December 22, 2014 | 1787 users online

Powder - Shiseido - Majolica Majorca Pressed Pore Cover



image 0

rated 4.0(8 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.0
  • 75% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.6
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 6/29/2012 1:25:00 AM More reviews by glanda

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

It's a good product but not a must.
It did what it should do.
I don't think it's really cover pores, but it can keep my face be matte...and doesn't make me break out...
I'm satisfied.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 6/28/2012 9:46:00 PM More reviews by Yamada70

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I love the packaging, it's so cute. The sponge that came with it is not bad.
The powder is fine, easy to apply, but like PP, if you apply too much, it will make your face look cakey & dry patches can be eccentuated.
I have combination skin (oily T with dry cheeks) & I have learnt to just use this on the T-zone cos it seems to dry out my cheeks.
The shade/color is great for people with yellow undertones.
Unfortunately, I do get minor breakouts form this, so I do use it sparingly, more like a setting powder.
I love that a lot of Japanese cosmetics doesn't have fragrances.
This is an affordable product to try, pitty it's not easy to purchase in Western countries.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/15/2012 10:12:00 AM More reviews by luxlover79

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I'm a fan of Shiseido skincare products and this Majolica Majorca brand is an extension of Shiseido's quality but cheaper cosmetics. This Pore Cover powder is my first buy and I have to say that the packaging was lovely. This powder turned out to be my favorite finishing powder coz it really works on my pores and controls the shine. It's lightweight and doesn't cake on my face, even on oily areas. The sponge is of good quality just like the very usable sponges of Shiseido makeup. Shiseido makes quality sponges that I've never experienced from other high-end cosmetics I already own. I'm excited to try the rest of their Majolica products now!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 1/4/2012 10:23:00 PM More reviews by anglomania86

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I bought this while in Hong Kong and as it's a drugstore brand (under Shiseido) the price is really very affordable. I really like this product because it does the job- it minimises pores! I like to use this as the final step of my make up routine and apply with a large face brush in place of a finishing powder. I also carry this around for touch ups. It's not meant to control oil so you do need to use blotting paper but it definitely does cause excessive oil on the face.

The only cons is that you can't use it on dry skin as it can highlight those areas. Just make sure you are properly moisturised or use a primer beforehand.

For the price, I think it's really decent and while in HK, I bought several refills for when I run out!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/4/2011 8:11:00 PM More reviews by gee1ny

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

This powder is super silky and smooth. I like to wear this alone on my bare skin (after applying moisturizer) or primed skin on days i don't feel like wearing any makeup. It makes my skin feel really soft and does it's job of some what hiding enlarged pores and is long lasting. Only thing is that it's very pale and really matte - it'd be nice to see a hint of illuminating properties in the product in the future since i feel like it's too matte to wear it over foundation personally.. The packaging the super cute and can be refilled which is always nice.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 7/30/2009 4:38:00 AM More reviews by Retailjunkie

Age: 30-35 Skin: Other, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Packaging: As with all MJ packaging, it really appeals to the girlie-girl in you. The plastic compact feels surprisingly sturdy. The flocked sponge is of relatively good quality.

Product: Avoid using this on dry skin because the powder simply makes it even drier. However, after applying this powder on primed skin (with or without foundation), pores are noticeably minimised, especially if you have comparatively larger ones on your cheeks. However, the pore powder cannot effectively minimize the pores on the sides of your nose. There is also slight caking on the sides of your nose if too heavy-handed upon application. The colour of this powder is also very light and slightly pearlized, so it may not be compatible with darker skin tones without running the risk of grey blotchiness.

Summary: A good go-to setting powder. Perhaps application with a brush is better.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/27/2009 9:46:00 AM More reviews by margyface

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine Eyes: Brown

Packaging:
Cute
Kind of chunky. -> height=2.5cm / length=7cm / width=5.5cm (these are approximate measurements)
Yet, it's quite lightweight in my opinion, so that makes up for the size.
------
Powder:
Soft.
Can make you look chalky/pale/etc. if you use too much (there's a BIT of a pigment and it's very pale)
------
Breakouts:
I got break outs :( Nothing huge
Therefore, I use this sparingly - only for touchups during the day and particular rough spots on my face.
The point is: at least I can still use this even though I get breakouts
------
Sponge:
I use it. It's not much to talk about
I'm not too picky with my applicators, so it's all on you ;P
------
Oil control:
I dunno...as I said, I use it for touch-ups.
I use Palgantong Theatrical Powder, which controls oil very well for me.
------
Other:
I haven't tried this (or the Palgantong) in summer. Japanese summers get VERY humid, so I'm a little worried, plus I'm Canadian and love the cold.
There's a mirror
------
Will not rebuy because I will try MJ's 24 hour powder (don't remember the name, but it's 24 hour-something powder or something like that)
------
I don't remember the price. I think it was 1300-1900 yen. Not great due to exchange rate and whatnot.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 3/27/2009 2:46:00 AM More reviews by wanyilee

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This is a review for the Majolica face powder that was released in early 2009.

LOVE this product, it is one of the best at covering enlarged pores! Even better than Mac blot powder or any other powder I have used. It is transparent, very light and very finely milled. I didn't expect this high quality for the price they are selling the compact. Although there are some things you should be aware of:

1. this product does not control oil very well, you have to constantly blot, but I am sure you can find a silicone based primer to help with that
2. it might cause minor break outs depending on what do you use this with and how humid the area is, I have only used this for a couple days (spring), I understand my break outs might have do with the weather changes and high SPF sun protection that was required underneath the powder... so I can not totally blame on this powder. ( I REALLY, REALLY don't want to blame this powder AT ALL)

3. Use a brush instead of the applicator they gave you will have better results!

Despite the minor break outs which stopped this from being HG YET, the results of the powder is magnificent! I would keep on testing this out to see rather it is really the powder or is it just other environmental factors for my break out!

UPDATE: This actually DOES NOT break me out! I found out it was actually my new Majolica cheek color (blush) that was breaking me out on my cheeks! I am SO glad that this one is a keeper! I think I will keep on buying this and will stock up incase they discontinue it! This has almost reached HG status, let's give it a month to make sure it's got consistancy!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No