September 30, 2014 | 1780 users online

Powder - Femme Couture - Mineral Effects Mineral Makeup



image 0

rated 3.6(28 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.6
  • 64% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.8
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 5 of 5 on 9/2/2013 3:10:00 PM More reviews by hlovespearl

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

This is an amazing mineral foundation. It has very very full coverage and you get a lot of product for the price. This is my favorite powder foundation and I will continue to use it and repurchase when I am out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/19/2013 2:38:00 PM More reviews by LaSH1980

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have been using this mineral foundation for several months. I am middle-of-the-road about this foundation. How it looks and holds up throughout the day really depends on how I prep my face before applying. (Of course, that is true with any foundation). Without a prep, the powder looks dry and flaky AND oily. However, it works well with a good moisturizer and/or a tinted moisturizer. (I am currently using a Philosophy tinted moisturizer). The less active I am during the day the less oily it looks; the more active I am the more oily it looks. The plus is I have tried worse powder foundations. No matter what product I use I have to use oil blotting paper. I do still have to use concealer due to my acne prone skin. I cannot say to whether this product causes acne though, because most makeup does cause my skin to break out. I can say that with the proper steps this product does look good. I use the medium tan and the medium beige. They have a matte finish that buffs on, actually, really well and evens out my skin tone perfectly. A little goes a long way! The medium tan does appear a little gray on my skin but looks fine mixed with the medium beige. I'm not sure if I would buy this product again or not. Like other powder foundations it does rub off and tends to look splotchy towards mid to late day.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 3/17/2012 5:47:00 AM More reviews by CurlySimone

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have oily skin and my skin tone is medium brown. I decided to try this mineral powder foundation because the previous manufacturer I used to buy mineral powder foundation from no longer makes it for women with dark tones. I decided to try Sally's brand and although it glides on smoothly, my face is shining within 30 minutes of applying it on my face. Also, it doesn't completely cover my blemishes and the more you put on, the more the orange/red tones appear on my skin, so I definitely need a concealer. This is a great product if you have normal to dry skin with no or very little blemishes/dark spots, but just not for me. Although it's not a full coverage; possibly buildable coverage, it does feel feather-weight and goes on effortlessly. If I didn't have oily skin I would probably continue using it- but in a different color.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 2/19/2012 12:18:00 AM More reviews by CG1981

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium Eyes: Green

I keep this in my purse. It does not do the job of a base foundation for coverage , but its great as a setting powder or to refresh after several hours or just look more awake/put together. It instantly brightens my face. It has a slight shimmer, it is not matte, but i don't mind that. The color selection is off though. I bought this twice because my first broke (packaging sucks for purse) and the medium was different the two times i bought it. I also bought one for my sister and again, the shade was vastly different than the others. Once the medium was perfect for me and once the tan was, and it was not a different season! Quality control is off, but this is a good product and overall i would buy again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/25/2012 1:33:00 PM More reviews by strangechild

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

Not impressed at all with this product. I am NW20 fair skinned, and the Fair shade is simply too light for me and offered virtually no coverage of blemishes and redness.


Just by looking at the Fair and next shade darker, Neutral, next to each other you can see how different they are. Fair appears to be a neutral, almost cool porcelain tone, while the Neutral looks very YELLOW. On my face the Neutral only works to emphasize my shine and large pores. It also REFUSED to meld with my skin in any way and instead just sat there like a kabuki mask. I was extremely aware that I was wearing foundation and I was afraid to touch my face in any way. As a mineral makeup it did not do much for my skin in a positive way, but it also did not make me break out.

*PROS*
Decent amount of product for a reasonable price
Easy to apply, blends easily
*CONS*
Strange colors, limited selection
Satiny finish, not the best for oily skin
Moves around very easily, beware if you have an itch or need to blow your nose

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/23/2011 6:37:00 PM More reviews by Dreviola

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Love, love, love! I have been using this product every day for 2 years :) It gives me full coverage with a small amount of product, and makes my (very sensitive) skin look flawless! BUT, don't cake this makeup on! A little bit goes a long way, so use less than you think you need. I use neutral (the lighter one).

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/10/2011 10:47:00 PM More reviews by sexylovie84

Age: 25-29 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

THANK GOD FOR THIS PRODUCT!!!! I no longer have to wear heavy liquid foundation to even out! my face is lighter than the rest of my body, but this stuff matches my tan and blends perfectly. I even have a backup stored away! I use the ecotools big powder brush, because I like the coverage more; with sponges it can be streaky or too heavy. This stuff makes my skin look fresh, smooth, PORELESS!! it just feels like quality. the only thing I don't like about it, is that it isn't a matte formula. so sometimes I use this as my foundation with a matte powder in my shiny spots. I love this!!!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 2/21/2011 2:07:00 PM More reviews by sallysellsseashells

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

Overall Rating: 3.6. I didn't like this at all when I first used it. I've learned that this powder makeup is very fussy and requires a bit of skill. First of all, I hate the sponge it comes with because it gives a caked up powdery finish. I recommed using a large dense kabuki brush for a more natural finish but still giving good coverage. You can build up cover nicely with a kabuki. I got medium cover with just two layers. If you have mild under eye circles or minor blemishes, you might not need concealer with this. Second, make sure you moisturize before using this! Without moisturizer, or if you tend to have dry skin, it will cling to flakes. Third, I recommend you use a primer to make this work better. Without a primer, it can make pores look huge. My skin in the winter is dry and flakey on my cheeks and a very oily tzone. I still needed moisturizer to make this work. But, after 7 hours, my entire face was oily and I needed to blot. So, keep in mind, even though this is a pressed powder, it does nothing to combat oil. As for the ingredients, I liked that this doesn't contain talc and oils. But, this does have bismuth. This also contains mica and if you use a heavy hand, it can come off as too "sheeny" on the face. I'm experiencing some itching on only one side of my cheek and I can't rule this as the culprit just yet. As for the staying power, it's average. On a 30 degree winter day, it will last most of the day. But, any physical labor, exercise or humidity, this will not last as long. Also, a very good quality is that I experienced no oxidizing with this. Lastly, I find that the pressed powder version of Femme Couture's Mineral Effects foundation lacks the many color choices that the loose version offers. However, I did find luck with the color "Medium" Medium is a neutral with a hint of peach in it. I got no obvious pink or yellow tone with this shade. I also want to mention that the pacagaing is very nice. It is a large round matte black compact with a clear plastic dome and a vented compartment on the bottom for the "useless" sponge. Femme Couture is a Sally Beauty Supply brand and retails for $12.99. I wouldn't repurchase this because it's hard to work with and doesn't control oil.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 2/13/2011 11:51:00 AM More reviews by Tresha

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Tan, Neutral Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

Great color selection for tan skin, looks beautiful and glowing on my skin,but this had absolutely no oil control, and I got very shiny shorty after putting it on. The powder got weird and bumpy on top. I used it with my Nars primer, and still it didn't hold up in the Vegas heat.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/19/2010 10:11:00 AM More reviews by netandritha

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Great overall product! Covers all my blemishes well and makes my face look so radiant! Packaging kinda stinks though!

Is this review helpful? Yes No