December 18, 2014 | 1710 users online

Highlighters - MAC - Cream Color Base in Luna

no image

rated 4.3(46 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 84% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 2/26/2014 1:53:00 AM More reviews by escebola

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

Lovely subtle highlighter that can be used everyday w/o looking over the top. I swirl my finger in the pan and then pat over higher cheekbones, bridge of the nose, cupid' s bow and brow bone. As it is a white cream, it can get a bit messy. Just try to clean or at least wipe finger before sticking it in the pan. I'm happy with this purchase as it allows me to wear highlighter to work, which is unimaginable with other products that I own. If you're looking for something dramatic, this may not be for you. For a subtle effect, give it a try!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/9/2014 4:05:00 AM More reviews by angelaslh

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

A lot of people seem to love this. I'm not so sure about this yet. I usually go for a more glowy look and this is a bit too subtle for me. It hardly does anything for me. It would be very good for pale skin as it is so white. I haven't used it too much because i haven't really been liking it but after reading all the good reviews about it i'm going to play around with it a bit more and hopefully end up liking it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 9/18/2013 8:18:00 AM More reviews by sabrinarose1990

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I love this highlighter. It is a creme highlighter that looks white in the pan, however once transferred to your skin it imparts the most natural looking glow, if used sparingly and blended correctly. If a heavier hand is used it can look slightly whitish or silvery.
It is perfect for my fair nc10 complexion. I use my fingers to apply and blend and apply it to the top of my cheekbones, brow bone, inner eye corner and cupids bow for a Bardot esque pout.
It is perfect for both day and night. The reason I gave this s 4 is longevity, it lasts about 4 hours before I have to re apply, and the packaging- after a while the product can look a little grimy because of cross transfer if you don't wash your hands between makeup steps. Overall my hd highlighter!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/2/2013 8:37:00 PM More reviews by JLeroux

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I've found that glitter-free, natural-looking, day-light-friendly highlighters are exceedingly difficult to find, and this product is among the few that I like.

The Good: I use this as a highlighter (cheekbone, brow bone, cupid's bow, etc.), and it gives a dewy sheen with no glitter particles. This is probably the most natural highlighter I've tried so far. It can show up very slightly white or silvery if applied thickly, but I've found it to be almost completely sheer after blending (I have light-to-medium skin, Chanel 30). I don't know if this is also true for darker skin tones though.

The Bad: The reason I'm giving this product 4 instead of 5 stars, it isn't that long lasting. Typically, it'll be gone by the end of the day. I'm not really sure at what point in the day it disappears though. Another small complaint I have is that any product on your fingers will transfer and stick to the product in the pot, making it look a bit grimy after a while. I try to clean off any product from my finger before using, but I can still see some foundation/concealer in the pot.

Overall: Great highlighter! I'd definitely recommend it to those looking for a natural looking highlighter to use during the day (particularly those with lighter skin tones).
Alternatives: For natural looking highlighters, I also really like Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector and Shiseido Luminizing Satin Face Color (High Beam White and Soft Beam Gold). I've also sampled MUFE Uplight and really liked it as well (but can't remember which shade).
Value: I think it's a pretty good value. Mac charges $18.50, and it should last at least 4-6 months (if not more) even if you're using it everyday.

For others also looking for more natural looking highlighters, here are the ones I've tried or sampled so far:
No glitter: Shiseido Luminizing Satin Face Color (High Beam White and Soft Beam Gold), Mac Cream Color Base (Luna)
Some very fine glitter: Becca Shimmering Skin Perfector, MUFE Uplight (can't remember the exact shade, which I do think matters), Mac Cream Color Base (Pearl)
Higher glitter content (what I personally found to be too much for day): Armani fluid sheer (02 shimmering beige), Benefit Watt's Up, Benefit High Beam, Nars Blush (Albatross), Nars Multiple (Copacabana, Orgasm), Nars Illuminator (Copacabana, Orgasm)---although based on the many glowing reviews for a lot of these products, the ideal amount of shimmer/glitter in a highlighter is clearly a very personal opinion!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/18/2012 12:50:00 PM More reviews by kitten14

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I wanted to try a Creme Colour Base for a long time before I finally did. I first heard how great they are as highlighters from Kandee Johnson who loves Shell and Pearl. For me I wanted something really glowy that isn't frosty at all, and Luna looked perfect. I usually put this on and then top it with a powder highlight, but that's not necessary, this stays really well on it's own and gives such a nice, pretty glow.
I'm really glad I finally picked this up, I won't need to look for another highlighter again as long as MAC makes this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/16/2012 3:39:00 AM More reviews by haleyhay

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

I really love this. I love highlighters, I just really like the look of a good sculpted cheek bone, and Luna does the trick. I love it, because it doesn't look glittery, or even really shimmery, just very glowy. It lasts all day, and I don't feel like you have to use very much. I will definitely be buying this gem again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/27/2012 10:39:00 AM More reviews by lygophilia

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Great and versatile high lighter for my fair complexion. Luna departs a lovely soft glow without looking overly glittery or obnoxious. Stays all day without fading or migrating too.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/10/2011 5:24:00 PM More reviews by alexa94

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Fab highlighter. Use it when contouring with Harmony, dab it with my finger above my cheeks, just above my blusher. Always goes (from bottom, up) Harmony, pink/peach blush, Luna. Lovely shine and very creamy consistency. One problem I have is that it sometimes doesn't go on evenly and you can see 'cracks' where it hasn't. Maybe I'm just being picky though, I basically put my nose up to the mirror so can see every single imperfection. :P Anyhow, such good stuff nevertheless, will continue to purchase when I've ran out. :-)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 4/16/2011 10:33:00 AM More reviews by xxxstrzxx

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

This was one of the first cream colored bases I purchased and I love it! It is so versatile. I use it as a highlight and a color base. I mostly use it to highlight my cheek bones and brow bone. It gives a nice irredecent sheen.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/25/2011 2:39:00 PM More reviews by Kathy123

Age: 36-43 Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

Love this. I always wondered how some people glow without looking greasy. This brightens my face without looking as a disco ball. I use this under my eyes and my eyes pop. Great product!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No