August 20, 2014 | 1406 users online

Eye Shadow - NARS - Silent Night

no image

rated 2.5(28 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.5
  • 21% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 12/13/2012 1:05:00 AM More reviews by DollyBoots

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I really really wanted to love this. It looked so beautiful in the pan and after I swiped it it looked pretty on my finger. Unfortunately when I use it, I absolutely hate it! It's chunky and uneven and doesn't last)): it makes me sad since its so darn pretty! I'm going to keep trying this eyeshadow out, I plan on using it all up eventually and never have to worry about it again :/

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 9/14/2012 6:20:00 PM More reviews by genica

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

I've tried a few NARS shadows in the past and they were all at least 'okay'. But the formula for this is all wrong. It's uneven and not pigmented, and ultimately the unevenness is what makes it so difficult to work with. Patting it on, swiping it on, any way I put it on, was a hassle to get it to look decent. I ended up throwing this away recently, after sitting in the bottom of my makeup drawer forever. Like most reviewers I'd bought this on sale, (I think it was $10?), but throwing away $10 isn't much of a deal.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 8/31/2012 7:44:00 PM More reviews by Beauty4Ashes

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine Eyes: Brown

Silent Night is a light yellow antique gold. The finish is very shimmery with large glitter. With one swipe of color it's not very pigmented, but very sheer. If you want true to pan color payoff you'll need to pat it on in a few layers and you'll get lots of fallout from the glitter. I'd recommend dampening your finger or brush and patting, not swiping, on the lids. Once you've got it on, which is the difficult part because it's messy, you'll end up with a beautifully stunning yellow that twinkles and sparkles beautifully. I'll likely not repurchase since I what I have will last years, but I do recommend Silent Night if you're into golds and don't mind glitter. This is great for the Holiday season.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/29/2012 11:39:00 AM More reviews by LipstickLove1

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This is the 'ideal' gold shadow - I even use it as a highlight shade or to add a golden glow to my blush. I love that its a pure gold shade, not too browned or too orange! I just dislike that NARS single shadows are so expensive for their size, but the quality is well worth it!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/20/2012 6:09:00 PM More reviews by lilinah

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

This is a very striking eye shadow. The base is metallic shimmering gold with huge chunks of gold glitter. I love that double punch of gold. I accidentally bought two, because ever time i go by the NARS display carrel in sephora, it catches my eye, and i forgot i already had one - there'll be no forgetting any more:-)
.
You can't just brush it on like ordinary shadow, though.
-- First, it definitely needs an eyelid primer, because, despite what the NARS promo copy says, in my experience the powder eye shadows don't stay put all that well on their own. I usually use UDPP Original, but UDPP in Greed just amps this shadow up for special occasions!
-- Next, rather than the usual sweeping brush strokes, as with average powder shadows, you really need to load up a brush and pat it on carefully to get full coverage. Swiping will just lead to weak color and unpleasant fall-out.
.
These two steps help reduce stray glitter and give a gilded lid. I do get a stray glitter or two after a few hours, but that doesn't freak me out.
.
I usually wear Silent Night when performing (with gold glitter eye liner :-), for fancy dinners out and other special occasions. I think it works for days, too, if used only on the lid close to the lash line to brighten and enliven the eyelid.
.
I really LOVE this eye shadow.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 11/3/2010 5:38:00 PM More reviews by xxxpointexxx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I was extremely disappointed with this product. I also got it for the $9 deal simply because I wanted to own a NARS eyeshadow and was ecstatic when I found this super discounted one. This eyeshadow is awful. Terrible pigmentation whether applied with brush, sponge, wet, or dry. The shimmer left over is barely noticeable, and the CHUNKS of glitter do not reflect much light. Do not make the mistake of purchasing this eyeshadow.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/6/2010 1:46:00 AM More reviews by sophiaayu

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

the packaging in NARS products are great. its even comes with a mirror. i got this product as a swap from someone. At first i thought this was the worst eyeshadow ever. it was not pigmented at all. only gold glitters.....and i dont like glitters that much, but after reading some reviews and videos on how to use the eyeshadow, it wasnt so bad. All you need is a COLOR BASE to put under nars silent night eyeshadow. And i will give you a pretty shimmer and gold glitter effect. it makes the color base pop even more. i used mac coral crepe paintpot and it looks great with it, but I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND a skin tone base, urban decay primer potion, or too faced eyeshadow insurance. TRY mac coral crepe paintpot, mac delft paintpot, or nyx jumbo pencil(make sure not to put too much because they do crease).

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 3/10/2010 5:36:00 AM More reviews by i2ismartazzi2i

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I got this eyeshadow because it was on sale at Sephora and I know now why it was on sale. The color is pretty, just a basic gold. Not a champagne gold but gold gold. The color is pretty but the texture is awful. And from what I read, I am not the only one. I don't know if it is a nars eyeshadow thing because this is the only nars eyeshadow that I own, but it is very powdery and the pigmentation was alright. Not the best. I will not repurchase,

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/18/2010 9:25:00 PM More reviews by belle8485

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

this eyeshadow (i'm not sure if maybe its a nars thing) is really... oddly textured. not very highly pigmented, and while i don't need creamy, this just felt powdery or something. the consistency and texture is strange. i wanted more payoff... especially for the price!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/8/2010 1:38:00 PM More reviews by CourtneyEuphoric

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

so i like gold shadow and i really wanted to like this one i was excited to get it but it is hard to work with like weird texture chunky or somthing its really just awkward to put on the coulor pay off (at least for me is not great either) i figured cuz u could wear it wet that i could wear it intensly...not so much i dont think its a great coulor just to sweep on either like not the right shade its somthing i want to be KAPOW but it just does;nt do it for me...i am going to try it on a black base that might look kewl but on a gold or nude base it looks like crap i am sad bout this :( maybe i will get a gold pigment from mac

Is this review helpful? Yes No