October 21, 2014 | 2024 users online

Cleansers - Shiseido - The Skincare Rinse-Off Cleansing Gel



image 0

rated 4.1(10 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.1
  • 80% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 7/26/2013 3:27:00 AM More reviews by kismis

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This cleansing gel pours out like a slightly viscous liquid and smells slightly floral and clean. I like the curved bottle shape as I find that its stylish and also easy to grip the bottle. It is also a squeeze bottle with a small hole at the top so you can quite easily control the amount you want. I have travelled with this full-sized flip-top bottle (it can stand upright in my large toiletries bag though) and have not experienced any leakage.

I apply it all over my face and love massaging it into my face as it feels like a soft gel gently melting into my face. Very luxurious.
After massaging it in, I wash with water to emulsify it and it gets most of my light day makeup (ie powder foundation) and sunblock off. I have also used (more of) it to take off a harder-wearing liquid foundation like my Giorgio Armani Luminous Skin Foundation.

It does not, however, wash off mascara and eye makeup so well. I don't usually wear the hard-wearing Japanese mascaras but it does take quite a bit of massaging in to remove my regular non-waterproof Lancome mascara and even then, when I wipe my eyes, there will be some residue on the tissue. You should use a separate bi-phase eyes/lips remover before using the gel cleanser.

I have reached for this more often than my DHC cleansing oil of late though. The cleansing oils tend to clean off all the makeup really well (including eye makeup) but prolonged use does strip down your face too much.

This Shiseido Cleansing Gel definitely feels more luxurious, smells a lot cleaner and fresher (a friend says DHC cleansing oil reminds her too much of cooking oil) and leaves my face feeling more hydrated, smooth and soft.

It was very expensive in Switzerland at about 58CHF (approx. USD62/SGD77) but I got my 2nd full-sized 200ml bottle dutyfree at the Singapore airport for just SGD38. Pretty affordable (cheaper than the DHC from drugstores) and hence, definitely repurchasing.
Am now wanting to try the rest of Shiseido's The Skincare range.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 8/5/2012 4:55:00 PM More reviews by hilalistanbul

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Is it okay if I use this cleanser gel to remove my eye and lip make up??

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/2/2012 8:57:00 PM More reviews by yoyo1

Age: 36-43 Skin: Other, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I bough this cleansing gel at HK airport. Since I m using their whitening cleaning form so I try the make up remover. This is an excellent cleansing gel better texture than cleansing oil and also remove my make up totally. GOOD!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 1/13/2012 7:09:00 PM More reviews by espnn76

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

Can't use in the shower b/c it literally has the consistency of WATER. Also broke out into cystic acne. Scent is horrible as well.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/18/2010 6:23:00 AM More reviews by Rionach

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I don't use this in conjunction with any other cleansers to be honest don't see the need. I use this as my daily cleanser after I've used eye makeup remover, disperse a little into my hand (yes it is runny therefore you have to move quickly) massage onto my dry face, remove with damp cleansing sponge then finally splash face with water. Skin is not dry as I've found with some other foaming cleansers and all trace of makeup and stubborn zinc oxide sunscreen are removed... to test I sometimes use toner on cotton wool and so far have never have any residual make-up on this. I am extremely happy with this cleanser, and the proof is no breakouts as I've experienced before because of the sunscreen, not all cleansers get this off completely and I noticed I was getting some breakouts, since I've started using this I haven't had any. Excellent product would highly recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 4/8/2010 8:20:00 PM More reviews by Adriana265

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

Good oil cleanser - removes all my surface makeup in preperation for my regular cleanser. Hydrates my skin and doesn't cause any irritation. However, it is quite strongly fragranced and pretty pricey. Still, I'd repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/16/2010 4:52:00 AM More reviews by thebonita

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

My skintype: Very sensitive & reactive, acne/clog-prone.

I find that this cleanser doesn't really clean well. I usually test the efficacy of a cleanser by wiping my face with a micellar afterwards. This cleanser was inefficient in removing my Revlon Colorstay foundation. It's probably better suited for the AM when you don't really need deep cleansing.

I find the consistency of this cleanser to be quite annoying...it's way to runny and liquid-like. When I dispense some into the palm of my hand, it starts dripping, so you have to dispense some more....then I apply it on my face and try to massage it in, but then suddenly it's as if it evaporated and there's just water on my skin so again, I dispense some more....easy to run out of this quickly!

I'm also not too fond of the fragrance. It has an interesting fragrance that, when combined with water, gives off a really weird smell!

Having said that, this cleanser doesn't irritate my very reactive skin, doesn't clog me or dry my skin out.


Packaging: 200 ml (6.7 fl.oz). bottle with a flip top.


The ingredients for this cleanser can't be found anywhere online so I had to type this, copied from the box:

WATER - PEG-8 GLYCERYL ISOSTEARATE- CYCLOMETHICONE- CETYL ETHYLHEXANOATE- BUTYLENE GLYCOL- DIPROPYLENE GLYCOL- PEG-20 GLYCERYL ISOSTEARATE- ALCOHOL DENAT.- SODIUM CITRATE- FRAGRANCE (PARFUM)- CITRIC ACID- BHT- DISODIUM EDTA.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/5/2009 12:32:00 PM More reviews by mu5icbtch

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm Hair: Brunette, Other, Medium Eyes: Green

I'm writing a new review for this cause I've changed my mind drastically as to how I feel about it.

I have combo (oily t zone, normal cheeks) acne-prone sensitive skin for reference. Since my Doctor put me on prozac again, I'd been breaking out badly. My skin always breaks out when I take prozac! Anyway, this rinse off gel in conjunction with my HG cleanser have made my skin clear once again.


I use this before taking off my makeup - simply moisten my face and apply some of this on, massage it in for 30 seconds and then use my cleanser in the shower. It makes me use less of my cleanser, which can sometimes be drying in these winter months.


It's very moisturizing on the skin. It won't leave you feeling stripped or dry. It melts my makeup off so I only have to use a tiny blob of cleanser. Packaging is nice and simple....product is a liquid-gel type and the bottle will last you a pretty decent amount of time. It's quite expensive but worth it IMO. Doesn't break me out either. Definatly try this if you have the cash!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/2/2009 7:09:00 AM More reviews by michybabe

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I CAN'T BELIEVE HOW THERE AREN'T MORE PEOPLE RAVING OVER THIS!

This is an amazing cleanser. I repeat, AMAZING. Especially for people who suffer from dry skin.

Long gone are the days of torturing your skin with foaming cleansers that strip your skin barren. Long gone are the days of oil cleansers that still manage to dry you out.

This gel cleanser smells great and leaves my skin super moisturized afterwards! I hate having to always slap on mosturizer after using a cleanser, but with this gel I just take my time... Go on facebook, watch Family Guy and THEN put on my moisturizer.

The product is a liquid-gel-like transparent mix. It does not leave any leftover film or grease. It is not harsh at all on your skin. Super gentle and super suitable for combination/sensitive/dry skin.

Note: Do not use this product as a makeup remover. It would be ideal to use an oil based makeup remover first, and then use this to clean off the remains and leftover oily film.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/11/2009 7:33:00 PM More reviews by Ania_Wang

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I bought this cleansing gel in Korean airport recently. I was originaly intending to buy cleansing oil from Estee Lauder. But then, I decided to try something new.
Finally, I love this stuff more the cleansing oil. This stuff is something like gel-oil, so the texure is really nice. It remoes the make-up up from face and eyes very fast and very well.

Is this review helpful? Yes No