September 21, 2014 | 963 users online

Mascara - Rimmel - Lash MAXXX Waterproof



image 0

rated 1.8(21 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 1.8
  • 19% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.0
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 1/21/2013 7:15:00 PM More reviews by squimkin

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Other reviews don't rate this product as being very good, but I quite like it.
I wear contact lenses so having resistant, water-proof mascara is a must for me, and I found that Lash MAXXX did the job very well. Unlike what other users say I found it didn't take long at all to dry or that it smelt odd or that it was difficult to apply. It has a good consistency, not too runny or gloopy but at the same time thick enough to make my lashes noticeable. It is also very waterproof and quite smudge-proof: since I wear contacts, my eyes get dry during the day so I rub them every now and then and my mascara didn't smudge at all during the day. I removed it with olive oil on a cotton pad and that worked great.
I loved the price too - I bought mine for $9 (Australian dollars) and for what the price is, it's excellent. I would buy it again.
My only problem with it is that it did have a tendency to clump groups of eyelashes together unless you wiggle the brush at the base of the lashes before going up, which is why I didn't rate it five out of five.
As other users have said, it doesn't really "curl" your lashes - but then again, that's not what mascara is for, that's what an eyelash curler is for. It does lengthen the lashes really well, though.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 6/19/2012 11:35:00 AM More reviews by Cynth1a

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

HATE IT!!! It makes my long lashes look thin and short and the fact that its water proof doesn't help either -_-

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 3/23/2011 3:14:00 PM More reviews by TeHNyboR

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse Eyes: Green

Oh my HELL this stuff is bad! I heard so many rave reviews about it on YouTube and it's just...no...not good at all. The formula is supposedly waterproof, but when I put it on it took FOREVER to dry! And in a random crazy happenstance, I also cried that day, as I failed one of my midterms and was a bit upset about it. Did it stay put? Noooo way. Ended up all down my face. Didn't provide any lengthening, curl, or volume, but I will say that the color is a very nice, rich black. What can I say? I give credit when credit is due. But yeah, definitely not repurchasing.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 3/23/2011 3:08:00 PM More reviews by SimpleNSexy

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

UGH! I feel like Rimmel makes the worst w/p mascaras in the universe!
I like the comb and wish I'd kept it when I threw this out. It defined my lashes but didn't do much for volume. Decent length tho

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/3/2010 9:23:00 PM More reviews by emthu

Age: 19-24 Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

This mascara gave me decent effects for my lashes - however I hated the application from beginning to end.

I did not like the brush applicator - combined with the formula - it is much too wet and feels like ink spilling over my lashes. It's difficult to get the brush close to roots without creating a liquid liner across my eyes (two-in-one? no eye liner required! NOT for me).
I also found it takes quite longer than other mascaras to dry -- and would end up on my face when i blinked.

Definitely not a repurchase item.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/9/2010 5:24:00 AM More reviews by alixnaiq

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I bought this when I was on holiday in the UK - the Rimmel counter in my country doesn't have this particular mascara. I agree with the reviewers who said that it doesn't hold a curl, and needs a lot of product to give lashes any extra length or thickness. (I'd have rated this 5 lippies if not for this.) However, this makes it perfect for when I want to look a bit more polished but not "I am wearing mascara". It feels like a more watery formula than some other mascaras I've tried - perhaps that's why you need multiple coats to get any volume or thickness. I didn't begrudge the time needed for that when this was my main mascara, but that's probably because I only wore it a couple of times a week on average.

The main thing I look for in mascaras is how waterproof they are, because I have extremely oily skin around my eyes. After going through a lot of brands over the years, this is definitely one of the most truly waterproof mascaras I've used. (People with oily lids, don't bother with Maybelline VolumExpress WP, YSL Mascara Volume Effet Faux Cils, or Max Factor Volume Couture waterproof. Strangely the MF Volume Couture WP mascara was much more smudge-prone than the 2000 Calorie WP mascara.) Barely any smudging after a whole day out in humid tropical weather. I used to have a different Rimmel WP mascara (can't remember the exact product name) that was also very smudge-proof while not being great for length/volume, so it seems that Rimmel is onto a good thing when it comes to waterproofing. I intend to keep a Rimmel WP mascara on hand for non-made-up days.

I have to add that the comb applicator for this product is a gem - it really was zero clump on me. I'm keeping it to use with my Shiseido Majolica Majorca Lash Enamel Glamour mascara (currently my HG).

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 4/23/2010 6:21:00 PM More reviews by mommygirl5

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

no, no, no!!! the only thing this mascara multiplies are the clumps of goop it leaves on my lashes. horribly wet, goopy, clumpy...ugh! i won't toss it yet because i feel that i need to use it 3X to get my money's worth. total waste...the only plus is the wand. i like the comb applicator. i might even just was off the mascara and keep and use the wand as a lash brush.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 3/10/2010 11:17:00 PM More reviews by Paleskinblueeyes

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Blue

Terrible! Does not hold a curl whatsoever and it is an insanely wet formula.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 3/10/2010 8:35:00 PM More reviews by phalaenopsis_619

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I haven't try the regular formula so I can't compare (I normally don't buy non-waterproof formula). The brush is alright to work with (it's a plastic comb), but it really doesn't volumize at all. It highlights some lashes but that is nothing special for a mascara. Not waterproof, smudges after less than half a day, doesn't keep up the curls. This is a terrible buy.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 3/5/2010 6:31:00 PM More reviews by colleeflower

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

Did nothing for my lashes. Not very water resistant either. I returned it right away so I can't even remember if it clumped or smudged.

Is this review helpful? Yes No