August 1, 2014 | 1558 users online

Treatments (Face) - The Body Shop - Seaweed Pore Perfector



image 0

rated 2.3(31 reviews)

  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 on 12/13/2013 10:19:00 PM More reviews by bonbon01

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Used a whole bottle, didn't see any noticeable effect.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/13/2013 3:00:00 AM More reviews by misstv

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I don't know why there are so many negative reviews for this pore refiner. It's not a silicone product, so it's not going to 'fill in' your pores or make an astounding base for makeup. At $27 AUD it's not the cheapest around, but is certainly a cheaper alternative to something like Dr Brandt's Pore Refiner.

But it certainly does what it says it will do - if you apply it correctly. I'm 26, and have quite fair skin that is oily and has enlarged pores, especially apparent on my cheeks near my nose, and on my forehead above my nose/ middle of my eyebrows. This pore refiner has an immediate cooling effect (probably due to the menthol) and a subtle, not unpleasant tightening when applied to freshly cleansed skin. I put this on after I apply my toner. A small pump is enough, as I basically only apply it to my T-zone. I then divide the pea-sized amount between my two index fingers and massage in a firm but gentle circular downwards motion, working from my cheeks inwards, towards my nose.

This is the crucial part - you need to massage in a downward motion to get the formula into your pores. If you use an upward and outward motion it's just going to sit on the top of your skin and do nothing. When I apply it using a downward motion, I notice that my pores are immediately less noticeable, appear smaller and feel tighter. It may not be the most stellar product on the market, but if you can't afford a high-end product, this pore refiner will certainly do the job.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 5/7/2013 8:18:00 AM More reviews by elifisiklar

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

My skin type: Oily T-zone, pretty enlarged pores around my nose, a little enlarged pores on my forehead, no acne.

I usually don't dislike The Body Shop products but this product just did nothing for me. I used it daily for 2 months, after I washed my face with a good face cleaner, still, there was no difference on my pores.

I give two stars just for its good, easy to use package and good scent.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/18/2012 6:51:00 AM More reviews by shopaholick

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Worst product ever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!CAVEAT EMPTOR- BUYER BEWARE!!!
I only tested some from the shop floor as my hyper-sensitive skin wont allow me to use just any product- at first it made the skin alittle red but also even more oily (I tired it on the T zone and my skin is not any where near oily if anything it gets dry at times) the following morning (today) was a nightmare I dont even need a magnifying glass to see the pores from a mile away where the product was tested- although I cleansed my face the night before and had exfoliated it ie removing the product entirely from my t-zone; guess what? the pores besides my nose on my cheeks where I tested the product were 10 x bigger- horrible product should be removed off shelves but thats moi opinion!!!IF I COULD GIVE THE PRODUCT A 0 I DEFINITELY WOULD- I THINK ITS ONE OF THOSE PRODUCTS THAT RETAILERS WANT YOU TO KEEP ON PURCHASING AND WISHING TO SEE RESULTS AFTER THEY RUIN YOUR SKIN...

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 8/8/2012 5:47:00 PM More reviews by JessicaMoo

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

First of all, I don't write reviews unless I feel strongly about a product. This was $21 and it comes with 15 ml (0.5 fl oz). Pricey, I know. D:

I got it in December as part of a buy one, get one free special. I've been using it twice a day since - once in the morning, once at night, always after cleansing. It's August now, so it's lasted a pretty long time. However, I only use this on my nose since that's where my pores are visible, so that may be why it took me so long to use it up.

It smells pretty nice and feels refreshing since it's a lightweight gel product. I didn't break out, and I have combination skin, with my nose being normal/oily. The packaging is pretty nice, but that doesn't really make up for a bad product.

Now, this.. did nothing. Really. I was excited about this product because I have blackheads/pores that are pretty visible on my nose. I didn't think this would be a miracle product or anything, so when I bought it, I asked if I could return it if it didn't work for me. I was told yes, but to use it consistently for a few weeks before I'd see results. This part is my fault - I should've returned it once I realized it wasn't doing anything, but instead I guess I just kept hoping I'd see improvement. I did use up most of it and I called my local Body Shop to see if it was okay to return and they said I needed more than 70% of the product left if I wanted to return it with a receipt. It WAS my fault for assuming that TBS had a return policy like Sephora's, but I mean.. it's pretty pricey, so they should have a 'satisfaction or your money back' policy, no? Maybe it's just me, lol.

So overall, learn from my mistake! But who knows, what didn't work for me might work for you. Just be prepared to lose $21 in case it doesn't.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 7/18/2012 8:28:00 PM More reviews by Cupcake07

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

When I first used this I wasn't expecting miracles and thank goodness I didn't as this did nothing. It didn't change my pore size in the slightest, it didn't even mop up any extra oil. I well and truly wasted my money and it's farily expensive for the miniscule amount of product you get. It's 26.95 here in Australia. I wasn't expecting my large pores to disappear overnight but a little reduction in the size and eveness of my skin texture would have been great.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 6/28/2012 4:18:00 PM More reviews by dblou

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

I was being sceptical from the very beginning because i just don't believe pores can be shrunken. But i still like to try things out :D Anyway this didn't do anything to my skin. It's quite the same if you use it or not.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 6/2/2012 7:31:00 PM More reviews by Sarahmercedez

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

to be honest , i WISH sooo much to believe and wish to RE purchase it again as what my friends told me" did a great job on clearing acne"
but
sorry, no its one of the worse nightmare products ever. its sad, cause my skin did not breakout at first, i only tried it on my acne, and then taddaaa another acne, came along after spreading the gel to my cheeks, i take a serious care on my health and diet, eats really healthy than anyone else who i know, that drinks and eat sugar coke ,snacks meanwhile
i m getting it from this this product.
still getting so much pimples and acne after using it. for 2-3 weeks now.

i will throw this product later! waste of money!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/17/2012 9:38:00 PM More reviews by breatheformusic

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

So I bought this product because it advertised that it would shrink the appearance of pores. I dont have a huge problem with enlarged pores but I did suffer with terrible acne as a teenager and the pores around my cheek area are definitely slightly bigger and sometimes a bit noticeable if you're up closer. I put this product on with some moisturizer over it and when I washed my face later, I didnt really see any shrinkage of the pores around my cheeks, but I did notice that the blackheads on my nose that Ive tried EVERYTHING to get rid of in the past were A LOT less visible.

In the past, I've tried everything to get rid of my blackheads. My nose is the most sensitive area of my face and most every foundation will leave me with slight break outs and tons of black heads on the nose. Ive tried home remedies which have only worked slightly, I've tried brand name products...but nothing seemed to diminish the appearance of these things! Actually, yesterday I tried a new supposedly high end foundation and when I took it off, I had scattered break outs, but I noticed that my nose had taken the brunt. I had even more blackheads, two new blemishes on it, and on the side, I had these what seemed to be starting-to-form blemishes that were the color of my skin, but uncomfortably and noticeably raised. I was frustrated because my nose looked like a mess after trying this foundation. Today, I tried this Pore Perfector product just in hopes to shrink my pores, but was amazed to see that it completely treated, not only my blackheads, but all the almost-blemishes on the side of my nose AND the full fledged blemishes. My nose looks almost completely fine now after just one use of this stuff! I did notice on the bottle, after the fact, that it says "helps to treat blemishes." So technically, it does what it advertises. This has been the best product I've used for blackheads and it really does help treat existent blemishes too. Ill definitely get this product again!


EDIT: I've been using this product for a few days now and I have all of about one black head on my nose now. I've gotten two comments in the last few days as well about how good my skin looks. My skin has never looked this clear, ever! Ive tried everything in the past to clear my skin and Id only end up getting mediocre results. But this product is incredible. I've never had my skin look so fresh and healthy. Will DEFINITELY be purchasing again!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/20/2012 10:01:00 PM More reviews by hermionestar91

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This was one of those products I thought was stupid and useless - until I stopped using it and my skin went crazy again. It IS expensive for what you get, so I only buy it on sale. (BOGO, 30% off, 3 for 30 are the best times to get anything from The Body Shop)

I use it in conjunction with other products, so I only use this where my pores are largest. I put it on my cheeks and nose at night. It makes my skin smooth and makes my pores less noticeable in the morning.

The seaweed line is meant for combination skin, so if you have super dry or even normal skin, it might not work for you as intended. But combo to oily? Check this out!

Is this review helpful? Yes No