Quantum Riveting Reds Color Replenishing Shampoo/Conditioner

3.3

11 reviews

63% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/2/2015 7:28:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This really faded my newly dyed red hair. I only used it once. I was shocked to see so much red in the shower because the previous 2 post-color washings I used As I am co wash in the tub and it didn't make that much dye come out. This product was so drying I could feel the color being sucked out of it :( I used ion demi permanent in Light Burgundy Blonde. Great color, but I think I need to add the Colorful Red Red protein filler with my color and redye it. And leave it on longer. This product is extremely drying, and now my hair has that trashy faded look. Parts are more orangey and I guess my dry ends soaked up the color because they didn't fade so it's pretty uneven. I thought this would be more color- depositing.. maybe I haven't used it long enough? I see that it has Sodium Laureth Sulfate as a main ingredient so I think this is what strips the color out. A red shampoo should not have sulfates I think. I am very disappointed I spent like 8$ on this from Sally's. I will return it and try just using the conditioner to gauge how well that works. I also might strictly use the As I Am brand of co-wash in the tub, because it's 1000x more moisturizing. Some girls can handle 'tougher' shampoos but as an avid colorer I can't. :(



Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

It's good, I only use the shampoo though, it works good I guess, it's quite conditioming kinda like a miracle in a bottle, it makes my fading red turn red-orange, and in tact, not so oily, I use this once weekly other-wise garnier fructis (damage eraser) and fall-flight and loreal replenishing volume five. I wish that there was still some kinda4henna in it, I baught this at sallys because so many youtube tutourials I saw people using it so it must be somewhat good, also I leave it in in the shower for two minutes and sometimes rarely the conditioner for two minutes too also. My hair is still fading and its Feb of 2015 and I'll be for a re-do for Salon touch -ups in April of 2015. The loreal helps the oiliness daily, and riveting reds helps keep the colour locked in, maybe I shoukd try henna, if I dye my hair red in te box, it would be pointless using this because it inly last two weeks what a waste of money and turn bright greasy orange ewwww, not a pretty goloden orange , so I'll continue use. Four lippies fory ou riveting reds yay me. Also I should of purchased the bigger than 10ounces bottle, I should go back to the store for more.


on 6/4/2014 1:29:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

This is a really good color depositing shampoo and conditioner for red hair. I got these on sale at Sally's for $15.00 dollars for two large bottles. Compared to what you pay for a lot of color depositing shampoos and conditioners, that's a bargain.

I only use this every third shampoo, because like most color depositing products I find it's drying. It won't touch your roots, but it will add zing back into your color. I leave the shampoo on for about two minutes and rinse. I rinse the condtioner immediately after applying it, because it contains henna, which I'm afraid might interfer with future coloring if left on too long. The shampoo doesn't contain henna. I took off one lippie because the conditioner isn't very conditioning. I remedy the problem by applying a leave-in conditioner afterwards.


on 12/8/2013 12:13:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Very impressed with this! I only use the conditioner. I've been very picky with redhead products, and I'm sad that I overlooked this at first. I dyed my hair black for 11 years before becoming a redhead and had to go through the long process of growing my hair out naturally. During that time, I put a lot of research into the best products to use to ensure my red hair looked great. This product struck me as too cheap and I thought it was a waste. I had been using pureology's color depositing product from their red hair line and it left my hair so flat and weighed down, I'm disappointed that I bothered to spend the money on it ($40 retail!) I read up on this product some more and figured I should try it because pureology just wasn't working out Some people may need to use a regular conditioner after using this, as I've heard it can dry hair out a little. It's gentle enough to leave in for a while, but I usually only leave it for about 5-10 minutes. I shampoo my hair in cold water, put this product in, pin my hair up and continue with the rest of my hot shower (body/face wash, shaving, basking in the hot water before I turn it down to cold again, etc). I notice my hair feels a little coarser when I rinse it out, but that's not a problem since my hair has gotten finer since I began coloring it again. It actually seems to be a little thicker feeling, which I like! Then I just run regular conditioner through for good measure, though this takes care of my tangles just fine. Subtle but rich color depositing! This is definitely geared more towards deeper red shades I think, copper reds might not like it. My red looks deeper and so much better, I can definitely extend time between color touch-ups with this by my side! While I was growing my hair out, I got bored and bleached a section which ended up turning a fiery orange after coloring my hair red and this product definitely mutes it to a more acceptable reddish mauve tone. Will stain porous surfaces, so be careful! And I love that it's so affordable and the bottle is pretty big! Absolutely recommend to any fading redheads out there.


on 8/5/2013 10:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I've been using the conditioner on bright, fake, magenta-red hair in hopes of warming up the color and slowing color fade. This delivers excellent true red tones (with no staining of skin, shower, or anything but hair) and has helped immensely to keep my hair redder than pink. Also, it is slightly toning my natural roots so that they look less stark against the fake red! I do have to use a lot... a shallow palmful for my thick medium length hair, root to tip. I comb it in after shampooing with a normal color-safe shampoo, letting it sit while I do the rest of my shower routine, then rinse. Rinses right out of the shower, never stained anything I own. I'm surprised other reviewers aren't as excited as I am.


on 8/5/2013 1:42:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

This shampoo/conditioner does indeed replenish the red color tone in your hair but because it has so many extra nutrients and chemicals, it tends to leave hair dry and brittle. I could not figure out why my hair started BREAKING then I stopped using that and my hair went back to normal after a week. It stains everything and takes forever to completely wash out. Also, be careful about going out in humidity because you will wind up with a red back/neck from it running in humidity. Overall, it was worth a fair chance but did not live up to expectations. I do not recommend this product.


on 2/2/2013 10:46:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I've been dyeing my hair shades of reds more often than any other color over the last 15 years. I gave this a 2 just because I think it gave a nominal increase of longevity, but nothing significant. It still works as a shampoo, and didn't have any bad smells.


on 9/29/2012 8:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Although, I do not have any horror stories to share this product is not perfect but it is overall okay. Here are some major pointers for someone looking into it:
I found it to be runny but still workable.
It did not stain any of my towels or clothing.
It will not go evenly into the hair unless you comb it through.
If your looking for an auburn color based boost this will give you it. If you are looking for a more coppery boost this is not it. I believe John Freida's magnifying shampoo is not better.
UPDATE: This was reformulated,and I believe they removed the henna.


on 8/22/2012 3:30:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

In regards to this shampoo and conditioner, I am pleased to find affordable color depositing products specifically for red hair. I dye my black hair all kind of cherry to burgundy hues and struggle with the maintenance. Red is the largest colour molecule and therefore cannot penetrate the hair shaft as much as say, black dye. I used to mix some vegetable dye (Manic Panic, Beyond the Zone Color Jamz, etc.) into my shampoo/conditioner every time I washed my hair but the Riveting Reds products eliminate this annoying task. Sure, the effect is not as bold as a full-blown touch up, but it definitely makes a difference. The trick is to leave the product on for a few minutes. No skin/bathtub staining issues with this stuff so it's a win for me!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/24/2010 1:17:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Grey

Hard to spread, smells like something from a dollar store, stained my tub (but not my hair! hilarious!), drying, and gave me CYSTIC BREAKOUTS around the hairline.

Epic. Fail. Wouldn't swap this with someone I hated.


Popular Hair Products


Moroccan Oil
812 Reviews
Deep Repair Mask
315 Reviews


Back to Top