November 29, 2014 | 1687 users online

Eye Shadow - Revlon - Matte Eyeshadow in Riviera Blue 007

rated 3.6(42 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 54% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 1/14/2013 3:41:00 PM More reviews by AnnKB

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

love the fact this is matte, the colour is a little darker than expected on the skin but but would make a nice smoky eye.

the main downside, as others have pointed out, is that it does NOT blend . i use a primer too. now I add a lighter colour underneath, or on top if I have overdone it!

excellent staying power once you get it where you want!

Revlon is a reliable brand though and these are available pretty cheap (presumably discontinued).

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 11/7/2011 11:11:00 AM More reviews by Christinaann5

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Brown

These matte shadows from Revlon were a great idea & addition to their makeup line since in the drugstore, there isnt alot offered for us girls for a need for great matte shadows. Since Matte shadows are often needed for contouring & definition that a shimmer or satin eye shadow could do, esp in the crease. And a matte smoky eye is absolutely gorgeous. WetnWild offers some great matte shadows in the 6 pan palettes that are being d/c'd so these were great to find.
=PRICE/AVAILABILITY=
These single matte shadows are hard to find now so im not sure if theyve been discontinued or just taken out for room in my area? I also found a few of these at my dollar tree, YAY! so i def bought backups since heck they were $1..I use to find these in drugstores like CVS, Walgreens, & Rite Aids as well as some Walmart & Target. They are around $5-6 depending on location & discounts. I hope they didnt quit making these. I cant believe i found some for $1 @ dollar tree esp since i just previously bought them at Walmart for $5 ahh whatever i got backups.
=FORMULA/PERFORMANCE/SHADE=
These single matte shadows are part of a line where Revlon put out a few colors for each finish of eyeshadows, matte, satin, frost or perle. So it was nice to have a selection of finishes & shades. They do make a decent selection for each finish. The Matte shadows are really nice soft & smooth & decently pigmented shadows. I like the formula since its soft & easy to blend. Some matte shadows are chalky & hard & get stuck in one spot but these are esp being drugstore. They go on great alone or on top of a cream base. I def recommend a primer to help w/ vibrancy & staying power. These are pressed well so little fall out in pan or eye but the brush/applicator picks up a good deal of shadow. I love the formula, almost the same as my WNW matte shadows. These are def a great formula & consistency. I was a little wary but theyre def worth the price
"Riviera Blue 007" is a gorgeous dark navy blue shadow. Its has a purple cool undertone. Such a great navy blue for any look needed. I know in the ad i saw for these, the girl had a dark blue smoky eye w/ this & wow it made me want it even though im not one for blues. I know this would look great on those w/ blue & hazel eyes. wow! its seriously my favorite blue bc i got it bc most shimmery blues are way outta my league to try, i always wipe em off, not this one, gorgeous!!! if you like blues then this one is a def must have in my opinion!!
=PACKAGING=
These single matte shadows come in a shiny black square compact with the revlon/matte on the lid with a see thru window on the front. Snap shut closure. shade # is on the top left hand corner & then on the back sticker is shade name & info. What shadow you see in the window is the size of the shadow inside. Its about as long as my pinky & an inch or two wide. Its a great amount of shadow. esp since their so pigmented it makes the amount even greater. The shadow has a waved engravement which makes it look so pretty in the pan Expensive looking. The rest of the inside is a slot for the single foam applicator. which is great for times you forgot your brush or those who dont use brushes.
Overall, these are great shadows and whats even greater is that we finally got more matte shadow selection in the drugstore, finally companies are listening & giving us options. I really thought these were gonna be ok but theyre pretty great! i do use these alot considering my huge shadow selection. I find matte shadows great for anyone esp those who like more natural neutral looks. I love the formula & Riviera blue is a beautiful blue!! i love it & im not a blue shadow girl! The only reason i wouldnt repurchase this is bc i hardly ever wear blue shadow & i got this huge pan of blue shadow to last me forever! I love using this on top of a blue eye liner on my lower lash line & blues take the redness out of my eyes & make me look wide away.. i always get compliments when i use this that way!! i love it! so if i would ever get thru it i would but i doubt i will. Whats also great is Revlon is a CRUELTY FREE MAKEUP COMPANY!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/7/2011 10:15:00 AM More reviews by Carbonara2

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Fine Eyes: Brown

I love the blue smokey-eyed look and this eyeshadow is perfect for that effect. A beautiful ethereal look can be achieved with this matte blue. A lot of product for a little price. It is my go-to blue shadow.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 7/21/2011 9:06:00 PM More reviews by Shanplum

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

The most perfect almost black navy blue, looks lovely on and blended with bronzey shades. Very smoky and I had no blending problems as mentioned in other reviews. I had the aubergine also but found that to be poorly pigmented.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 7/13/2011 12:55:00 PM More reviews by DollParts7

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Green

I found that this color and Aubergine were very similar. Also, the dark green seemed very close as well. I don't know if they just wanted the mattes to be a little darker, or mainly for shadow lining, or what, but they were almost identical.

I would use this with some brighter blues as a nice smokey eye without the black. However, I'd probably use it as a liner, and then buff it out into the crease, to make it a tad lighter.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/18/2010 9:40:00 PM More reviews by xxxAmandaxxx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

it's too dark for me. but yea i only got it for a dollar so maybe i'll try it in the fall but it's way to dark for my skin tone.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/12/2010 12:44:00 AM More reviews by crdimalla

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I can't say this is the best color for me, its tough in my opinion to pull off a blue eye on anyone. But this is a very pretty deep cadet blue and it has a nice sheer finish. Which is partly the problem with this shade. If you intend to obtain the color you see in the pan, it's virtually impossible without a primer..and even then, difficult. This may be all for the best though, since a true blue eye is something garish to me. There's plenty in the pan and the color really does have a nice matte finish, something I love in an eyeshadow.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/18/2010 2:14:00 AM More reviews by galai_curryqueen9830

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this product! This has became one of my staples for a smokey eye. Instead of using a black, I'll use a twist of navy blue instead.
The texture of this eyeshadow is gorgeous for a drugstore brand. It is very pigmented, and it goes on very smoothly - finely milled. The only downside is that there are a lot of fall outs.
As for the packaging, I find it quite handy. It is a snap open case so that's nice.
The price of this is reasonable. You get a good amount of product for $6-8. You get more eyeshadow from this than from a MAC eyeshadow.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/22/2010 5:03:00 PM More reviews by Viviana25

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This eyeshadow is great, beats lots of expensive brands, excelent dark blue matte, long lasting under primer =)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 3/17/2010 2:42:00 AM More reviews by amaizeingndn

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

I completely co-sign the review below mine. Like the color in the pan, but not on and the application is a pain

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No