October 31, 2014 | 1406 users online

Lotions/ Creams - Nature's Gate - Colloidal Oatmeal Moisturizing Lotion

no image

rated 3.5(12 reviews)

  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 5/30/2013 6:42:00 PM More reviews by hellok1tty

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Hazel

I wanted something a little more natural than the Aveeno Daily Moisturizing lotion I was using, so I tried this. I don't really like it. First of all, neither myself nor my husband have been able to pull the pump on the bottle up so lotion will dispense from the pump. I don't know what's wrong with it, but to use the lotion, I have to unscrew the pump and glop some onto my hand from the mouth of the bottle. Then the tube that pulls the lotion from the bottle up to the pump part broke off, so even if I were ever able to get the pump to work, I couldn't use it. The lotion seems more greasy than the Aveeno and doesn't seem to absorb as quickly or as well. When it finally absorbs, it leaves this weird chalky feeling on my skin, and it stinks long after it's applied. God, the smell! I don't like the way it smells at all. I'm also not too sure some of the ingredients listed on the back are "natural". I would return it to the store I bought it from and get my $10 back, but I no longer have my receipt. I will use the rest to keep from wasting it, but I'm not ever buying this again. I tried some Nature's Gate shampoo & conditioner before and I wasn't very impressed with it either.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 12/6/2012 10:52:00 PM More reviews by trixxxster09

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I've got the "new formula" and let me tell you it's crap. It made my skin so itchy. So people with sensitive skin stay away from this one.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/25/2012 6:16:00 PM More reviews by Kris20

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Best lotion ever! I have super dry skin and have mild ezcema and this stuff just really put lots of moisture in my skin and it feels healthy again! The bottle is huge too so will last a long time I'm totally buying this again !

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/28/2012 6:24:00 PM More reviews by jaritos

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Other, Warm Hair: Black, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I bought this after Alba reformulated their maximum dry skin formula into garbage. I like it! It has a thin enough consistency for smoothing easily over the skin, but it is thick enough to moisturize from morning until night, even in the super dry winter time. It does take a second to absorb, but I don't mind that. Doesn't cause clogged pores or any bumps or reactions for me - actually, it even helped heal up some tattoo related eczema. It doesn't have much of a fragrance at all, either, which I take as a plus.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/11/2012 10:25:00 PM More reviews by DieMyDarling

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Warm Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

The only reason I wouldn't purchase this again is because I can't stand the smell of colloidal oatmeal anymore...I used this during the last trimester of my pregnancy and I think it triggers me or something haha.
However, this lotion is actually pretty amazing. It really heals dry "chicken skin" patches that I get from using bad soaps/washes during winter. It absorbs quickly and spreads easily, with no greasy after feel and you're left with super soft skin. Totally stops itching from dry (or stretching, as in my case during that last trimester!) skin.
Plus you get a ton of lotion for your money, with a convenient pump!
Essentially, I heart this stuff...just wish they had a better scented formula, but I guess that would defeat the purpose of a lotion for sensitive skin.
I'm looking forward to trying other natures gate lotions.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/26/2011 1:35:00 AM More reviews by coldwarkid

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I have extremely dry, itchy, flaky, sensitive skin. Ironic because I live in Manila which is hot and humid all-year long. Because of that, I avoid putting on any lotions because anything I use would feel like an additional layer of clothing. Lotion + manila weather = sweating and a general feeling of ickiness. A solution that I found to work is, I only apply lotion straight out of the shower when my skin is still dripping wet, that's the ideal state one is supposed to be, not damp, or slightly wet, but dripping wet. Don't towel off excess water, just put that lotion straight away and let your skin absorb it. The feeling of ickiness would be a thing of the past, guaranteed. Anyway, I do this with every lotion I've bought but most of them have this overwhelming scent that clashes with the perfume I'm wearing. This lotion has no scent, reduced the itchy, dry feeling I have (which some of the lotions I've used had never been able to eliminate( and can probably last more than 6 months since I only apply a very little amount (a little amount goes a long way). As for the other reviewer who said it gives off this slimy feeling (forgot the term she used), that is also true. I've discovered that when I mistakenly dried my skin before applying the lotion. It sat on top of my skin and just made me feel uncomfortable. Whenever I forget to follow my own lotion routine, I just would apply it on areas that needs moisturizing (elbows and knees). Lastly, it's paraben free which is always a welcome treat. The only cons I can think of is the pump bottle, I imagine it would be a hassle to get the product that would remain on the bottom when it runs out. Would repurchase again, I'm not extremely in love with this lotion so I would still try other lotions for sure. But if those won't work out then I'll buy this again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 3/19/2011 2:39:00 AM More reviews by LolaBlue

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

The bottle I recently got of this says "new formula". I never tried the old formula so I don't know how they compare, but I'm not buying this again. It's definitely moisturizing, but unlike the other NG lotions I've tried this has the worst consistency; very slimy and hard to work into skin. it feels like I'm rubbing Elmer's Glue all over myself, which isn't a pleasant sensation. I'll switch back to the Papaya lotion and hopefully they haven't "improved" it w/ a new formula.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/15/2011 10:38:00 AM More reviews by eddiecatt

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Black

Skin Deep gives this a "4" (moderate hazard), which is surprising as like the two reviewers below me, I too suffer from hives and have found this a very soothing moisturizer to use. I'm going through a natural skincare phase right now, so I may not buy this again, since I look at the ingredients list and there are still some things I'm not sure about, but speaking from experience only (and not my current ideology du jour) this is a good buy--does its job nicely, not expensive, and from a pretty eco-friendly company.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/15/2010 8:55:00 PM More reviews by eskimo122

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Like the reviewer below me, i bought this when i broke out in insane allergy-related hives all over my body. i was incredibly itchy and uncomfortable. the allergy cream that the dermo gave me was not moisturizing so i bought this as well. the hives are gone but i am still using this product. it moisturizes really well and my skin feels soft all day. i think it probably sped up the calming process. the smell is light and pleasantly oat-y. i wish this came in a bigger bottle size!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/2/2010 11:01:00 AM More reviews by Rhiminee009

Age: 19-24 Skin: Very Dry, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I suffered from a skin outbreak of hives from allergies and intolerance to histamine and nothing would do the trick. Even a year later, I still have very dry, patchy skin that itches along with chronic eczema. This lotion has been my HG for the past few months as I've been slowly recovering and it's the best thing that's worked so far. It is very moisturizing and readily absorbed by the skin. At the same time, it feels like it also creates a layer on top of the skin that keeps it moist and soft. I'm also giving it extra points for not stinging upon application on open wounds or cracks in my skin.

For my eczema, allergic, sensitive dry skin... this worked, and I highly recommend this product!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No