October 30, 2014 | 1677 users online

Eye Makeup Remover - Boots - Essentials Eye Make-up Remover



image 0

rated 4.6(8 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.6
  • 87% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 4/4/2012 7:08:00 AM More reviews by emtave

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

My HG eye makeup remover. It is thick enough to sit on the pad or the fingertips for application, it is fragrance free, and it works brilliantly. I use a minimum of a couple of pads for each eye, and follow with my usual cleanser (Embryolisse). A staple in my bathroom cabinet - I've never found a better one. Does exactly what it says on the tin!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/7/2011 1:39:00 PM More reviews by cocofabulous

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

HG Eye Makeup Remover! Works better than anything else I've tried - some of which were literally 10 times the price - and is cheap as chips. Looooove this stuff!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/4/2011 7:25:00 PM More reviews by Rhiannon1991

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

ABSOLUTELY LOVE this eye make-up remover! It's amazing, put it on a cotton pad and gently hold it on my eyes for 30 seconds (not really necessary but it helps when wearing waterproof mascara) and vuala clean eyes! Very little rubbing needs to be done with this product. People who complain about its slightly oily consistency are being picky because the process of cleansing the face involves eye make-up removal first therefore any residue left behind will be removed by your regular cleanser! I'd rather that than use a product that feels like I'm dragging my skin around. Its is less than 2 to buy and I've used it for years! I will say one thing, try not to get it directly in your eyes because anyone with highly sensitive eyes like me will feel the sting (but no worse than anything else I've used though). I HIGHLY recommend this product, so cheap yet so effective!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 2/8/2011 3:18:00 PM More reviews by oonaghst

Age: 44-55 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is one of the best eye makeup removers I have ever used, and the cheapest. It removes everything very quickly and easily and hasn't caused any irritation. Love it!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/1/2010 12:51:00 PM More reviews by nakeeyark

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is a review for Boots Essentials Fragrance Free Eye Make Up Remover Lotion, which I believe is the same product. This is such a wonderful eye makeup remover. I usually use liquids, but because I've noticed myself doing a fair bit of tugging when wiping, I decided to switch to a lotion instead. This eye makeup remover is a slightly watery lotion that does feel a bit greasy, but I think that's what helps to make sure that I rub, instead of tug, at my eyelids when i apply it. I simply use a pea-sized amount for each eye, spend about 15 seconds rubbing it in, and then wipe off with a cotton pad. This cuts through everything, including stubborn waterproof mascara, without irritating my contact lenses. Because of its slight greasiness, I do recommend washing your face afterward. It cost me 1.39 GBP for a 150 ML bottle ($2.18 for just over 5 oz), which is ridiculously cheap. A definite rebuy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/27/2010 7:01:00 AM More reviews by Caty_23

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

I have tried many different eye make-up removers, both expensive and cheap, and have found this to be the best (and the cheapest!) and the one I always come back to.


The remover itself is a thick and very creamy lotion, though I don't find it to be greasy at all. I squeeze a fairly generous amount onto a round cotton pad and this is enough to cleanse both eyes. One swipe over each eyelid removes even long-lasting eyeshadow, and I work the cream a little more over eyelashes to remove mascara. I wear waterproof mascara every day and this remover gets rid of all brands without leaving smudges. Granted, some mascaras take a little more work than others to remove, but I never have to rub excessively, rather just massage the cream into my lashes with the cotton pad, then wipe away.


This remover does not leave any greasy residue afterwards and has never irritated my eyes or left the surrounding skin feeling dry or tight. The remover has no fragrance or colour to it. One bottle lasts quite a long time, so it is very good value for money. I have repurchased this several times already and will continue to do so.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 2/13/2010 2:34:00 PM More reviews by BlondeWithBrains

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Yay: Leaves skin soft, gentle on eyes
Nay: Too oily, not very effective
This product is brilliant in the sense that it won't irritate your eyes, and is fragrance free. However, part of the reason why it won't irritate is because it barely gets rid of make-up at all. It does condition nicely, and does leave your eyelids feeling very soft, but it also leaves a horrible greasy feeling on your skin. I felt like I was smearing oil on my face, which I didn't feel comfortable with, especially with my skin's tendency to break out in spots. It means I have to wash my face afterwards to get rid of the greasiness. I've also found I have to wash my face with my usual face wash to get rid of most of my eye make-up before I use the eye make-up remover itself, else it just takes too long to remove it all. Not impressed. Sadly mother's forgotten I don't like it, and has bought me two bottles..

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/26/2009 7:03:00 PM More reviews by Itisred

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I LOVE this product and can't believe I'm the first to review this little gem. As the name suggests this is a part of the Boots "Essentials" range of skin care (aka cheap and basic). It is a rich unscented lotion that, according to the bottle, is fragrance free, vitamin enriched and promises to remove all types of eye make-up including waterproof. I wear contact lenses and have fairly sensitive eyes when it comes to removers. This lotion is brilliant! It gently removes lashings of my L'Oreal Double Extension Beauty Tubes mascara that allegedly only comes off with warm water - (I have never found another eye make-up remover that will get it off and didn't think it was possible to use anything other than warm water). Essentials also dissolves the toughest eyeliner, eyebrow pencil and all kinds of shadow - cream, powder and pigment with little effort and no irritation. It leaves the eyelids softly cleansed, without a greasy residue and no morning after "panda eyes". All in all a brilliant product that does exactly what it says on the bottle for the amazing price of 1.46 for 150ml!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No