sephora even during this heatwave just so I could get another one. This is the best shimmer powder I've tried (and believe me, I've tried MANY). I use retin-a (dermatologist told me to use it once or twice a week to help prevent blackheads), which sometimes makes my skin flaky and dull especially in the winter. I apply this powder all over my face after foundation and my skin looks oh so flawless. I love this product, but I just hate the packaging. I wish the jar was a little rounder so that my blush brush can pick up the powder more evenly. The jar looks small, but the powder goes a long way though. I'd definitely repurchase and would also probably buy the pressed version.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 3/7/2006 10:34:00 PM More reviews by hippychic

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I hate to be the first person to give a bad review. I generally adore Becca highlighters in pressed form. The pressed powders have MUCH less shimmer, and give a more elegant and less teeny bopper effect. IMO a highlighter should not even be noticable, a subtle glow, not overwhelming shimmer is what I am for. This loose powder has large chunks of, more or less, generic glitter. To bad, because the actual powder is gorgeous, but entirely to much shimmer.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/26/2005 3:12:00 PM More reviews by sheisontherun

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is probably the best shimmer product I've ever tried. Instead of big chunky glitter it adds a subtle (but still perceptible) sheen to your skin. It's completely natural looking. Looks great over matte blushes and on the brow bones, especially. Packaging is cute but it's a little hard to get the product out. This is way better than the last highlighter I tried (Nars Nico, didn't show up at all). All around great product at a fair price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No