Geisha Ink Liquid Eyeliner

4.5

36 reviews

88% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.5

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Acrylates/Ethylhexyl Acrylate Copolymer, Butylene Glycol, Ethanol Alcohol, Beheneth-30, Ammonium Acrylates Copolymer, Acrylates/Octylacrylamide Copolymer, Phenoxyethanol, Pentylene Gylcol, 1,2 Hexanediol, Caprylyl Glycol, Ethylhexylglycerin, Polyglyceryl-3 Disiloxane Dimethicone, Sodium Hydroxide, Disodium EDTA, [May contain ( /-): Iron Oxides (Cl 77499), Silica]. PARABEN-FREE


on 8/15/2015 3:35:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I ordered this from Canada three years ago and it was a favorite to carry, great for touch-ups for quite some time, but at 30 Canadian dollars (roughly 23 American dollars), I felt that having backups would be costly. Then I misplaced it last year in one of my suitcases and I almost forgot this eyeliner existed. It has finally dried out (three years after my purchase, and I didn't always store it horizontally as recommended). It is one of the better liquid pens I've bought. Geisha Ink doesn't transfer or smear as easily as many of the pens I've tried, although I do recommend some sort of powder eyeshadow or primer rather than using this on bare lids. The soft brush-like tip is a pleasure to use, and the black is a good, true black. It didn't take long to dry and it was a good pen to carry in my bag because the ink set quickly.

Stila's Stay All Day waterproof is the one I've been toting around lately, and I gave that product a sincerely positive review. However, I actually prefer the microfiber tip of Geisha Ink to the tip of the Stila pen. It's softer, more precise, easier to use, and feels more like a brush.

I had rotten luck with Kat Von D's Tattoo Liner. I know it's a best-seller, but it smeared on me and transferred, and I got tired of having to fix it all the time with concealer and re-apply it, and so after several negative experiences with it, I was reluctant to try Kat Von D's other eyeliner, the Ink Liner pen, even though that is supposed to be waterpoof and better.

I had good luck with Lorac's Front of the Line Pro, which lasted really well over my eye primer and powder shadows, but Lorac's Noir is almost a blue-black, and I find Geisha Ink to be a truer black that doesn't shift color. It isn't as glossy a finish as Stila's Jet Black.

Now that I've had some time to try several liquid liner pens, and evaluate many different brands, I feel confident giving Geisha Ink a high performance rating. When I was using this, I wasn't horrified when I saw myself in the ladies' room mirror, which happened to me one too many times with Tattoo Liner.

I live close to an Ulta and a Sephora, but this brand isn't easy for me to find in stores. So I'm surrounded by other brands vying for my dollars, hence...Geisha Ink slipped my mind.

$30 Canadian dollars (approximately 23 USD) isn't cheap, but the eyeliner is good enough that I would be willing to buy it again, even though I have to pay for shipping. Below I've listed instructions from the Geisha Ink website for the product to work best for you. As long as I followed them, this stayed well on my upper lashline. (On my lower lashline, I've been using a Marc Jacobs gel crayon.)

From GeishaInk.com:

DIRECTIONS: Blot off any oil around the eyelid area and/or powder the eye area, prior to application. Shake liner a few times before use. To ensure precise application, apply with a light but definite hand. Close cap tightly after each usage. Removes easily by massaging the area with fingertips and warm water.

STORAGE: Close cap tightly after each usage. Store eyeliner horizontally for optimal ink flow and at a temperature between 5 25 C / 41 77 F.

Weight: 0.6 ml / 0.02 fl oz

INGREDIENTS: Aqua/Water/Eau, Acrylates/Ethylhexyl Acrylate Copolymer, Butylene Glycol, Laureth-21, Alcohol, Peg-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Phenoxyethanol, Pentylene Glycol, 1,2 Hexanediol, Sodium Hydroxide, Disodium EDTA. May contain / Peut Contenir () Cl 77266 [Nano] Black 2. PARABEN-FREE / SANS PARABEN

MADE IN JAPAN

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.



on 6/28/2015 5:14:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this after using KvD tattoo and Stila liquid liners over the past little while. I liked both but wanted to try something else (classic MUAer). I'm so impressed by this liner. It is super precise. It is super black. And it layers well. One of my pet peeves is liquid liner that you can't go over again once it's dry without breaking up the first layer. I think I have found a liquid liner that's worth being loyal to. The formula is quite wet so you do have to pull your eye taught to get a super sharp line but that's the only thing slightly negative I have to say about it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 6/23/2015 4:20:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I love this eyeliner. I am about to purchase my second one. I haven't ran out of it yet but I feel like I'm about to. I was not a liquid liner person but after wearing this one for the past couple months I have a hard time going back to regular liner. This lasts all day yet comes off so easily when I'm ready for it to come off. If I mess up I just wet a q-tip and wipe off and continue. This liner is expensive but definitely worth it.


on 12/21/2014 8:27:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

So I ran out of this eyeliner and tried to get one. They were on backorder everywhere end of Nov. I started to freak out as I needed it for the holiday. Finally, the boutique that stocks this brand called me on Dec 4th and Hallelujah! I rushed in and wow, they changed their packaging. It looks so pretty. The girls at the boutique told me they have revamped the tip as well. I was beyond excited. I bought one and rushed home to try it.

It is blacker (is there such word)? and the tips is even better than before. Possible? Heck ya. They did again. Holy. I don't think any liquid liner out there can beat how smooth their ink goes on. Thank you Geisha Ink. Keep doing what you are doing. Love your products!!!!!!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

The best liquid liner I've ever used has gotten even better (if thats even possible). After a couple weeks of trying the new liner, Im SOOOO impressed. Goes on even blacker than before...I mean BLACK! The brush tip is a tad shorter then it used to be, which gives it a much easier control. Still stays all day, doesnt smear or smudge on my super oily skin, and washes off with warm water at the end of the day. LOVE that this liner is paraben free, as it is hard to find in today's market. This is the perfect liner to eaisly create that gorgeous cat eye. I've probably tried every liquid liner out there and this is still my go-to.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/4/2014 7:41:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This has been my HG eyeliner for years now. Recently, my local makeup boutique has been back ordered on the liner because it was relaunching a new formula. After being on a wait list for what felt like forever, they finally got their shipment in yesterday! I rushed in to buy it yesterday and noticed the packaging is nicer:). Today is my first day using the new formula. Firstly, the brush has been improved to be slightly shorter, and seems of a higher quality (softer bristles on the brush) which I personally find gives better control, and glides with the greatest of ease. The Ink now is even blacker, which I was surprised by, since it was already black to begin with!! This is one of the only liquid liners I have currently found that is paraben free, and preforms so beautifully. I am super impressed by this improved eyeliner!

After a day of wear, I found it wore just as long with no smudging, and I was able to remove just as easily, with warm water. Hurrah!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 7/21/2014 12:58:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Maybe I'm being cynical, but I feel like this is the Kiss Me Heroine Make Smooth Liquid Eyeliner repackaged in a black pen and renamed Geisha Ink Liquid Eyeliner. Other than the packaging, name, and price, they are identical. Even the ball agitator inside the pen sounds the same.

This is another pen liner with a fine felt tip, allowing you to draw extremely thin lines. The tip could be a little stiffer (which is how I feel about the Kiss Me Heroine eyeliner, too). But nevertheless, it's very easy to apply. The color is intense and opaque. With the NARS eye primer, this eyeliner lasts me about 12 hours before I see any kind of smudging. This one and the Kiss Me Heroine eyeliner are the only liquid eyeliners I've tried that perform this well. I have oily lids plus one eye tends to water throughout the day, so any eyeliner that can survive that is elevated to HG status in my book. It comes off easily with a biphasic eye makeup remover. It does not irritate my sensitive eyes.

Both eyeliners are not available to me locally, which is a bummer. Kiss Me Heroine needs to be ordered from Asia and it takes a while (10+ days) to get to me via Sasa.com. I paid ~$12 for it, more if you factor in shipping. Geisha Ink, on the other hand, charges $30 with free shipping from Canada (takes about a week to get to me). I took off one lippie for Geisha Ink due to the price. But it's a wonderful product and I would not hesitate to buy again.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 1/29/2014 4:30:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Pros:
Easy to apply with the microfibre tip.
Very black.
Very precise and can be used for very fine or thicker lines depending on how you angle the tip.
Waterproof.
Great wear and comfort. No smudging or flaking.
Tip keeps its shape well.
Long lasting both on the eye and in the pen.

No cons

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/26/2013 2:32:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

By far the best liquid liner I've ever used. Luckily my local lash bar carries the entire geisha line. After reading the stellar reviews from mikmik90, I decided to invest in the brand. I've tried every liner from stila to kat Von d. This ones the best! Goes on easy, smooth and opaque and lasts all day. Love the brush tip (personally hate felt tips...yucks)! I can create the most beautiful cat eye, or tight line my lashes for a more natural look. Lasts all day, washes off with soap and water! Been using it everyday for over 2 months and its still going strong! Only downside is the tip sometimes needs cleaning because eyeshadow builds up. I just wipe it with some remover and its good as new. HG!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 4/10/2013 2:37:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

One of my most expensive eyeliners, brush doesn't dispense the eyeliner as well as I thought it would, but it really is smudge proof! But I don't think I can afford to keep buying it

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top