November 27, 2014 | 1463 users online

Eye Shadow - Clinique - Colour Surge Eyeshadow Soft Shimmer Champagne



image 0

rated 5.0(9 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 5.0
  • 100% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.2
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/12/2013 7:08:00 AM More reviews by bimini156

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Grey, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Love this e/s! I have been on the hunt for the perfect brow bone color and now have found two--both Clinique. This is extremely creamy and opaque. Usually I prime the eye with my Mac paint pot. Soft Ocher or Bare Study. Then a matte cream colored e/s all over from lash line to brow bone and then this Clinique shadow as a highlight. Then whatever crease color I feel like using that day. This is a go-to look for me. So happy I found this. The packaging is very pretty also. Will definitely be repurchasing this. Even though spending $15 on one e/s is unusual for me. My other favorite brow bone color is Clinique Super Shimmer in Daybreak. But that one has much more shimmer. I have only recently been exploring the Clinique brand and have not been disappointed in anything so far. See for yourself!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 10/12/2012 10:01:00 AM More reviews by athenasius

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Red, Curly, Fine Eyes: Green

I tried this in a split face experiment 3 times. It won out against the beige shimmer shadow every time. My eyes looked more open, wide awake and finished.


I wanted a neutral pale base with a little shimmer to light up my eye area without screaming glitter or made up eyes. Daytime neutral basic. It is perfect.


I have reactions to a lot of shimmery shadows but not this one. Clinique is helpful for my easily irritated allergic eyelids.


I'm older so it's helpful if the shimmer adds light without making my lids look like shiny lizard skin, with a lot of crepey bits. This does the trick. Enough to pull out of matte neutral territory and add light without adding more wrinkles!


If I pack it on in the really wrinkly hooded area it isn't good, but that is expected. The shimmer can be a bit much there so it's best in the lid, inner corner or brow bone area. I found no fallout from shimmer bits landing on my cheeks or elsewhere. Stays put nicely..


I liked an eye look from the Chanel ads using Lotus, and this did the same but for FAR LESS, and knowing how I react to some shadow ingredients, it didn't irritate which the Lotus would have.


It is also quite similar to my MAC Shroom but a little more refined. Shroom can be a little over the top shimmer, while this one just seems a bit more neutral in a polished way. Colour wise, the Shroom is a bit warmer, this is slightly cooler in tone. And Shroom sometimes irritates my lids, and this doesn't.


I have a lot of red in my eyelids and this didn't redden me further, in fact it gently erased a lot of it. The beige shimmer shadow in comparison left my eyes looking tired somehow, and slightly redder.


I also have oily hooded lids, which tend to "eat" shadow and crease them. It lasted all day, didn't crease and I've had it for 2 months now and love it.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/27/2011 8:38:00 PM More reviews by thoughtbubble

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I got this in an ROAK and almost expected to have just another color you can't even see on me BUT I was surprised! it is very pigmented and the shimmer is pretty w/o being glittery. I love it as a highlighter or all over the lid. When this runs out, I will purchase it :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/18/2010 8:51:00 PM More reviews by starberry237

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Other, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

This is almost a light champagne colour exactly like the name. It has great pigmentation and is a great base colour. I use it as a highlight or put it on the center of my lids with a darker brown colour in my crease for a neutral look. Its powdery and also has a slight shimmer. Definitely an essential eyeshadow i might pick up one for a gift too

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/9/2010 5:15:00 PM More reviews by Gittel

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other Eyes: Hazel

I love this product! Without any concealer or foundation around my eyes, with this eyeshadow they look brighter. It is an excellent color for highlighting your brow bone or just sweeping the color all over your lids. It goes really well with the color desert sun, also from Clinique. I use the desert sun color as a contour. I love the packaging for this product, there is a mirror on the inside and outside of this compact. It also comes with a sponge tip applicator. Although, some of the pigment gets on the mirror on the inside. Although it is a bit on the expensive side, I will definitely buy this product again!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/13/2010 3:54:00 PM More reviews by lovepotion18

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

This is my everyday brow bone highlighter. I wear it with every eyeshadow color I use, because it's just that perfect in my opinion. The shimmer does not translate onto the brow bone when I put this on. It's a beige color that isn't too obvious like some other brow bone highlighters. I would definitely repurchase if and when I ever run out of this. I use it everyday, but I still have so much left.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/14/2009 6:52:00 AM More reviews by snaplotus

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I purchased the Champagne shade a few days ago and I love it! It's the base shade I've been hunting for. As the other posters have mentioned, it's an effective all-over wash for the lids. Champagne is quite a good match for my super fair neutral skintone and I did not find it yellowing. The shimmer quantity is superbly balanced - the finish is neither matte crepe paper nor mirror-ball flashy.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/3/2009 11:18:00 AM More reviews by silkcut

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Clinique eyeshadows are fantastic performers, and this little beauty is no exception. Its a basic must have staple for every make up bag- it can be used as a brow highlighter, or a basic all over wash for a natural look.

As with all Clinique E/S's, I find it a dream to apply and long lasting- it even works well with the brush thats supplied if you're in a rush. Its soft and extremely blendable, and contains the faintest shimmer, nothing glaring or tacky.

Go buy!!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/19/2009 9:15:00 AM More reviews by Lizzy28

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

I really like Clinique Colour Surge Eyeshadows; they are soft, silky, unfragranced and they're fairly long-lasting. I have very sensitive eyes and Clinique eyeshadows are one of the few I'm able to tolerate.
I was using Chanel Lotus for an allover wash/base but learned about Clinique Champagne. Unfortunately this particular shade isn't being sold overhere so I got a CP. And isn't it a gorgeous colour! It's less peachy than Chanel Lotus and it really brightens up my eyes without being overly shimmery, just a soft glowy pale beige champagne shade. Like my lids but better. My new HG Champagne eyeshadow! Highly recommended.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No