December 21, 2014 | 1636 users online

Moisturizers - Yes To Carrots - Yes to Cucumbers Facial Hydrating Lotion



image 0

rated 2.8(49 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.8
  • 38% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 on 4/4/2014 8:23:00 PM More reviews by kaye41

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I was a fan of the Yes to Cucumbers facial wipes, and they were having a big sale, so I decided to try out their moisturizer. It does have a strong cucumber smell, but the "calming" aspect and the "98% natural" thing was working for me (nothing special, but it was doing its job) ... for about 2 months, when suddenly I developed a reaction. My skin turned bright red and blotchy, dry, swollen and burning. I had to wash my face twice and keep dousing my skin in Eucerin until it finally stopped burning, but it was red for an hour.

I tested a few of the other Yes To products I own and didn't have any issues with them, so it must be something specifically in this one that my skin is not tolerating. It seems like I'm not the only one having problems with this product line, but I'm really disappointed. Time to search for a new moisturizer again...

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 2/16/2014 1:56:00 AM More reviews by tonbot7

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have been using this product for about a month. Overall I like the moisturizer, but not because it's anything special, it simply accomplishes keeping my face soft, and also does not break me out. I have dry to normal skin, and in the winter I often get those stubborn flakey spots around my nose. This product seems to keep them at bay! That being said, I apply it liberally. I use an entire pump and sometimes even more than that if I feel it has all absorbed really quickly because I like my skin to feel completely saturated. The smell is rather strong, however it doesn't bother me since I am a huge fan of the fresh cucumber scent...if you don't like strongly scented cremes stay away from this one. The packaging is quite nice, simple and easy to use. The pump has not clogged or dried up on me since I use it twice a day. When I run out of this I will probably not repurchase, only because it didn't wow me enough for the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/3/2013 5:27:00 PM More reviews by reinazee

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I've been using this product as a day cream for the last 3 weeks or so, originally purchased it because I have dry skin that's easily irritated and I wanted a new moisturizer that was more hydrating and soothing. This product sort of did that. I've found that I need to reapply to my cheeks and forehead after it's fully absorbed otherwise I get that tight-face feeling as though I haven't put on any moisturizer after washing my face. Once that's done though my skin felt smooth and soft.

The product came in a pump bottle with a cap, which I really really liked because it's hygienic and easy to control how much product I want. Packaging was simple and function, also a plus.

However, I'm not entirely satisfied with its 'soothing' properties. I didn't have any allergic reactions to it but every time I've put it onto my face it TINGLED and it wasn't a nice, cool tingly feeling; it was ALMOST STINGING. Although it caused NO PAIN, the sensation is unpleasant enough that I won't be repurchasing this once I finish this bottle.

Overall, it's a nice moisturizer but not worth the $24 I paid for it.

PROS:
- 98% natural ingredients
- left my skin soft and smooth
- light texture, not oily, easily absorbed
- hygienic pump bottle

CONS:
- unpleasant tingly feeling when I put it on
- have to reapply to cheeks and forehead (not enough moisturization for dry skin)
- expensive, considering the results

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 10/19/2013 5:03:00 PM More reviews by KoolDucky

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I am 25 and this is the very first review i have ever written, which shows how strong I feel about this product. I bought this product because I have sensitive skin and wanted something natural and hypoallergenic. Huge mistake! The first time I used it I had no problem. By the second use, I thought I felt a little burning. Today I used it for about the 5th time and my face won't stop burning. My whole face is inflamed, red, blotchy, and worst of all BURNING! I have tried to wash my face several times and its still on fire. I will never buy this again and I will be sure to tell all girls that I know to stay away from the "Yes to..." line.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/12/2013 3:14:00 PM More reviews by RAPPEL

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium Eyes: Green

I like this! A new face wash I recently purchased was making my skin very dry and reactive. So I wanted something that was gentle and light moisture for sensitive skin. Soooo, this product is what I choose and so far so good. I like the feel and smell of this and it makes my skin look fresh. No breakouts....no burning. Fairly priced, I would repurchase.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/4/2013 12:09:00 AM More reviews by Jennaglamorous6

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I bought this moisturizer because it was buy one, get one 50% off at Walgreens and my usual moisturizer (Josie Maran Argan Oil) is getting expensive. I am very happy I purchased this. I may use this forever. I have combination skin and have dry skin around my nose that would not go away until I tried this. Now my face is smooth. It goes good under make up too. I feel like it somehow makes my makeup look better. It does not break my face out either. I use this with the Yes To Tomatoes daily clarifying cleanser.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 4/29/2013 12:52:00 AM More reviews by sandi117

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Red, Wavy, Other Eyes: Grey

The pool I work in has been wrecking havoc on my skin, and I bought this in hopes of helping out my dry skin. I don't consider myself to have sensitive skin, but I try to be careful about what I put on my face. This made my face turn BRIGHT RED and it burned so bad! Even after washing/rinsing with cool water for about 5 minutes, there was still a burning sensation and the redness lasted about a half an hour to 45 minutes. I've never reacted so badly to a product in my life. I thought that maybe I was allergic to it, and not wanting a practically full bottle (used just one time) to go to waste, I gave it to my boyfriend (yes, he moisturizes, he likes to take care of his skin.) His face also got red. His roommate used it and her face got red, and she said it felt like it was burning as well. I'm not sure what it is in the product that's doing this to me and many others, but Yes To needs to figure it out and fix it or pull this product.

EDIT: I reacted the same way with the Neutrogena Naturals Multi-Vitamin Nourishing Night Cream and Neutrogena Naturals Multi-Vitamin Moisturizer, but not to Palmer's Cocoa Butter Formula Daily Facial Lotion.

After doing some research, I am fairly certain that I am sensitive to Glyceryl Stearate. That is the one ingredient that I DID NOT find in the Palmers moisturizer, but was in these other three. Palmers may not be the most natural product out there, but I think I'm going to stick with it for now. I hope maybe this information will help others who may be have has the same experience as I did.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 on 4/14/2013 9:35:00 PM More reviews by Monseter

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Other Eyes: Brown

Got this at walgreens on sale one day, I was so excited to be getting it for FOUR DOLLARS!! I gave it a week but it ended up breaking me out horribly. It made me extra oily and it smelled pretty terrible. I forced my boyfriend to use it a couple of times (he has normal skin and never breaks out) and it gave him two or three pimples within the first two days of him using it as well. I will say that I really liked the packaging!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/27/2013 3:06:00 AM More reviews by mysweetdecline

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I have extremely dry, tight and sensitive acne pone skin with tons of black heads and alwaysnanfe red spots.

actually love this stuff- and I'm a face care junkie- I've done dermalogica, arbonne, Lamere, had findly settled on a complete Bobbi Browm collection because although it was treating my acne, per se, and didn't have any special magical treatment properties- it did keep my very dry skin moisturized And didn't irritate it.

But to be honest for the $12 vs $60 I've completely switched to this cucumber line. No it will it not cure your acne (usually only a prescription will if your acne is persistent) and in the meantime thienbstuff is sensitive when I'm washing and comforting when I'm moisturizing. It's actually 100% preventing the sensitivity, redness and peeling I was expecting from my perscriotions, my skins actually feels plump and smooth,

Also- they are naturally paraben and petroleum free which makes me feel better: and you get can get a whole skin care line for $30 instead of $300.

Trust me I know my stuff. Sorry if my response is sloppy I typing on my phone and can hardly see.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 3/3/2013 7:56:00 PM More reviews by 90sprincess

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Hazel

One of my all time favorite moisturizers. It feels light, absorbs quickly, and doesn't look oily. I always feel good applying this even over active pimples because I know it won't irritate them. The smell is probably my favorite part. It smells EXACTLY like a freshly cut cucumber, not perfumy or chemical-like. The smell isn't overpowering or overwhelming though, it dissipates quickly. It is hydrating,but it's not quite enough for my driest spots. So I think of this as more of a summertime moisturizer.

Is this review helpful? Yes No