September 30, 2014 | 1454 users online

Hair Treatments - Alberto Vo5 - Total Hair Recovery

no image

rated 3.8(32 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.8
  • 81% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.6
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 12/28/2008 5:11:00 PM More reviews by ilovemakeup2

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I purchased this without reading the reviews here on MUA first. I was a little skeptical but thought I'd give it a try since I had good luck with the Hot Oil ShowerWorks. First off, I want to say that I wish that this were available as a daily conditioner. If I could use this stuff every other day when I wash my long hair, I would love it! I love the smell and it didn't weigh my long, thick, color treated hair down at all! I washed my hair like normal with my Matrix SleekLook Shampoo and then put this stuff in (the whole container). I worked it in from root to tip and put the cap on. I left it on for about 10 minutes while I shaved my legs, etc. I then rinsed it out, towel dried my hair, combed, put my hair up in a towel while I put on my makeup, air dried for 15 minutes while I did stuff around the house, then sprized my hair to slightly dampen with my ionized, high alkaline water from my LeveLuk SD-501 machine right before blow drying and straight ironing with my CHI as usual. The result...silky smooth hair! Love this stuff, try it! Just wish it were cheaper so that I could use this more often!


Next...just for kicks I'm going to try Pantene's Restoratives Time Renewal Replenishing Mask (since the reviews here on MUA seem to be good) just to see if it measures up to VO5. I figure it is worth a try since Pantene's jar is 7.6 oz compaired to this stuff (1 oz). Also, the Pantene jar at Ulta was $4.89 whereas this VO5 jar was $5.49. I'll follow-up with an edit to let you know which I liked better!


UPDATE: VO5's Hair Recovery is MUCH better than Pantene's Time Renewal Replenishing Mask. Pantene's was too heavy and was more greasy. Also, Pantene's was bad when it came to frizz.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 8/27/2008 9:55:00 PM More reviews by layzeex

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This product was so-so for me. It conditions hair, but isn't a *stand-out* product. I left it on for 35 minutes and it just feels like a regular conditioner. I like that it comes with the plastic cap though, I keep it and re-use it for my other hair treatments :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/15/2008 12:57:00 PM More reviews by seree311

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Olive, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Brown

This is one of my HG's as far as deep conditioners. Even though I am constantly on the quest for a new one, I always come back to this time and time again. It leaves my hair silky smooth and easier to manage. I dont mind the tiny tub it comes in because it ensures that you get every last drop. It retails for 6 buck and change - I do find it a bit expensive for a one time use, but its worth every penny to have soft smooth hair.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 9/11/2007 5:08:00 PM More reviews by Tango116

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Fine Eyes: Blue

This is my favorite deep conditioner. My hair always looks so soft and healthy after I use it. It's like I have a new head of hair.
The only thing I hate is scooping it out of the little tub but no big deal.
Less places are carrying it though :( Right now I can only find it at K-Mart.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/13/2007 2:43:00 PM More reviews by Elizabeth01

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Yes,Yes,Yes!!!!! I LOVE this product, I think it has become my new HG conditioner, even thought it's a treatment I think I'll use this as my everyday conditioner. My coarse hair was completely transformed after just one use; I never thought that I could have silky,smooth, frizz-free hair because I color my hair and use a flat iron often: I thought I just had to lay off the heat styling and wait for my damaged hair to grow out..but I was wrong! This conditioner made my hair so healthy looking and managable.. I will never waste my money on hair serums, masks, or leave-in products again! I will be stocking up on this product!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 5/17/2007 6:06:00 PM More reviews by flairgirl8

Age: 36-43 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

I have used daily as a regular conditioner and left it on my hair with the plastic cap for 10 minutes. Not really a stand out product for me. I have used other daily conditioners that leave my hair feeling the same way as this. Contains silicones. Paraben free.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/22/2006 10:30:00 AM More reviews by adnilem7

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I was a little bit skeptical when I came home with this product and read some reviews on here,but when I tried it,I could kind of feel it working...when I washed it out it came out very easily,and today my hair is still a little damp so its hard to tell just how great it worked but my hairs texture is EXTREMLY soft, I dont remember my hair being like this since I was little,the only downside I have is with the cap it came with,as it is so thin,so if u have a cap already at home just use that one,or another good one is to tie a grocery bag over your hair.So I would definently reccommend this product :D

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 10/21/2006 2:02:00 PM More reviews by karolcia

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

PEOPLE!!! don't buy it, please!! it is one of the worts product what i ever had! it SUCKS!! HORRIBLE>>>>>> newver buy it again...NEVER!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 6/14/2006 7:31:00 PM More reviews by genias_angel

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

It made my hair tangley and completely unmanageable. i had to put my regular conditioner in after to fix it. I would never get this even at the $2.99 i payed for it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 5/20/2006 9:13:00 PM More reviews by debbsterina

Age: 36-43 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

By the time I clean out the container I'll have done 8-10 treatments (my hair goes just below the shoulders) and I have to say that it has worked really well. Nice smell and soft hair that shines and is soft.

Is this review helpful? Yes No