November 28, 2014 | 1861 users online

Sunscreen - Bioderma - Photoderm AKN Mat SPF 40 PPD 26



image 0

rated 3.4(12 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.4
  • 66% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 11/19/2014 6:38:00 PM More reviews by neontom

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

This breaks my out, but far less then all the other sunscreens. Till I find I better one, I will be on this with my acne prone, oily skin.

This sinks in well after a while but is still shiny under my make up. Need lots of powder when I use it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/17/2013 1:06:00 PM More reviews by sherbyham

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Black

I've used this only a couple of times and have since stopped. It's leaves a white cast and that is a no-go for me as I wear it under my foundation. My pet peeve is a foundation colour that is noticeably lighter than my neck/chest. I bought it because most of my sunscreens can leave my face feeling a little oily and this promises a matt finish. The one I purchased was the Photoderm AKN Mat SPF 30.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/26/2012 7:51:00 AM More reviews by katsubrtova

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I've been using this sunscreen for 3 years already - I mean I rebuy it everysummer, since it's the only sunscreen which doesn't break me out. It is fabulous as it's really waterproof and it usually stays all day long.
I used to undergo some chemical peel procedures and after having them done it is necessary to protect your skin very well, otherwise you could get some nasty pigmentations....
As for pigmentations, I also do believe that this product actually helps to reduce them. After having put one layer of this I apply a very small amount of cream tosome old pigmentations so that they look whiter (I cover that slightly). I do this everytime I tan to get the most even skintone possible.
To sum it up, I highly recommend this thing and I will certainly carry on on buying it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 6/12/2012 6:57:00 AM More reviews by xxxxx2011

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Where I live, this product has been discontinued and replaced with AKN Mat spf 30 ppd 13 (with the exactly same ingredient list). Knowing how the spf 40 was, I am not surprised...
It left a very obvious white cast...seriously, if this one didn't leave a white cast on you, you can put almost every euro sunscreen and don't see any white cast. (I think my sunscreen from the 90s with >10% zinc oxide was as or less whitening than this.) It left streaks, definitely wasn't good to wear with makeup or when I planned to be seen by people. The "water-resistance" was weak and the fragrance was a bit strong for my liking.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/12/2012 4:36:00 AM More reviews by aydini

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

i have used this sunscreen only two times from a sample bottle. but i really liked the texture. i am using avene cleanance sunsreen now and i am in search for a better sunscreen for oily skin. i may purchase this product later on but still comparing it on my mind with SkinCeuticals sunscreen. so i have not decided yet but this is much cheaper and i generally trust BD products. the smell did not bother me, but i am not a sensitive person.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/13/2011 4:44:00 AM More reviews by integritybites

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This is great stuff. Probably one of my favourite sunscreens ever used. It's not dead matte but matte enough, once it sinks in, the slightly white cast disappears. There is a very slight fragrance but doesn't perturb me. Not much silicones and alcohol content too. Works well under makeup, does not cause streaking which certain sunscreens do.

My several gripes? S$43.80 for a 40ml tube in Singapore is pricey (French marketing director, are you reading this?). Discounts are as rare as a blue moon, so this makes the price very unattractive in comparison to other French/European sunscreens on sale here. It's not widely available as well. The tube + fliptop cap is ok but I'd prefer a packaging where I have to squeeze less.

Last I heard, they might be d/c this. Why?

Anyway, for Bioderma products, we can get them from French online sellers or stores with free shipping, so I'd recommend getting them online rather than in stores at overpriced Singapore.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/7/2010 4:14:00 AM More reviews by labubbla

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Black

Before I discovered that this sunscreen breaks me out, I have finished 3 tubes! I know, it was too late.

I broke out around my chin and neck when I was using this product.
Actually, I do never believe in a sunscreen that says "matte" cause, sunscreens can not be matte! But this is one of the most matte ss in the market, anyway, it didn't keep my face matte all day, onyl 1 hour!

the smell is strong, I prefer it not to be.And there is glycolic acid in it, which I can not understand why a sunscreen contains it.

I can not say it is the worst sunscreen but also not the best. Can work for someone else who do not have a sensitive skin.

Price is kind a same with other drugstore brands, avarage..

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/5/2010 1:45:00 PM More reviews by SugarFreeSheila

Age: Unknown Skin: Other, Other, Neutral Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I hit the jackpot with this SPF. First, a sunscreen having "great-ingredients, end-of-story" doesn't cut it for me - I want to leave my house looking presentable. No, actually I demand more than that: with any SPF I buy twice, I'm going to need a finish that commands two thumbs up upon nose-to-nose mirror inspection.

Here we have an extremely impressive PPD (UVA-filter) rating of 26 compared to the sunscreens we get in the U.S., which for reference is typically well under 10 at best. With Photoderm sunscreens, I tend to get some whitening & frying of the skin since I'm a Retin-A & glycolic acid user, so I'll opt for using it in the summer when I drop that regime & am sunless tanning. Well, this one lacks the whitening factor as well as the alcohol typical in the other Photoderm sunscreens. In other words, the AKN Mat SPF 40 goes on not only completely clear, but also has very minimal shine. That isn't it: there's no balling up of the product when applying makeup afterward. BIG deal to me.

Price point warning: this sunscreen currently goes for under $20 in Europe. Knowledge is power, so don't be price-gouged by Internet sellers trying to take advantage by listing it for $40+ a bottle.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/9/2009 5:10:00 PM More reviews by agnareqc

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

This is my summer sunscreen. While it doesn't dry my skin out, I find it's not moisturizing enough in winter. It doesn't contain alcohol (which is sadly in almost every other Photoderm product now), is pleasantly fragranced, and I find it doesn't clog pores. Also it doesn't give so much of a silicone glow many sunscreens have. While not strongly matifying, it leaves actual matte surface to work with - nice when doing make up, but even nicer when going au naturel. The SPF / PPD factors are barely acceptable, but perhaps if you're spending vast majority of daylight hours indoors, and you're not using any sunlight-sensitizing products, they it might suffice. For me, it's a give-and-take between sun protection, cosmetic performance and ingredient tolerance.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 8/14/2009 5:53:00 PM More reviews by RtiQlitQT

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Other

While this sunscreen is a bit more matte than Avene Emulsion Ultra High Protection for Sensitive Skin SPF 50+ PPD 20, I, myself, do not consider it matte, PLUS it broke me out in a very bad way! It also does give a bit of a white cast, too, which I am not crazy about. The fragrance is more faint and pleasant than the Avene, which is good (but like others, I would prefer NO fragrance).


Thankfully, I got a sample from Skincarecentral.com so that I am not out the big bucks. I tried this twice (3-day periods) and both times it caused major cystic-like blemishes. I do not have sensitive skin and have never had this reaction to anything on my face before. Ugh! The search for a matte, high PPD sunscreen, for me, an oily/normal combination skin gal, goes on...

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No