December 21, 2014 | 1384 users online

Lip Gloss - E.L.F. - Mineral Lip Gloss



image 0image 1

rated 4.2(31 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.2
  • 83% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 12/5/2014 10:34:00 AM More reviews by two_star_hotel

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

For starters, let me just say this wasn't love at first swipe. I have five of these: Daring, Bare, Night Owl, Trendsetter, and Sorority Girl. When I first tested them out, they were so-so, in my opinion; a gloss, just like many other glosses, somewhat thin, boring. With that, I threw them in my gloss tote and promptly forgot about them for a few months. The other day, though, as I was going through my glosses, getting rid of the old and unloved, I came across these again. Daring, being the most different of the ELF mineral glosses that I own (red with shimmer, mostly gold), was the first to be given another chance. And let me just say, I LOVE it now. Yes, it is still thinner than my favorite glosses (I'm a fan of the glue-types: Juicy Tubes, the old ColourJuice glosses, lipglasses, lustreglasses, etc.), but layering is easy. The gloss itself lasts a decent amount of time - 1-2 hours, depending, even longer if you layer and don't eat/drink - and while glossy, isn't slap-you-in-the-face shiny. Daring has a slight tint of pinkish color with shimmer on the lips, and reminds me a lot of the old Juicy Tube color Candy Cane. Night Owl is a slightly darker YLBB color with tiny gold shimmer. To be honest, I've hardly used the other three I own, as I've been devoting so much attention to Daring and Night Owl. At $3 a tube, the price is reasonable (especially if you have a free shipping code, or a 50% off code, or happen to find it in stores), but my biggest complaint is that available colors do change somewhat consistently with ELF. Daring is no longer available, but plenty other color choices are, and I plan on trying them all eventually.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/25/2013 11:28:00 AM More reviews by jkpetite

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Hazel

Just got these in Night Owl & Trendsetter. I prefer Night Owl - it doesn't have the shimmer that Trendsetter has. That said, I could see myself using Trendsetter over my NYX Natural lip liner for an evening out. Overall, I really like these glosses. They are light, not super sticky and wear well. I would definitely purchase more in Night Owl & the clear.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/17/2013 5:24:00 AM More reviews by prettypollyperkins

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

In my opinion, these are some of the best lip glosses out there. They last extremely well, are as good as MAC and the range of colours is quite good with gorgeous peach, brown, mauve and plum shades, although it could be wider. I love Night Owl and Sorority Girl and always order a few at a time.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/25/2012 7:29:00 PM More reviews by Reservechic

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

My favorite color mineral lip gloss is Pageant Princess! It has such a pretty shade of pink to it. Also, it doesn't leave my lips feeling overly sticky either. And, it is completely scentless and tasteless as well.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/23/2012 4:14:00 PM More reviews by bentobento

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I bought the clear gloss. Based on previous E.L.F. experience, I expected to HATE this. To my surprise it's better than my previous clear gloss. Not too thick, not too thin. I have Rimmel's Vinyl Lip in clear and it's just a sticky mess (it seals in my color, but soooo sticky). This stuff is pleasant, no smell, no taste... not sure if my boyfriend will approve of it though. We shall see. Only cons are that the container is small and therefore the wand is small (pro and con at same time) and doesn't dispense enough product the first time. Whatever, I can deal with that. $1 well spent.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/13/2012 6:06:00 PM More reviews by EternalMyrtle

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I have three of these: Bare, Night Owl and Au Naturale. I am giving this 4 stars because of Bare. It is so awesome. Perfect almost no color look if you want a natural lip with a little something. Night Owl is a nice plum. Au Naturale is terrible. Frosty and not glossy feeling. The others feel silky on. Au Naturale does not. It feels dry and cakey.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/30/2011 11:09:00 AM More reviews by pulitzer

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Black

As someone who does not wear lip gloss often, a high rating coming from me is a surprise to myself! I have naturally full lips so i try not to make them stand out too much by wearing anything bright, shiny or glittery on them. So When I wear gloss, I dont like to build it up to a super 'wet' finish - i normally look for the effect a gloss gives after just one quick, not too thick swipe of product.


I have this in Wild, a seemingly hot warm coral pink with gold shimmer. It is not super pigmented once applied (which is preferable for me) and sheers out to a lovely golden-pink sheen. There is no scent or taste AT ALL which i find pretty impressive considering most of the other lip products i have have some sort of off putting taste/scent when advertised as fragrance free. Another huge plus for me is that these stay on for hours! I get well into mid day wearing this gloss (applied in the morning). The best thing is at the same time, you dont feel like you are wearing product on your lips!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/15/2011 1:08:00 PM More reviews by shady74

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

An excellent product. Not only is this a great gloss, but the jojoba oil means it moisturises ALL day. If you suffer from dry lips, get yourself one of these and use it as a lip balm, you will notice the difference immediately. My only gripe is that the colour selection is too neutral, I'd love to see something bolder. Only so I can buy more!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/15/2011 1:27:00 AM More reviews by Ilovemakeup96

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

It's like a bright pink in the tube but when you put in on, you can't really tell it's there. I guess it's pretty good if you want shiny lips with no color. It's good for the price, which is $1. It doesn't taste good, but the taste isn't bad either.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/25/2011 7:49:00 PM More reviews by davesmsperfect

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I bought "Wild" thinking it would be a pretty coral color & it ended up being an ugly orange. Thankfully it's a pretty sheer gloss otherwise it would be hideous. Texture wise, it's okay. A bit on the sticky side & tastes rather bad. I'd expect this from their $1 line but not their $3 stuff. Not something I'd buy again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No