Boots Botanics Organic face hydrating day cream

4.3

10 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.6

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Aqua, Olive fruit oil*, Jojoba seed oil*, Sweet almond oil*, Glycerin*, Astrocaryum murumuru butter*, Shea butter*, Cetearyl glucoside, Beeswax*, Glyceryl stearate, Cetyl alcohol, Alcohol denat.*, Xanthan gum, Sodium benzoate, Potassium sorbate, Citric acid, Olibanum*, Orange oil*, Pelargonium graveolens flower oil*, Citronellol*, Limonene*, Geraniol* * = certified organic


on 4/13/2014 12:38:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I have the new version of this in the white jar. I bought this because it was cheap, and I admit I was also intrigued about trying something more natural. Its a thick white cream with the strong scent of rose (I'm not sure how I feel about the scent but I do like that it doesn't linger). The product has a strange texture and when applied it feels like its sitting on top of my skin and my skin feels dry and tight, no matter how much I use of it. It doesn't seem to sink into my skin or indeed nourish it and I find my skin has been dryer since using this, and consequently the redness of my cheeks has been worse and my skin looks dull and tired. Yet, my skin is combination and for the oiler parts of my face (cheeks and chin) I've been having trouble with clogged pores - the pores on my cheek in particular look huge since I've started using this. I think it just doesn't suit my skin. However for the price I paid I do not regret trying this. I really do like that boots are selling skincare with a focus on organic/natural ingredients for such a cheap price.



on 9/3/2013 6:53:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Love, love, love, love...did I mention love? :) I have finally found my HG daytime moisturizer. I have early 40's skin, that is dry and dehydrated. Amazingly this moisturizer lasts on me all day....I apply in the early AM (around 7:30) and I still feel supple skin at 5 pm. It's slightly sticky until it melts into your skin, but once it does, I'm thankful. A little bit goes a long way - spreads evenly as it is very thin. You can't beat the price (found mine at Target for $12.00). and I personally like the jar concept. Will definitely be repurchasing.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/1/2013 6:28:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

had been using clarins face creams for 25 years. switched it up for ren hydraglobal for a few months, then picked this cream up after much research and past exellent experiences with boots products. this cream is the perfect texture-not liquidity-not thick/heavy. blends in and my face feels like velvet. this cream in my opinion is a lower priced version of ren, however, with ren i had shinyness and with this cream the composition is just beautiful-face is not shiny and feels soft and moisturized for up to 10 hours. I work 12 hour shifts at night (RN) in a dry hot environment and my makeup is smooth and not greasy. I really love this cream. My face skin has been clear and bright. The ingredients in this cream are pure and gentle. I also have been using boots botanics cleansers which are superior to my high end brands. Really impressed! I'm a skincare junkie and study ingredients and formulations but the bottom line are results and my results with this cream and brand have been consistently exellent.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 2/4/2012 10:23:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I was so excited to find this at Target. After reading about the permeability of the skin to chemicals, I have tried to switch over to more natural products. This seemed to fit the bill after I ran out of my more expensive organic Duchess Marden rose cream. I've been using it now for almost 2 months, and my skin is the worst it's been in years. I have huge cysts all over my chin and lower cheeks, and my pores are clogging all over (even under my eyes). I've also been getting a lot of smaller comedones as well. You wouldn't believe the size of a few of the spots I've extracted, either! Ick!

Also, I end up oily by the end of the day, which I wouldn't expect for an oil-based moisturizer (usually oil based keep my face from producing any).

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/18/2011 2:23:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

This was an impulse purchase at Target, but I got really lucky. I LOVE this stuff. My skin was looking really, really dry and in just a few days, it looks significantly better. I have been using it day and night, only because I've run out of my regular night cream.

It's got a great, clean smell, absorbs easily and feels great. And it's not expensive. I'm moving on to other products in the Boots line because I like this so much!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 11/8/2010 10:07:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

My cheap face cream is a semi dupe for my Origins Mega Mushroom face cream. For less than $13 you get a good face cream for dry to very dry skin. It doesn't have much of a scent, smells a lot like my Origins cream though. Kind of citrus herbal. It sinks right into your skin and tight dry skin is relieved instantly. This isn't one of those face creams that just sits on the surface like a greasy mess. It absorbs and actually does it's job. Update: It's coming up on a year since I started using this cream. I used this in the fall and all winter, and soon I'll put it back into my routine. It never broke me out and never failed me. It also never stung my wind burned red skin. Just soothed it and kept it moisturized below the surface. I don't even look at other creams on the shelves because of this. Second update: This entire line has since been repackaged and reformulated. If you're lucky, you'll still find it in the original formula on Target shelves. It has to look like the pic above in a glass jar. If it's in a plastic jar with a flowery box, it's the new formula (which people say is far from the same).

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 9/13/2010 12:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I've only been using this product a few days, in conjunction with my CVS cold cream and Dickinson's Witch Hazel. I use this at night, instead of during the day (because I simply use Witch Hazel on a cotton pad in the morning), and I wake up to very soft, smooth skin.

This product does not break me out or make my face burn, and it actually has a somewhat soothing effect. A little goes a long way, so only use a small amount. It doesn't absorb quite as quickly as I would wish, but it's a really good, basic moisturizer. I really appreciate that it doesn't contain any parabens or other nasty chemicals.

UPDATE: It's been a couple of weeks, and I LOVE this cream! It's so soft and comforting and hasn't broken me out.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/14/2010 8:41:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Grey

Good moisturizer, but not quite moisturizing enough for my dry face. Works well on the body, though. Scent is a little too strong for my liking, but pleasant. Very good ingredients at a very reasonable price. Nice frosted glass jar with metal lid.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/17/2009 11:10:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I was put off by Boots for a long time...thought it was a cheap brand and not of the quality I was used to. These are such basic products, and I have to remember that. The cleansers clean, and the moisturizers moisturize...no anti-aging going on here. Great to use for the daily care of the skin. Good quality, great prices.

The previous reviewer was right...this is full of superb organic oils with some emulsifiers thrown in to make a cream. Very basic, yet a very potent moisturizer. This keeps a protective film over my skin which makes it soft and protected all day. I put all the "actives" underneath this, and then lock them in with this day cream. It's really perfect. I guess I should also note that this product is probably best for dryer skins, although I have combo skin and it works fine, especially in the colder weather.

If I had bought this cream in a health-food store, it would have cost at least twice as much. And nothing else this natural can be found in a drug-store, as most drug-store products are made of cheap chemicals. The Day Cream is a deal (and a steal)!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 7/6/2009 11:07:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I love this cream! I have oily/flaky skin, and had heard that putting oil on your skin helps reduce oil over production; this cream has olive, jojoba, sweet almond oils plus shea and murumuru butters, all within the first seven ingredients. It is fairly sticky when first applied, but dries to a matte finish after I put on my Shiseido spf 55 over it. I can go all 12 hours at work without any shine, and my face stays super soft. Will definitely repurchase, I also use the Boots Botanics light night cream with rosemary, which is also great.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Moisturizers


Strobe Cream
Strobe Cream
441 Reviews
Magic Cream
Magic Cream
33 Reviews
Sweet Almond Oil
Sweet Almond Oil
200 Reviews
Moisturizing Cream
Moisturizing Cream
1283 Reviews
Back to Top