October 26, 2014 | 1004 users online

Sunscreen - ESP - invisible zinc



image 0

rated 3.9(13 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.9
  • 69% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.0
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 4/5/2013 3:26:00 PM More reviews by karafraser

Age: 25-29 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I adore this product, it is hands down the best daily sunscreen I have ever tried.

I should start off by saying that I am a bit of a sunscreen freak. I have pale skin and quite a lot of moles so I am always looking for a product with a high SPF that I can wear daily. I have tried so many different sunscreens I have lost count. Most have either been too greasy / heavy or have not offered high enough protection.

I love the fact that Invisible Zinc contains 20% Zinc Oxide. This is by far the highest concentration I have come across in a daily moisturiser and so this product gives excellent UVA and UVB protection.

Given the high zinc oxide percentage I had expected this product to be greasy and / or to leave a white case. So far I have not had either problem. It sinks into my skin beautifully and makes a lovely base for foundation. I have also not noticed any white cast - but then again I am very pale naturally so it's possible that it just doesn't show on me.

The only thing that I would say is that you do need to be careful to remove this product properly as it is long lasting (which is good but it can cause breakouts if it is not removed thoroughly at night). I double cleanse, firstly with Emma Hardie Amazing Face Cleansing Balm and secondly with a facewash from First Aid Beauty and I find that this removes it completely - I have not had any issues with breakouts as long as I am careful to cleanse properly.

If you are looking for a good everyday SPF then I would highly recommend trying Invisible Zinc. I can't imagine using anything else now.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 7/11/2012 1:38:00 PM More reviews by Jstar2009

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Officially my HG sunscreen product. I used to use La Roche Posay sunscreens and whilst I love mexoryl, I'm not too keen on the avobenzone/octocrylene combination. The free radical damage induced by these chemical sunscreens, I believe, are worse than those caused the scant British sun. Since using zinc sunscreens, along with CE Ferulic and Revale coffeeberry serum, I look like I've had a face-lift! I know I'm young, but the harsh chemical sunscreens were making my face look greasy and gaunt! I know for a fact I look healthier without them- my eyes look alive and perky.


Although the ESP does not leave as much as a white-cast as the face/body sunscreen from Invisible Zinc, your skin will look paler with this on. Proof that the product is protecting you, in my opinion. I have read that there are concerns over nanotechnology zinc which, although leaves no white cast, may not be as protective as micronized zinc (which Invisible Zinc uses). I have the advantage that my skin is pale and I can get away with wearing this alone- it covers all my blemishes! Olive, darker skin types may find the white-cast a bit of a hurdle.


When I remove this at night (with an AHA cleanser- usually Murad), my complexion looks even and bright and face feels firm. I think for pale skin types, along with antioxidant serums, this is a very effective sunscreen that is perfect for everyday use for the face (I even apply a layer on my eye lids!). For my neck and hands I apply a layer of the face/body sunblock from the Invisible Zinc range. I buy mine from BeautyWorksWest.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 11/3/2011 6:54:00 PM More reviews by alexju

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Been using this, and UV perfect Loreal SPF 30+ and Ultraceutical Protective Daily Moisturiser SPF 30+.

I don't like the fact that ESP leave a white cast feels thick and oily especial on hot whether. But out of the three product I tried. ESP doesn't irritate my super oily skin. and seems to protect me very well.

Update: It really does protect very well ! My skin has calm down a lot since I switched back to it and seems to be lighter in colour after I washed off my face at night.
Australian sunscreen is really one of the best you could find interm of protection. A lot of other sunscreen from USA has to be downgrade to SPF 15 from SPF 30 in order to be able to sell here in Australia.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 9/15/2011 12:54:00 AM More reviews by Anna12345

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

It should be called Visible Zinc because it is not invisible. It leaves a nasty white film on your face which looks strange even under makeup.

I'm a huge believer in using sunscreen everyday and I liked the idea of applying zinc to my face but this product was really disappointing. It is way too thick and tacky.

I would recommend Olay SPF 30 sunscreen and ASAP moisturiser containing sunscreen because these are great under makeup and let your skin breathe. Plus they dry quickly and act as a primer/makeup base.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/8/2011 4:27:00 AM More reviews by mrsminniver

Age: 44-55 Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Coarse Eyes: Black

Am using my 2nd bottle. Am residing in France and there is no way I will put any other sunscreen on my face because no one makes sunscreen better than Australia. Makes for a lovely primer under my foundation (CD Capture Totale, for the moment). No breakouts, no greasiness, just perfect for me because my skin is combo to dry. However, I've been told by beauty reps to wait 5 minutes for sunscreen to sink into the skin before applying your foundation, she said this was important to remember.

Also, I like the packaging since the pump dispenses all of the lotion and there isn't wastage. Will be buying a truckload when I head back to Australia. Oh, and by the way, there isn't an unpleasant scent which usually is present in most sunscreens. This particular product in the Invisible Zinc range is pretty much scentless...another big plus.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 4/4/2011 1:26:00 AM More reviews by liefje

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

I liked how there is high zinc oxide content in this sunscreen, but unfortunately, it left a white cast on my olive complexion.
It worked well under my foundation, and didn't make my skin oiler during the day. I also liked the packaging.
I won't be repurchasing as I am moving more towards completely natural, organic skincare and this doesn't fit the bill. I think its also breaking me out as well along the jaw as you really need to have a good cleanser to remove this from your skin.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/8/2011 10:00:00 PM More reviews by kime26

Age: 36-43 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have extremely fair skin wiith lots of moles and live in Australia. For years I tried hard to wear sunscreen but hated the stuff. I kinda got used to using Clinique City Block until Invisible Zinc came on the market a few years ago. This is truly the best sunscreen for me. it works!! I'm out in the sun some days with only this applied and I don't get burnt... and boy do I usually burn! I must say though the smell could be better and it is a little sticky when first applied but I don't feel it the rest of the day and my skin feels soft. I do use a light foundation on the top and both combined give a lovely fresh dewey look. I think though by using this over the years my freckles have cleared completely and I have a really fresh complexion at 40.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 12/14/2010 10:20:00 PM More reviews by gioja

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

If you are looking for physical sunscreens this is doubtless one of the best ones available. It contains 20% micronized zinc oxide and offers this way the best broadband protection not only from UVB and short UVA but also from long UVA waves. Best of all is that zinc oxide, in micronized form, is not absorbed by the skin like most of the chemical sunscreens but builds an invisible shield against the UV-rays remaining effective and photo-stable on your skin all day, unless you wipe it off.

The texture is light and creamy, almost like fluffy whipped cream. It has not scent and can be easily spread on the skin without leaving an obvious white cast but only a very light "veil' like when I use a primer. The good thing is in fact, that it works almost like a makeup base. The adhesion of any makeup, including on the eyelids, is much better and it makes my usually not so good lasting foundations/powders/shadows last actually very long.

The high amount of zinc oxide can be sometimes a little drying, what is good for my t-zone, but not for the skin around my eyes but I only need to apply a generous amounts of moisturizer before.
Also, zinc oxide can sometimes provoke some itching, especially the first days of use, but on the other side it is also antibacterial and for this reason very good for acne-prone skin. When I use it my skin is clear and without any kind of bemishes. I always double wash my face at night so I havn't had any problems with clogged pores until now.

The only thing I really don't like is that Australian companies don't list the ingredients on the product packages so you don't really know what is in it.

I have found the ingredients:
Aqua, Zinc Oxide (20%), C12-15 Alkyl Benzoate, Isostearyl Neopentanoate, Cyclopentasiloxane, Glycerin, Methyl Glucose Sesquistearate, Cetearyl Alcohol, Cetearyl Glucoside, PEG-20 Methyl Glucose Sesquistearate, Xanthan Gum, Diazolidinyl Urea, Benzyl Alcohol, Butylene Glycol, Citrus Medico Limonum (Lemon) Fruit Extract, Fumaria Officinalis Extract, Fumaric Acid, Disodium EDTA, Tocopheryl Acetate

UPDATE 2014: Still one of my favourite sunscreens, especially in summer because it is moisturizing and at the same time it works like a primer. I love it!!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 10/25/2010 4:06:00 AM More reviews by barsoap

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I cannot recommend this for the face unfortunately. I stuck with this for approximately two and a half weeks after which I cannot stand it anymore and had to buy my old trusty Shiseido Ultimate Sun Protection Lotion. ESP stings my face sometimes upon application, accentuates and clings onto flakes no matter how much I moisturize, leaves white residue on the sides of my face no matter how I blend it in, and worst of all: CONSISTENTLY makes me itchy, and gives me irritation and rashes when I put it on. My facial skin has become markedly more sensitive after I used this. I now use it on my neck and hands because this just won't do for the face. Will not repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 4/9/2010 12:45:00 AM More reviews by MayeRaye

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

On to my 2nd lot of this stuff and love it! It doesnt make my skin greasy or oily plus zinc is the most effective way to block out the sun, so im getting the highest protection. It is a bit thicker than other sunscreens/moisturizers but ive never ever broke out from it (which i normally do with sunscreen).

Sticking with this stuff for a looooooooong time!

Is this review helpful? Yes No