October 21, 2014 | 1732 users online

Powder - Mirabella - Pure Press Foundation



image 0image 1

rated 4.5(8 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.5
  • 87% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.8
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/6/2014 2:02:00 PM More reviews by Janay

Age: 44-55 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I recently had a make over at my salon and got a chance to try several of Mirabella's products. I purchased my favorites and have been using them for a few weeks. This foundation is one of my favorites. I'm using shade II, which is a lighter shade with a yellow undertone. It provides light to medium coverage. Using the sponge gives heavier coverage, and layering it over Mirabella's Skin Tint Foundation gives really full coverage that feels surprisingly light (that's a great look for special evenings out and for close-up photographs). I've been using the Pure Press Foundation by itself for daily wear, and I apply it with a brush for lighter coverage. The silicon helps to give it a smooth finish, but people should beware if silicon irritates their skin. Although it does not have an SPF rating, it contains titanium dioxide which is in most physical sunscreens. It lasts through a full day of work as long as I don't keep touching my face (bad habit - must stop!). I'd give it a 5 if it had an SPF rating and would not rub off. But it's very good mineral foundation otherwise with a reasonable price point.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 6/4/2011 12:14:00 PM More reviews by AudgePodgeBup

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I have struggled with finding a good foundation for my oily/dry/combo skin. I was using bare minerals for a couple of years and I loved how pretty it looked but a few hours into my day it was essentially melting off my face and pooling up because of my oil. I kept using it anyways because it didn't really seem to break me out per say. I eventually got the matte one, and it still just wasn't great. An esthetician told me to get Mirabella, because we sell it at my work, and she said the particles in the Bare Minerals are too small and are most likely clogging my pores which could be the cause for my acne. She told me the Mirabella Pure Press has larger particles and shouldn't clog my pores as easily. So I bought it (I get an employee discount) with hestitation, because everything seems to break me out.

So far so good! No breakouts that aren't my usual breakouts, the coverage is good. I use a brush, not the sponge that comes with it. I really do like this foundation and I will probably repurchase. Only thing I don't like is that I don't believe it contains an SPF and it also somewhat goes on fairly dry. But as the day goes on my oil comes up and it is fine.

All in all I will give this a 4 out of 5 and I will repurchase because I do really like it.

The smell is a bit strange, but I don't smell it while I am wearing it, so that is good. :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 1/31/2011 3:44:00 PM More reviews by ColdFire

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine Eyes: Brown

I have oily, acne-prone skin - the lady that does my facials suggested mineral makeup, and they sell Mirabella at the salon so I got a compact of their pressed powder foundation.
First of all, their shade 2 is a spot-on color match for me, which is awesome.
I was told to use this as a foundation over concealer and maybe a primer, applied with a kabuki brush. I found that there was not enough coverage in the powder to use it as my sole foundation. Even if I busted out my most opaque concealers, Physician's Formula Rx and/or Maybelline's Cover Stick, the powder still wasn't sufficient.
This kept me off liquid foundation for a good while, but I finally gave up and tried the Boots No. 7 Lifting & Firming (which is now my favorite liquid foundation ever). On a whim, I tried the Mirabella over the liquid, and oh my god. Perfection. The liquid covers well on its own, then I cover any spots I might have, and finally dust my face with this. If I need more coverage from the powder, I use the sponge to lightly press the powder into the spots where I concealed. Using this routine, my face looks amazing all day. The powder does not cake, but it does transfer a little.
So, I'd say that if you have fairly good skin and don't need a ton of coverage, you'd be ok with just the powder (I'd put it at light to medium coverage on its own). When you put it with a liquid foundation, the results are more on the full coverage side. It is quite expensive, but I think it's worth the money because I've never had a powder like this. If I use it in dabs like I've been doing recently, the compact should last a good while. I've had this current pan for almost 5 months and I'm scraping the sides to make sure I get every last bit out. You can get it in salons, from the Mirabella website, or sometimes on Amazon.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/14/2010 10:28:00 PM More reviews by ginny88

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I read the comments on MUA and decided to give this foundation a try since I was looking for a foundation that controls oil and so far the previous reviews have given me the confidence to buy it. I normally don't use primer because I believe the less product you put on your face the better. This is probably the reason why my t-zone gets very shiny during mid-day. I usually first apply moisturizer, then concealer, foundation, and Shu Uemura finishing powder before heading out of the house. Even I stay indoor most of the time, by mid-day I already have to blot my t-zone because it gets very shiny. I don't know if using a primer would help?

The coverage is nice, though. It evens out your skin and makes it look very nice without that cakey feeling. Nonetheless, I probably wont repurchase this product because no one has mentioned anything about the smell! it smells horrible. I disliked the smell right when I opened it, but the reason why I kept it to use was because I didn't want to go through the hassle of returning it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 1/19/2010 10:58:00 AM More reviews by redmakeup

Age: 25-29 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Green

I love this stuff. It covers great. It does however transfer pretty easily so you cant hug people with it on. Very gentle to my skin and i also use it under my eyes with no problem and it covers my dark circles extremely well and doesn't crease at all which all other things tend to do. Very nice. I always try something else and then tend to come back to this. They seem to keep increasing the price of it over the years and that is kinda disconcerning.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 5/5/2009 8:54:00 PM More reviews by Sockknitter

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I'm a busy, working mom and was looking for an easy, do-it-all foundation that I could put on quickly in the mornings with little effort. This is definitely it...I've used BE for years but was tired of the mess. My sister picked this up for me (shade #2) at her beauty supply store. At first, I thought it was too yellow and heavy but I tried it again using my Jane Iredale puff and it goes on smoothly and evenly. I'm 1/2 way through my third pan of it so it must be good!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 11/7/2008 2:41:00 PM More reviews by ragingpunk

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

This company is pretty much only available in salons, spas, or to professional cosmetologists. I am a cosmetology student (will be a professional in 5 months) I have a special card that allows me to shop in professional only supply stores..and I get a nice discount!. This is how I came across this amazing makeup. I attended the Emiliani American Glamour Festival with my class last month and I purchased a special promotional kit including a full size pure press compact, their kabuki brush and a sample of their primer. I love it all! The brush is fantastic as well! I was using BE (not on a regular basis) before I found this. BE seemed to cake on in certain areas and also make my pores appear large. So therefore I never wore foundation or any makeup on my skin because I have good skin to begin with. I will only use makeup on my face if the ingredients are natural and clean and healthy. This product intrigued me because not only is it pure minerals, but it is also a pressed powder, so clean and easy to apply (i cant stand the mess that loose powder makes!) it goes to so evenly and smooth! I got a pretty light shade to try because I didnt want my face to appear much darker than my body so I go the light kit which contained the color 1.5. It turned out to be way to light for my skin but other than that, I fell in love with this product, it feels like silk when I put it on and you can't tell I have makeup on, my skin just looks flawless. Immediately I went back to the supply store and purchased a darker color to give me a little hint of color as well. Sometimes I blend the 2 colors together, using the light one under my eyes and the darker one on my cheekbones and then I mix the two colors and apply all over my face. this stuff my my HG foundation! I already have bought one for my sister in law and already repurchased for myself! i love it!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/15/2008 2:17:00 AM More reviews by jen28

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Other

(REVIEW FOR MIRABELLA PURE PRESS POWDER FOUNDATION I use Makeupalley for alot of my purchases as far as makeup goes, although I have never written a review on anything yet. That is because I have never found anything either in makeup OR skin care products that I have been soo satisfied with to write a review until NOW. I am always willing to try new products. I have VERY oily skin with large pores that are easily clogged with uneven skin tone and acne prone as well as blackheads. So needless to say I have had a VERY hard time finding a skin care regimen as well as makeup that will do what it needs for my skin to look nice all day. Well I have spent sooo much money on soooo much stuff you wouldn't believe. MAKEUP: a brand that I don't see much of on MUA but I bought it on a whim at a new hair salon and it is soooo nice!! It's a pressed powder that after minute of applying it smooths out your face and looks so healthy. A little glow but NO SHINE! There IS a difference, TRUST ME! The pkg comes with a sponge but that tends to put too much on and caking so I put it on with a brush and its beautiful!! Its a mineral makeup without all the junk of other mineral makeup with great coverage. Out of all the mineral makeup, liquid, pressed this and that, THIS IS TRUELY the BEST! It seems to make my face look soo flawless and healthy, you wouldn't believe the transformation. It feels really lightweight and ACTUALLY feels healthy FOR my skin. It doesn't seem to have that harshy crap other stuff has, whatever that is but doesn't feel nice. Not many know about this brand I don't think so I wanted to spread the word. The cover is great too! Just don't apply too much. Apply it then come back and look at after a minute or two and you'll be amazed. No allergic reaction or anything either! The color match is perfect too! SKINCARE-Ole Henriksen ALL THE WAY BABY!! Best EVER EVER EVER! Three little wonders, the African Tea cleanser, the mask EVERYTHING. Just GET IT, its the best EVER and I wish I would have found out about it YEARS ago. Now I look more beautiful with the makeup and skincare than I EVER did before!!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No