October 25, 2014 | 1794 users online

Conditioner - Kevin Murphy - Luxury Rinse



image 0

rated 4.3(8 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 75% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.9
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/18/2014 11:22:00 PM More reviews by SimplePleasures

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Blue

I really like this conditioner, it makes my hair very soft and I love the smell (I'm a sucker for anything coconutty). Compared to the KM Hydrate.Me rinse, this one is definitely a little more nourishing and softening, and I prefer the smell. Interestingly the Hydrate.Me has a thicker texture than Luxury- Luxury is a bit runnier and spreads more easily through the hair. With Hydrate.Me I diluted it a little bit in my palm with water (see my review for that product for more details), and with Luxury I don't really need to do that. However, this does mean that I actually end up using a bit more of the Luxury rinse than I would with the Hydrate.Me rinse. Nevertheless, a little still goes a long way and you do not need a lot of product to get the job done. Overall the product has a really nice texture.

I have paired this both with the matching wash and with LUSH Fairly Traded Honey shampoo. I prefer the LUSH shampoo and find that these products work well together (and the scents don't clash either).

This product has kept my hair really healthy and lasted a long time. I'm on my second bottle of it. I would continue to buy again, but after I finish this bottle I am probably going to experiment with a different conditioner for a while, to see if I can find something comparable for less money. It's good to know this product is available to return to. The only real downside is the price.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/10/2013 2:27:00 AM More reviews by freezer

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

My hair is coloured and I blow dry it a couple of time a week. It is pretty dry and needs all the moisture it can get. Although this is an expensive product in my country, I would repurchase. My hair is softer and less dry than with other conditioners - KMS, L'Oreal Prof, Bangstyle - and a little goes a long way. Love the smell, too.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/11/2013 6:51:00 PM More reviews by amygirl3540

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

I have tried numerous HE hair products and struggle mostly with finding a conditioner that my hair likes. I've tried several kerastase products and those weren't right or me. I've tried red ken, biolage, neuma, aveda, tigi/bed head, pureology and the list goes on...I love Kevin Murphy's luxury rinse. My stylist said not rinse it all out...leave a little in...and that makes a big difference. I really like this conditioner - how it feels, smells, and how nice and de tangled and not weighed down or waxy my hair feels after. Have repurchased. Yes it's pricey but it lasts me awhile.

UPDATE 11/16/13: I went to repurchase this for the 3rd time and the salon I went to was no longer carrying KM, so I decided to try the new line they started carrying, which is O&M (Original Mineral) and was VERY pleasantly surprised with how nice the products are (also from Australia) and very similar to Kevin Murphy. I would say the O&M Hydrate & Conquer is comparable to KMs Luxury Rinse, except KM has a more hippie scent and O&M is warmer and nuttier like vanilla almost. I will continue to use O&M and see if I decide to repurchase KM or switch over to O&M.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/7/2011 1:10:00 AM More reviews by imperfectly_lou

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I purchased this shampoo and its matching conditioner last week. I have extremely thick, coarse, highlighted hair and have almost given up finding a good shampoo/conditioner combo that will add moisture and reduce frizz. So far, I am very impressed with the Luxury Wash. It's very concentrated so you only need a small amount, smells divine and leaves my hair very soft and squeaky clean! Fingers crossed this is the ONE!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/10/2010 1:50:00 PM More reviews by joeyemma

Age: Unknown Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I am underwhelmed by this product. I don't find it that moisturising at all. I don't like the smell either, it smells a bit toilet cleanery.

I have a love hate relationship with the packaging. I love the rectangular bottle, that is space saving, and I love how more than one bottle neatly stacks together. On the downside, I find it an awkward shape to squeeze out the prduct.

Overall I would much prefer to stick to Biolage Conditioning Balm or The Body Shop Honey Conditioner. Both are much more moisturising, cone free, better scented and a fraction of the price.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/30/2010 11:42:00 PM More reviews by slidinstop

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This review is for the Kevin Murphy HYDRATE-ME.WASH (wasn't listed in choices to select).

I have been using this conditioner (and the shampoo) for the last three weeks and I am in absolute LOVE. I previously had been using Pureology for the last year and thought I'd never find anything I like better. The Hydrate-Me.Rinse is complete ecstacy for my hair. It's nourishing, devoid of unnecessary chemicals and I have absolutely no issues with any sort of build up or oily issues at the end of wearing 2nd day hair.

The health and shine of my hair is amazing and I truly didn't think my hair, while color treated and very well taken care off, cut every 6 weeks like clockwork could feel any better than it did, which was already pretty amazing, was amplified x10 with these products...

I have used Bumble and Bumble, Aveda, TiGi and a plethora of other shampoos out there and NONE of them can hold a candle to the Kevin Murphy... LOVE IT!!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 9/10/2009 11:28:00 PM More reviews by ifthe

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I don't often have use for very intensive conditioners as I ony use demi-permanent haircolor and rarely blow dry or heat style, but unfortunately I developed an awful case of Seborrheic Dermatitis (never had dandruff before in my life...weird!), and had to use a 7 day course of perscription Nizoral dandruff shampoo to get it under control. Needless to say, the shampoo and daily washings wreaked havok on my 3A (curly, fine hair but lots of it) hair. Without this, I don't think I would've left the house!
Despite being quite emollient, it never left build up on my hair and did an impeccable job of smoothing my tormented locks. Smells lovely as well, just like a bottle of orange flower water.
Great stuff for damaged or very course hair types.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 4/22/2009 12:47:00 PM More reviews by WindyCityGirl

Age: 30-35 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

At first scent this overwhelmed me, I mean it is a super strong earthy smell, a hippy smell to me; which I hate-

Yet I gave it a try, it did work the first couple of times then it just felt like it was way too much on my hair-The conditioner is super thick, thicker than pudding-

It detangles fairly nice but my hair smells like this product until I wash it again, not cool-I am going to stop using it actually and try something else or go back to Kerastase-

My hair really looks and feels no different when I'm using sulfate "green" products-This stuff just stinks so bad and is way too heavy-

As well it is the only product that made me break out around my neck, back, and hair line-I only use it from neck down and take the left over residue and put it on the sides where I have some long bangs, all in those areas I've had little bumps that last month, since I started using the product-It seems to leave a film on my skin, imagine the film on my hair, so this is a no go-I tried it for a month but it's not good-

Is this review helpful? Yes No