Sleek True colour lipstick

3.8

35 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ethylhexyl Palmitate Bis-Diglyceryl Polyacyladipate-2 Euphoria Cerifera (Candelilla Wax) Polybutene Microcrystalline wax Petrolatum Ceresin Propylparaben Tocopheryl Acetate MAY CONTAIN: Mica Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891) Iron Oxide (CI 77489) Red 6 Lake (CI 15850:2) Red 7 Lake (CI 15850) Red 27 Lake (CI 45410:2) Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090) Red 33 Lake (CI 17200) Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140) Yellow 6 Lake (CI 15985) Yellow 10 Lake (CI 47005) Bismuth Oxychloride (CI 77163) Manganese Violet (CI 77742) Carmine (CI 75470) Tin Oxide (CI 77861) Calcium Sodium Borosilicate Synthetic Fluorphlogopite


on 6/18/2015 3:23:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

First of all I got dry lips, I'm a NC42 with pigmented lips.
I got the shades Barely there and Peaches. I don't like them at all.
They cost 5 GBP and come in big variety of shades.

I really had high hopes for these little suckers "literally". So many people are raving about them and I watched many videos on Youtube before I decided to purchase them.

They go on patchy and the colors looks so un-natural, not flattering at all. They lay on the lips as a film and doesn't work well with my lips. In the tube they look beautiful, but once applies they just look strange. There is something with the texture that I can't stand. They just feel waxy,dry and not moisturizing whatsoever. I do not recommend this to people with dry lips! They also look almost neon colored on the lips but not to the extreme.

Packaging is nice and rubberized and a hint smaller than the regular bullets out there. But they are also not completely round, which makes it tricky to put back the lid. Not the biggest issue, but another downside to the product which makes me dislike it even more.

I would skip these and get either Wetnwild or Rimmel's Lasting finish "Kate Moss" lipstick for cheaper or same prices! Not recommended at all!



on 4/20/2015 6:07:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Newsflash...if you are a student, in- between jobs, have dependents to pay for, or are a frustrated woman of colour(WOC) on a budget...

Try Sleek !How can you not love this WOC friendly range for under 5?

I own five shades : Exxaggerate, Heartbreaker, Vamp, Cherry and Smother.

Pros: so many colours. Lots of good strong colour payoff. The Matt lipsticks like Vamp and Heartbreaker are beautiful and much, higher quality than the price suggests. (Or maybe all our dearly loved brands just charge too much).

Exxaggerate is also a far more long lasting alternative purple lipstick to Mac's Heroine, because Heroine fades to pink over a very short time frame (1-2h) where Exaggerate remains true blue for as long as its on. Heartbreaker is extremely pretty in the sun and everyone thinks it's something I bought from a Mac counter.

Cons: I'm not full of as much praise for the sheen finishes, mainly due to their short- lasting nature. Cherry slips and slides and gets everywhere, then needs reapplying seemingly hourly. Smother is a gorgeous colour which looks how I would have loved Mac's Rebel to turn out, but has the same sheen- finish issues - needs constant reapplying.

Another con I guess is that matte shades are drying - but this is like saying swimming pools are wet , who cares, that's what you pay for!

Overall I highly recommend them !

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Red, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really wanted to like this, as I'd heard such good things about the brand. It just didn't work for me however.

The shade I tried was Russian Red. It's rather tricky to apply and I dislike the shape of the bullet, as I found it didn't help with the application at all. It felt uncomfortable and drying almost immediately, even though I always apply a balm before lipstick. I couldn't bear to wear it for very long and washed it off in fairly short order.

On the positive side, the shade was pretty, and if you aren't as bothered by the feel of this on your lips as I was, it is a decent budget option.


on 2/6/2015 5:45:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Bought the shade Russian Roulette which is a deep/dark matte red. Overall I liked it and would definatly buy it again.
Pros
-Matte
-Affordable
-Suits my NW45 skin tone so well

Cons
-A bit drying
-Had to apply it once more during the day


on 1/2/2015 11:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I don't like this lipstick.

I bought it in Exxxaggerate, which looks like a lovely mid-purple, and is supposed to be Matte, it is not matte on me it is irritatingly sparkly.

I have to swipe loads of times to get a good colour, it is not very pigmented at all, and also although it is not matte it still managed to dry my lips out.

It feathered even using the sleek lipliner that matches, and the colour was streaky all over my lips I could not get an even colour at all.

Saying that, if you cover your lips in liner first and then use this you can get an alright colour, which is probably worth it considering the price tag.

The packaging is cool and I do like it being slightly different to a standard lipstick tube, although I did wish it was round because getting the oval lid back on confused drunk me and took me a whole 2 minutes to figure out.


on 12/3/2014 1:29:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I purchased this lipstick in the shade cherry which is a beautiful dark red. I was dying to find a dark red for the autumn/winter months and this is the perfect colour! It's lighter than the swatch on the website which looks very dark and almost brown instead of red. It's highly pigmented and stains the lip, but doesn't dry them out. It is difficult to take off so I make sure to put on lots of lip balm beforehand and I do notice it smudges quite easily, but it's a great lippie for the price!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 11/28/2014 8:35:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I got this in mystic. it's matte...and when I say matte it's like chalk but in a good way. there's no shine whatsoever. I don't feel like i'm wearing anything but it doesn't dry my lips out. it's such a vivid colour and lasted 8 hours on me without needing to touch up. now that's what I call a wonder lipstick!!!!


on 10/29/2014 2:22:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Very Oily, Dark, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Black

I've never worn lipstick before but I wanted to try something new this winter. I bought a 24hr lipstick by another brand and the staying power was amazing but they didnt have any dark colours and I was struggling with options available because of my skin tone. The bright reds and hot pinks just didnt seem to work with my warm undertones.

I bought the Sleek True Colour lipstick in Mulberry. Its a deep rich plum colour that I thought would work for me and I couldn't seem to find something like it at any of the other high street brands in store. Its really beautiful. I got a lot of compliments at work. (Although, I think its more of an evening colour)
I had to reapply after lunch as this is not waterproof and that's why I scored it 4/5.
For 4.99 though, its good value for money and I recommend. I normally apply lipbalm at least 4 times a day and I only added a bit of balm on top once today. Its very moisturising and I was going to try and find the same shade in a different brand for longevity but to reapply once is satisfactory for now.


Age: 30-35

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Grey

I bought two shades of this - Mystic, which is really great magenta/purple matte & Babydoll which is really pale pink sheen finish.

The colour payoff for Mystic is great, it suits me perfectly, I have a pale cool toned skin & dark hair. I don't find the matte formula to be that drying as other people have said, in fact I find it a lot nicer to wear that say Mac Ruby Woo.

Babydoll does feel more moisturising on the lips but I do find the colour goes on a bit patchy & is not as pigmented as the matte shade. This was going straight onto my lips though & I think it would benefit from going on over a base as my lips are quite pink.

Overall for the price these are great, the colour selection is amazing & there are some good dupes for a lot of the mac mainline colours (eg, Smother = Rebel, Vamp = Diva). You can buy three Sleek colours for the prince of one Mac (plus you only get 3g in Mac & 3.5g in Sleek) & I don't find the staying power or pigmentation to be compromised by the low price.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 4/19/2014 8:18:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I purchased True Colour lipstick Sheen in Barely There. I am American, so I purchased on a trip at a Superdrug in a London suburb wanting to try Sleek Makeup. I found out later, however, that those in the U.S. can purchase Sleek makeup online.

The color is pigmented and such a pretty pink/almost nude. This was around five quid (about $8) and totally worth it! It is true that it does show chapped lips, but no more than MAC matte lipsticks (plus you can just add a bit of gloss or balm to prevent it from looking chapped). You do need to re-apply since it's a natural pink shade, but no more times than other lipsticks that are similar shades. The lipstick does not have any strange makeup flavors nor scent. It is easily comparable to MAC, but half the price.

The packaging is very nice compared to other drug store brands (the lipstick container doesn't feel like the usual typical flimsy plastic and even comes in a box like dept store makeup).


Popular Lipsticks


Velvet Teddy
Velvet Teddy
215 Reviews
Liquid Lipstick
Liquid Lipstick
26 Reviews

Recommended for Medium Skin



Top Rated Sleek Products

image

idivine palette

93 reviews
image

Storm Palette

97 reviews
image

Contour Kit

96 reviews
Back to Top