Philosophy Red Velvet Cake

4.2

9 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 12/30/2010 5:57:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Nasty!! I swapped for this and then tried it. Not anything like Red Velvet cake, smells chocolatey but not like Red Velvet. It also has a strange taste not sweet and almost like PlayDoh to me. NOT what I expected at all.

I just got the Bath and Body works Red Velvet cake and THAT one is awesome, tastes sweet and like it.



on 11/18/2010 3:33:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Love philosophy's Red Velvet Scent. Not a huge fan of the fingertip application and the slight stickiness. Would repurchase for the yummy scent and sweet flavor, as well as the rosy shine it adds to my lips.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/22/2010 12:55:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I bought this back around the holidays but just now pulled it out of my makeup drawer.

Tasty and sweet... ahhhh. Not particularly pigments, but adds a nice hint of red. Not long lasting etiher, but it tastes great so no biggie. I might add a little liner and lipstick for a night out, though.


on 1/25/2010 10:37:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Totally addictive - smells like a freshly baked chocolate cupcake right under my nose when I have it on. Lovely colour - shows up on my lips as a nice red with a slight brown tint. Need to reapply during the day, but so yummy that it's hardly a chore!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

My favourite lip treat of all. Snapped up in a mad dash around a Sephora in Boston two years ago, I bought one for me and two more for my girlfriends. And now I've squeezed out the last drop and I shed a little tear every morning. Whenever I wore it my little boy would say "Mummy, you smell like chocolate!". Maybe then it's a sentimental thing but I also adore the colour and texture and the super-cute Christmas packaging. Look, we're not talking amazing staying-power or anything like that. It is what it is - a little pick-me-up on a freezing winter's day, and God knows we've had a hell of a lot of those in London in recent weeks. When I win the lottery I will buy the Philosophy company just to make sure I won't run out of this!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 11/1/2009 12:09:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

This lip gloss tastes exactly like red velvet cake, and it feels lovely on my lips--not sticky at all. To make the color work as well (it's not particularly pigmented), I put on a basic dark red lipstick underneath the gloss. Lovely.


on 9/2/2009 10:20:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Yummy!


on 8/25/2009 7:31:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I like the applicator, the amount of shine, the sheer color, and the lastability. I was disappointed with the scent since it's not different from the s'mores line. It's just a chocoately smell that was just like the body wash, the white gloss, and the hand lotion 3 pk. that came out for the holidays. How can you name 4 products all different things, yet they all smell the same? I know that's a silly thing to be bothered about, but I was disappointed with the smell only because I wanted something different. Luckily, that's the only thing. It's a great gloss for just a hint of color.


on 5/20/2009 8:38:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I got this as part of a set called "Fresh from the oven" along with red velvet cake lip gloss and vanilla cake lip gloss.
This is a deep cool red in the tube, it is quite sheer, but of the 3 it has does add colour to the lips, and it is sheer cool red, which works really well for me. The gloss is quite sticky, but I like that, I feel that it makes the gloss last and "stick" onto the lips through a drink and a snack which it does with ease.
I have never heard of red velvet cake - not something widely known in the UK, but I am reliably informed that it is a sort of chocolate cherry and that is what it smells and tastes like to me.
I have never been tempted by the taste and smell of a lip gloss alone and am deeply put off Lancome's (name escapes me at the moment) and prefer tasteless and scentless, but this does smell delicious and a tastes delicious too.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Lip Glosses


Lip Lover
Lip Lover
15 Reviews
Gloss Volupte
Gloss Volupte
29 Reviews
Back to Top