October 25, 2014 | 1710 users online

Styling Products - Miss Jessie's - Curly Meringue



image 0

rated 2.2(9 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.2
  • 33% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.4
  • Price: $$$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 8/5/2014 11:39:00 AM More reviews by nick1011

Age: 25-29 Skin: Other, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I decided to wear my hair in two strand finger twist(I twist at night and take out the twist in the morning) to have a wavy pattern. I must say this product SUCKS! it's overall price and doesn't even work! I put some in my hair it just made my hair hard and rough as opposed to the softness and moisture it promised. I now use cantu shea moisture for curls and I love it. I would not recommend this product to my worst enemies.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 7/7/2013 8:50:00 PM More reviews by robyn110

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Not a fan of this stuff. I got a sample from Birchbox about a year ago and it smelled horrible. I tried using it on my curls but it still left my hair frizzy and dry. Better off getting Shea Moisture it's cheaper works much better and has natural ingredients.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 3/18/2013 3:49:00 PM More reviews by mulletoftruth

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine Eyes: Other

This is the most foul smelling hair product I have ever used. It smells really, really strongly of chemicals doubled up with a nauseatingly sweet cotton candy fragrance. As a smoker, I have a pretty weak sense of smell, but I cannot overemphasize how overpowering these fragrances are. It's like they tried to cover up the rank chemical odor with an even more intense fake sugary stench. It reminds me of the marshmallow flavored fluoride treatment my dentist put on my teeth when I was a kid -- not a smell I want on my hair, or anywhere on my body, for that matter. The combination's enough to make you gag, if not pass out. For the record, the Super Sweetback treatment has the same vile odor.


But that wasn't even the worst of it. By the end of the day after using this, my hair was a mass of tangles and a sticky mess - so much so that I couldn't even get my fingers through it. The following morning, my hair was full of knots and I lost handfuls of hair and suffered massive breakage trying to get the knots out.


WTF. No thanks. FWIW, I have fine, porous, curly caucasian hair and normally use products from the Carol's Daughter and Nick Chavez lines.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 7/24/2012 3:14:00 PM More reviews by Chenoa45

Age: 44-55 Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I love this stuff. My 3B curls have always been flyaway and fizzy. Most products left my hair crunchy, flaky or oily. Although expensive ($22/12oz), my hair feels thick and is touchable. I will add that Miss Jessie products have mineral oil in them and even tho I'm allergic to it, my skin and scalp are not irritated.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/25/2011 11:31:00 AM More reviews by StarsnRocketsES

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Fine Eyes: Brown

I actually like this product. I wanted to purchase it for a while, but it's so expensive so I never did until now. It really does do a great job on braid outs, twist outs, etc. without making them frizzy and messy. I recommend only using a small amount unless you want to spend more time drying your hair than is necessary. Also, this Curly Meringue does define curls. While putting the product on my hair, it immediately begins to transform into beautiful curls. It also works well as a deep conditioning/moisturizing mask for natural dull hair. It definitely makes my natural hair SHINE, and it has not done that in months.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 5/10/2011 11:33:00 AM More reviews by MACAddiction

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I use this on my 3c/4a African American naturally curly hair. I bought it a few years ago and am using up old products. I wouldn't repurchase.

PROS:
- EXCELLENT curl definer for naturally curly hair. This will not form curls if you don't have them, it merely defines them and provides moderate hold, especially if you use the shingling method described on Miss Jessie's website.
- Leaves hair extremely shiny, even after dried, which is a plus for curly hair
- Fantastic for twists!!!!!!

CONS:
- Extremely, ridiculously expensive compared to other curl definers on the market.
- Ingredients are not natural or organic in the least.
- Very goopy and messy to use when you are shingling (I always feel uncomfortable washing this stuff down my drains).
- The product clearly sits on my hair - it doesn't penetrate. It's almost like a shell.
- Hair dries hard and brittle
- If you try to moisturize the hair after dried, the curls separate and become frizzy

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 1/18/2010 9:44:00 AM More reviews by thlewis

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I tried the curly pudding years ago and didn't like it. Went to a hair salon (not Miss Jessie's) and was told that the pudding was most likely to heavy for my hair type and they used the meringue on me. My curls looked beautiful....until my hair dried. After my hair air dries, I always fluff for my finished style. When I fluffed this time...my hair felt like hay and all curl definition was gone! It made my hair hard in some places...I couldn't wait to wash this mess out. Only good thing was I only spent $7 on the trail size. It's true that what works for one person may not work for you. I'll keep using my 'homemade' mix of Suave Coconut conditioner/olive oil/and Deva Curls gel for my curls. If it ain't broke...don't fix it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 4/14/2009 8:50:00 AM More reviews by MAChostage

Age: 44-55 Skin: Normal, Other, Warm Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I don't get Miss Jessie's products. I received this product as part of the travel sized collection, just so I could try a little bit of everything. I did not like even one of the curl creams. I didn't get any amazing results, and the products did nothing for my hair that other mediocre hair products didn't. The only product I thought was decent was the Rapid Recovery hair treatment, but all of the products are *way* overpriced, and their shipping is killer. No thanks, Miss Jessie.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 12/29/2008 2:37:00 PM More reviews by lizhmajumder

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I saw Miss Jessie's products advertised on a poster in a NYC subway car and the ads promised these products were the "best darn curl cremes period". I have naturally curly hair that is moderately tight and not coarse but can get frizzy from time to time especially since I use lots of hair products: gels, leave-in conditioners, etc. I love to wear my hair naturally; I love my curly hair: it's who I am. So I went into my local Ricky's Cosmetics and hightailed it to the Miss Jessie's product display. I went for the Curly Meringue since it promised "pogo stick oingo boing curls" (whatever that means). I tried the 2 oz jar since I was still skeptical. The 2 oz bottle is $7, way too much money for such a small jar. so that's strike one.
took it home, tried it after washing my hair and after it dried naturally what I got was a hair full of really beautiful, soft curls with a semi hold. I wasn't expecting this would offer any hold since it's not a gel. It's a cream but it did hold my curl and I love it. My mom noticed my hair the next day and she said my curls never looked so beautiful, soft and shiny.
so i'm loving these products and am considering buying the bigger jar but the 8 oz jar is $22 and the 16 oz jar is $32!!!!! that's crazy!!!!! yes, a little goes along way but I have a lot of dense hair and I can't see this lasting more than a month or so.
I would venture to say it's worth the money but it's not easy to shell so much money for hair creme.
I would say to try the 2 oz jar for trial run.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No