August 22, 2014 | 1930 users online

Makeup Brushes - Sigma - Makeup Professional Brushes Face and Eyes Kit



image 0

rated 4.1(19 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 68% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 10/28/2013 12:46:00 AM More reviews by KeIIsBells

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

There are only 3 brushes in this entire set that I use frequently. I wish I hadn't told my parents to get this for me for my birthday. 1) Complete waste of money. 2) Too expensive. 3) Shed like CRAZY!

Want OUTSTANDING brushes? Go to your local drugstore and pick up Real Techniques Brushes. I wash mine every 2 weeks with NO shedding at all! They also won't cost you an arm and leg.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/20/2013 11:44:00 AM More reviews by tmdblue

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have had these brushes for over 4 years now but the problems with loose ferrules were noticed within 1-2 months of my purchase. My SS190 literally feels likes its going to fall right off the handle; thankfully I have a MAC 190 that is still in excellent condition despite me having had it for a longer period of time. The SS150 is okay but a little scratchy for me but at least the ferrule has held up. The SS168 is a real gem and I find myself using this brush often. It's soft doesn't shed and the ferrule is still intact. The SS187's ferrule is bad and loose. I use this brush for blushes that require a light hand like Tippy or Dollymix. Overall I think the eye brushes are better than the face brushes and I see no reason not to grab a few of them if your on a budget. Lastly I will say that you usually get what you pay for but in some cases even expensive brushes like MAC have problems too. My 109 has a loose ferrule and is about 2-3 years old meanwhile I have MAC brushes that I've had since around 2000 that are in tip top shape.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/14/2012 10:02:00 PM More reviews by oxnicoleox3

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Probably the best thing I've ever splurged on. Definitely better than buying all the brushes at MAC for $400. There isn't a single brush in this set that I don't use or that isn't great in my opinion. They all give flawless application and definitely worth every penny. Don't bother getting the MAC ones- they're the exact same but cheaper. The on;y negative thing I can say is that my big fluffy brush sheds, but not horribly. Amazing product.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/29/2012 5:18:00 PM More reviews by Themonsunxxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I've had this brush set for about a year now and think I've had more than enough time to review each one!

Angled Liner Brush SS266- Wonderful precise angled brush, great for cream/gel liner

Medium Angled Shading SS275- Perfect for applying highlight sparingly or for high impact.

Large Shader Brush SS252- Good brush for applying highlight, lid color or cream bases

Pencil Brush SS219- Basic pencil brush, does shed which can be annoying when I apply inner corner highlight.

Angled Blush Brush SS168- Lovely for highlight and blush. My only gripe is that the ferrule was obviously not made very well. It was loose when I received it so I have to be very careful with this brush.

Large Powder Brush SS150- One of my least favorite brushes in the set. It sheds like crazy and after I apply my powder or bronzer I have tons of black hairs on my face that I have to pick off. Disliked.

Duo Fibre Brush Stippling Brush SS187- This brush's ferrule is also poorly put together. The brush itself can shed at times, but I still use it for dewy foundation application, blush and highlight. A versatile brush.

Flat foundation Brush SS190- Great basic foundation brush, applies foundation like a dream. Love this.

Concealer Brush SS194- The worst out of them all. The quality of the brush is great, but it was very poorly made. The brush was wobbly when I first used it and the brush itself simply detached after the next use.

Fluffy Blending Brush SS224- One of my favorites, if not my favorite, in the whole set. Great for applying concealer or just blending colors out effortless. Perfection.

Shader Brush SS239- Simple shader brush, does nothing more or less. My ELF shader brush is of the same quality.

Pointed Eyeliner Brush SS209- Great for precise lining with cream/gel liner. Great quality, I use this daily.

I do enjoy these brushes but for the amount of poorly manufactured brushes I would never repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 12/4/2011 11:51:00 PM More reviews by lil_kismet

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Don't get me wrong, in general, for the price these brushes are good value. I've had both the professional and premium kits for some time now (purchased them when each set was first released) and reach for them regularly -- majority of them function very well and apply makeup very nicely. I do have one major gripe about them though -- the quality control and workmanship of the brushes is inconsistent, even with proper care of my brushes. To date about 5 of them have fallen apart because the ferrules came loose. Also, on some of them I've had to trim some hairs that were too long. I have many MAC brushes that I purchased years before Sigma brushes were even launched and have never encountered such issues with any of them. While I can't say they are as good as or in the same calibre as MAC and other high end brushes, they do perform very well and are a great way to expand your brush collection at a fraction of the cost compared to buying high end brushes individually -- just be aware that the workmanship on some (not all) of them may be shoddy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 9/19/2011 8:33:00 PM More reviews by HeatherN1988

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I got the pro. kit for my birthday. The first review i did on these were great BUT i am not so sure now that I have used them more.
I now think the eye brushes are good and the face (blush,powder,etc) are not the best.
I have not washed them yet and i am told brushes will perform better after washed/cleaned.
I think they are good but not better than mac.
Will update if anything changes after i wash them.

I dont know if i would buy again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/26/2011 6:00:00 PM More reviews by OlgaCast

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

Ohh my goodness I LOVE Sigma Brushes and their customer service :) Seriously the best ever!!!!

I just ordered their 12 brushes, a brush roll, and a travel size brushes with a brush roll.

First of all I LOVED the quality of the brushes. I own 5 MAC brushes and let me tell you Sigma Brushes are the same quality. They apply makeup the same. They did not shed much, but only the first time I played with them. After that no more shedding at all.
I also really loved the travel size brush kit (I got Naughty In Black). The travel kit is great and the brushes are shorter, but the bristles are the same size as regular sized brushes. I loved that. I mean I hate when the travel size brushes are small because just because I am traveling does not mean my face got smaller you know?

Anyway they are awesome :) The brush roll feels so expensive and it looks so nice.

Here is why I love their customer service.

When I got my travel brush roll, the sipper on the side pocket fell off. Well I freaked out and wrote Sigma asking for an exchange if possible. Well after I wrote them I tried to fix it and I did!!! Well the next day I was going to say never mind I fixed it. When I opened my email I got a letter from Sigma saying that they are so sorry for the inconvenience and that my new travel sized brush roll is on its way!!!

Ohh I feel so bad because I fixed mine and I am still getting a new one. Can you believe it? they did not even ask me to send the old one back.

They are the best.

And NO I am not an employee of Sigma or anything. I am just a girl who loves her brushes :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/9/2011 1:39:00 PM More reviews by faija

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Dark, Cool Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine Eyes: Brown

I'm not sure why they have this picture, but the Sigma Face and Eyes Kit has 6 brushes:

Pencil - E30 -I have so many eye brushes I haven't used this one enough yet.

Tapered Blending - E40 - I love this brush for blending but it lost some of it's taper.

Eye Shading - E55 - Pretty soft, but I love my ELF studio C brushes better.

Large Powder - F30 - Lovely lovely lovely brush. So soft! I bought a
MAC 150 brush and the Sigma F30 was waayyyy softer.

Buffer - F45 - I love this brush! I use it everyday and have recently started using it for my liquid foundation. I need to get a back up!

Duo Fibre - F50 - This is the only brush I don't like. It's prickly and too floppy for my taste. This is the only reason I gave 4 lippies instead of 5.

I haven't had any problems with excessive shedding and my brushes didn't smell when I got them. I had originally planned on using Sigma brushes and adding MAC brushes as time went along, but when I paid $50 for the MAC 150 and it was really rough and it shed, I realized that the quality of Sigma brushes are awesome and since they work so great for me, why spend 3 times as much for MAC brushes?

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 9/26/2010 9:38:00 PM More reviews by DrMAC

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Black

I've had these brushes for almost a year, and I realized I never reviewed them! When I first got them, I thought they were fabulous. I mean seriously, 5 brushes for $54?? They look just like MAC. The pics are deceiving (above), because this set comes with 5 brushes only:
Large Powder - F30
Duo Fibre - F50
Pencil - E30
Tapered Blending - E40
Eye Shading - E55
Buffer - F45

The F45 and F30 SHED LIKE A MOTHER. I did not know the extent of this until I used Mac's new mineralized skinfinish foundation (the compact one) and the hairs were so stuck on my face after dusting with mineralize skinfinish, that it hurt to pinch all the hairs off my face. Very disappointing. My duo fibre brush is kind of sparse (may have been before they beefed it up) but it is ok for blush application and prob for foundation stippling as well.
I thought they shed a little bit at first, but they all still shed quite a lot and they are getting more bristly instead of softer. The eyebrushes, on the other hand, are fantastic. I would repurchase their eye brushes, because they are quite good (but hey, so are sonia kashuk's!!!) but definately not the face brushes.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/9/2010 3:29:00 PM More reviews by xxmisskatiexx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

I received this product in the mail a week after I ordered them, which was exceptionally fast (as they came to the UK). I was not ordered to pay a customs charge, which is good. The packaging was fantastic, I ordered these brushes without the brush roll and the brushes came in a little black bag with plastic sleeves to protect the bristles.

When I opened the parcel, I found that the brushes were extremely soft and are made to a high quality. I washed these brushes before using them, very little shedding and they didn't bleed at all.

The brushes work really well, I haven't found any problems with them at all. I would recommend these brushes to people who are starting their makeup/brush collections and don't want to spend a ridiculous amount of money on MAC brushes.


Is this review helpful? Yes No