Boots No.7 Protect and Perfect Foundation

3.8

16 reviews

62% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 7/12/2015 6:14:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

This product is mega underrated. I bought it a few days ago on a whim as I needed a replacement for my Neutrogena but wanted something new; this was only $2 more.
It's runny so it needs to be shaken well before use. Pump dispenser is awesome. This is one of very few foundations that matches the swatch perfectly.
It's a lot like MAC Face&Body but much cheaper. Blends so well, does not sink into lines, or cling to problem spots.
I will repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 4/15/2015 11:13:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is my favourite foundation. I've used it for several years, try other foundations because I get bored but always come back to this. I personally find it gives light, natural looking coverage, not as shiny as a tinted moisturiser , but leaves a subtle glowy, dewy finish. As my skin gets older and becomes more "peachskin" in texture( not the taut apple peel skin of my twenties anymore), I appreciate light cover more and more - anything heavier sits on my skin and looks very fake and highlights any lines or bumps. This is perfect for me. Sometimes it is a little dewier than I want, which a tiny dusting of loose powder soon fixes.
The colour range is good. The testing device matched me to Warm Ivory, which I found too yellow and made me look sallow. I switched to Cool Vanilla and it is perfect for me - neutral rather than pink or yellow. And I love that it has SPF15.
I would be very upset if this was ever discontinued!


on 1/11/2015 4:37:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Product is reasonably good for price, mine usually ran out after 2-3 months...and I used mine daily! The colour match system didn't work for me at all...even though I had it done in store. As a warm toned woman, the system gave me a completely wrong match and made me look extremely orange.
After you find the correct colour, nothing better really happens, The foundation is very wet and practically sits on the skin, making the face look oily and unperfected. It highlights all of your imperfections, and as someone who needs heavy concealer for under the eyes...it didn't work for me at all! It makes all products basically un-blendable...making everything look cakey and disgusting.
The foundation also comes in a frosted bottle, so you only know when you've come to the end when nothing comes out anymore. A lot of the product also sticks to the bottle, so you end up throwing loads away.


on 9/13/2014 2:02:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

PROS:
+ Packaging... beautiful + functional + sanitary pump
+ Hides redness
+ Feels light

CONS:
- Packaging... frosted glass, can't see how much product is left
- Does not blend
- Sits on top of skin
- Cakey
- Clumps up in eyebrows
- Highlights imperfections... pores, lines, dry patches, bumps
- The longer it is on, the worse it looks
- Streaks... got home after a day of wearing this and there were visible streaks where I must have brushed up against my face at some point throughout the day.
- Starts to look shiny later in the day

Note: The other Boots foundation "Lift & Luminate" is amazing. This one was a real let down in comparison.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/23/2014 1:14:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Silver, Other, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I finally finished my Dior Forever Flawless compact foundation only to discover that Dior no longer makes the refill for this beautiful compact. I could not justify spending over $50 on another compact. After reading mostly fair to good reviews, I purchased the Boots No.7 Protect and Perfect foundation in Cool Vanilla and have been using for a week. So far so good! It's very liquidy and must be shaken thoroughly prior to applying. Use care when pumping as too much product will come out. I apply with fingers but a foundation brush is great to even out. It covers well and leaves a soft matte finish. I follow with Boots Botanicals Blush in Coral (really its a cool pink) and that too has beautiful coverage (much better than some high ends like Mercier). I use a complementary shade of the Boots moisture lipstick (another Boots product that's just as good or better than Dior or Mercier lipsticks). I'm liking the Boots mascara too.

I'm a strong believer in "you get what you pay for," but this no longer applies to high end cosmetics, which has become a huge racket. I think many of these higer end brands sell their products based on marketing and palette displays and not on actual quality. I am convinced there are less expensive products that perform just as well or better.

Update July 16: The Boots liquid is a decent foundation but slightly drying. There was ashen oxidation and the foundation did emphasize the dry patches on my chin. No breakouts, but I reverted back to my Dior Forever Flawless powder foundation which is easier to use and better for my skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This product works very well for me. It goes on light and provides pretty decent coverage for how liquidy it is. It comes in a pump bottle which I also like.

I will say the first time I tried this, I was disappointed. It didn't seem to cover well and I felt the color was really off. The next day and every day thereafter - it's been great. Maybe I didn't shake the bottle well enough the first time? But I like the way my skin looks with this foundation, especially in combination with Maybelline's instant age rewind eraser/dark spot concealer. It leaves a nice soft finish and it's one of the only foundations I've ever tried that doesn't settle into the fine lines around my eyes and make them look even worse. I think the diffisuing beads work well for me because I really feel like my skin looks younger today than it did a couple of years ago. Will definitely continue to use, especially since it's so cheap!

BTW, I will be 47 in a couple months and have light, uneven skin with larger pores.


on 5/11/2014 2:04:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

FINALLY!!!! This foundation matches my skin perfectly. I break-out incredibly easy and get oily, but my skin can look flaky with the wrong foundation. But this one is perfect. It makes me look dewy but not shiny. I even use it under my eyes instead of concealer. It's perfect! And one bottle lasts me at least 6 months! I use my fingers to put it on my skin and a face brush to buff it in.


on 3/16/2014 8:04:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I'm a foundation junkie, but time and again, I go back to this one. It's become my holy grail. I would describe my skin as highly sensitive and mature. My skin feels not only hydrated with this foundation, but down right pampered with the Protect and Perfect serum in it. I am 44 and I can't tell you how many times I've gotten compliments on my skin and asked what I'm using. I have been told that I look under 30, easy. I owe that to genetics and the Protect & Perfect products from No 7.

Calico is a great match for my NC15-20 skin. I would say that the finish is dewey and fresh, with a coverage that is medium and easily buildable, without ever looking caked on. This foundation never settles into pores or the little lines I'm trying to cover. It never changes color on me. A touch of powder on the T-zone and you're good. I have had to touch up the T-zone by the end of the day as well. Not a bother to me, really. Not when it's perfect in every other way. Oh and priced at under $15, often on sale ($11.99 this week!) and always in stock at my nearest Target? Yes, Holy Grail.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/24/2013 12:28:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I really like this product & switched after using Lancôme for years. Brilliant colour match, great cover & lasts all day, great price too. Good packaging too- smart but not too fussy & easy to dispense. Only complaint is feels a little powdery. Would definitely buy again 😃

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/10/2013 9:57:00 AM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

I really like this foundation. Living in the desert, the SPF that it has, is a plus. I like how smooth and light it goes on with medium coverage. It literally feels like I have nothing on, yet covers nicely. It's got to be one of the best I have ever tried. The shade I chose, Cool Ivory, in spite of ordering it on line, was perfect too. The price? I only paid $11.99 through Drugstore.com.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top