April 18, 2014 | 1480 users online

Sunscreen - Eucerin - Sun Fluid Mattifying SPF 50+



image 0

rated 3.3(18 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.3
  • 55% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.6
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 7/17/2013 7:24:00 AM More reviews by mybfsaysno

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

I gave 5 points to all aspects as this sunscreen deserves it.

The price is cheaper than my HG sunscreen La Roche-Posay Anthelios XL SPF 50+ Extreme Fluid (I'd rate this a 4 in general and 4 in Pricing). It is much, very much cheaper than the Sisley Super Ecran Solaire Visage SPF 50+ that I'm using right now (why I bought it? Long story.) So, I'm happy with the price (it's 1,200 baht or about USD38.70 here in Thailand). This sunscreen is 50ml so it's really good value to me.

The packaging is cute and I don't mind packaging that much in general as long as prints don't dissolve to my hands when they're oily.

Wear: I hope I don't gross you guys out but some days I work at home and I don't need to take a shower in the morning (just get up, go to the computer room and start with work). One time I had to go get some groceries at a local 7/11, I just decided to drive off without taking a shower but I applied this sunscreen on my face before I went out as I am always careful before I go under the sun. I noticed my face was very oily before I applied this sunscreen (I guess it's because I didn't wash my face) but what's surprising to me is that I touched my face when I was getting stuff at 7/11, I could feel that there's no greasy feeling on my face. It felt like my face stopped producing oil completely. It was a great surprise. So, this sunscreen isn't greasy on my face unlike the La Roche-Posay (I still love it very much though) and the Sisley one (I won't repurchase this one).

So, I'd definitely repurchase the Eucerin Sun Fluid Mattiying SPF 50+ as I am very happy using it and it works very well on my face. I'm a happy customer!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 6/7/2013 3:48:00 PM More reviews by franzvonstuck

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I stumbled upon this product as I got a sample in the pharmacy. I need to wear sunscreen every day as I have a melasma and am prone to pigment spots, but a good sunscreen is hard to find.
My skin is basically combo with a dehydrated oily t-zone and oily to normal cheeks. I also have seborrheic dermatitis, which is why I have to be careful, what kind of products I put on my skin. The wrong product causes my dermatitis to flare.
The Eucerin sun fluid comes in a small bottle white bottle with an orange cap.
If you´re familiar with water based foundations: The texture is very much like the texture of water based foundations alas you have to give the bottle a good shake before you open the bottle.
The consistency is runny, liquid and slightly yellow coloured, but colourless when applied on my face. It has no obvious or unpleasant smell and literally melts into the skin when you apply it.
I usually cleanse and moisturize my face, then shake the bottle and apply a decent amout of the fluid. Please, use enough of the sun fluid and don´t try to use only a tiny amount.
I work fast to spread it as it is so runny and melts into the skin. When I´m done, it´s invisible and leaves a velvety smooth finish on my skin and no white cast. I follow with MAC face and body fondation, which is again water based and it works brilliantly under my foundation, because the textures are very alike.
On weekends, I wear no make up and still, the sun fluid is invisible on my skin while giving me a velvety smooth finish. My skin looks surprisingly good without make up when I wear this sunscreen. It acts like a "photoshopping " sunscreen for my skin.
My face gets oily in the t-zone throughout the day, either with or without this sunscreen. Many people vote this down because it´s not mattifying and I think it´s not very good from Eucerin to claim this as mattifying. The claim just distracts from the fact that this is a very good and cosmetically elegant sunscreen which performs very well under foundation.
My skin is very sensitive and during a flare of my dermatitis, wearing suncreen can be problematic. But my skin likes this sunscreen very much, meaning it doesn´t upset or irritate my skin or makes me break out.
I wear it every day and have to say I like it very much. My former sunscreen was Kiehls daily uv defense, which is much more expensive. But I will switch to this as it is cheaper, better for my sensitive skin and has a good finish on my skin.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/20/2013 6:03:00 PM More reviews by AnetteKelly

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

It's runny. Yellow/white color. It feels smooth and comfortable when I put it on, and it does't irritate my skin and I have sensitive skin.

When I apply a thin layer, I get a matte result, and it works as a primer; makes my pores look smaller. When I put on a really thick layer, my face looks a bit pale, and like as if I have just put on moisturizer. Not so matte. But still not oily looking. Other SPF 50 creams, such as Biz, looks all white and really oily.

I had oily skin when I was younger, and I don't think this product would have done the job of making my skin look matte back then.

I would say this product is not mattfying. It's just NOT oily or cakey as ordinary SPF 50 lotions are. It makes my skin look natural, it makes it look the way it does when I have no makeup or creams on.

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/19/2013 12:14:00 PM More reviews by vuvie

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Medium Eyes: Brown

I've decided to try this after my HG sunscreen (physiogel AI sunscreen) stopped selling in Singapore.

Didn't sting, didn't break out on my eczema skin. No eczema flareup. Ok good.

Not mattifying as it claims but I can handle that with foundation powder.


Composition:
Aqua, Cyclomethicone, Octocrylene, Butylene Glycol, Dicaprylate Dicaprate, Glycerin, Butyl Methoxydibenzoylmethane, Methylpropanediol, Bis-Ethylhexyloxyphenol Methoxyphenyl Triazine, Homosalate, Butyrospermum Parkii Butter, Polyamide-5, Lauroyl Lysine, Polymethylsilsesquioxane, Titanium Dioxide, Alcohol Denat., Ethylhexyl Salicylate, Phenylbenzimidazole Sulfonic Acid, Glycyrrhiza Inflata Root Extract, Tocopheryl Acetate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Cetyl PEG/PPG-10/1 Dimethicone, VP/Hexadecene Copolymer, Trimethoxycaprylylsilane, Trisodium EDTA, BHT, Phenoxyethanol, Ethylparaben, Methylparaben.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/27/2012 2:52:00 PM More reviews by ButterFlo

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

For once I am actually happy I DIDN'T read the reviews before buying. This actually works fantastic for my skin! I was recommended this product by a pharmacist who said it would sink into the skin well and leave a matte effect. I use this as a daytime moisturiser and it's lovely. My skin does become dewy throughout the day, but I don't get super greasy. Just perfect! Definitely HG material.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/26/2012 11:21:00 AM More reviews by shira81

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other Eyes: Blue

I think it's the most mattifying of all the sunscreens I've tried, I've had everything from Vichy - Clarins. So yeah I'm pleasantly surprised, that said we haven't had any real sunny/hot days yet, so it's up to proof to see how it works when I sweat.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/18/2012 2:40:00 AM More reviews by biancab16

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Not a great product. Definitely not mattifying - still leaves you with that sunscreen sheen which I don't like. Am going to try something else and use this on the rest of my body so as to not waste it.

Feels sticky and heavy on my face - not great at all. Will not buy again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/4/2011 6:07:00 PM More reviews by xxxxx2011

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This product is ridiculous...it leaves my face VERY VERY SHINY. I can't imagine this working on anyone. I find amusing that this product is called "mattifying fluid", because it has ZERO mattifying properties...I tried about 30 sunscreens and this is by far the worst of them! To make things worst, I had a bad reaction to this product. When I apply it, I feel a burning sensation on my skin...that keeps getting worse and worse. After a couple of hours, I have to remove it.

The only good thing about this product is that doesn't leave a white cast...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/5/2011 1:46:00 PM More reviews by idiewmil

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

pros:
- stable sunscreen that can last all day without reapplying
- doesn't leave a white tint

cons:
- extremely greasy and because of it i find it difficult to apply the full amount required for a full-day uv protection
- pretty pricey (in singapore)

overall:
pretty okay sunscreen with decent uv protection. it is definitely not mattifying and remains greasy/shiny on my skin after 20 minutes. however, the shine can be easily removed by blotting my face with tissue paper followed by buffing on pressed powder. i probably won't repurchase as i want to try out other sunblocks.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/19/2011 2:06:00 PM More reviews by Overload

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Medium Brown, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Black

I have combination/oily skin and a brown/medium skintone (NC40), and I was looking for a mattifying sunscreen that doesn't leave a white cast, with a high SPF.
I though this product might be my holy grail sunscreen, but it doesn't completely fulfill its promises. It isn't mattifying and it leaves a slight, minimal white cast on my face (but this may have something to do with my skintone because a white cast is more apparent on brown skin). However, it isn't as greasy as other sunscreens I have used and doesn't irritate my skin. The (greasy) shine can be avoided with a little powder.

It's an "okay" sunscreen, definitely worth a try if you are looking for a high sunscreen that doesn't leave a white cast or is super greasy, but not a "perfect" one!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No