November 24, 2014 | 2041 users online

Powder - MAC - Mineralize Skinfinish Natural in Deep



image 0

rated 4.3(33 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 4.3
  • 87% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 on 6/24/2013 1:42:00 AM More reviews by jacqzxc

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Medium Eyes: Black

The lady at the counter recommended this when I asked for something for contouring. When used too much it can be too orange for my skintone (NC35-40). I switch between this and benefit hoola. I like the hoola for a more defined contour though. I have heard great things about this powder but will repurchase one that suits my skintone and not this shade.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/15/2013 5:43:00 AM More reviews by nattiekins05

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

There's nothing I love more than venturing out and having a super splurge on makeup, that I wouldnt normally buy, or I know I shouldnt buy. While I have a lot of MAC makeup (definatly a guilty pleasure of mine), I have many similar products to the mineralized skin finish, so it was a splurge to me! I picked up MAC's famous Mineralize Skinfinish Natural powder last year, for around $26.50. I use it frequently; it definitely wasn't a waste of money, but it didn't live up to my expectations. MAC's Mineralize Skinfinish Powders are often used as setting powders for makeup, but can be used as a light foundation when applied wet (best to use MAC's Fix+ for this). I prefer using it as a setting powder, as I find it gives very little coverage when attempting to use it as a foundation; I like medium-heavy coverage, so if you're looking for something light and natural, you'd love this. The main reason I like this powder, is because it has lasted me absolutely ages! There's barely a dent made in the pan, and I've had it for at least 8 months. I love the packaging; it's simple and sturdy. It doesn't get too worn out and it's able to take a good beating amongst other makeup bag essentials. It's good to use as a setting powder, mainly because of the colour and glow it gives. It makes your skin look healthy and fresh, and keeps your foundation and concealer in place nicely. However, if you have oily-combination or dry-combination skin this doesn't work too well! I find that after an hour, my t-zone is incredibly oily again (especially around my nose) and the powder clings to the few dry spots on my face, and starts flaking off making me look all scaley (especially on and around my chin). I use a mattifying, translucent powder on my t-zone and apply this everywhere else on my face. I find this works alright applied over translucent powder, so it's ideal to pop into my handbag for touch-ups throughout the day. It's a fantastically light powder; suiting fair skin well - unlike a lot of powders out there claiming to be "porcelain", when in fact they make me look orange! It works best applied with a synthetic brush, also. Overall, it's a great powder, it just doesn't suit my skin type. Even after moisturizers for oily-combination skin and using a high end primer, it still doesnt seem to work out for me. It's 100% worth the money; probably one of the best MAC products I own, price-wise. If you're fair skinned and you have a normal skin time (not super oily or super try) and you happen to be looking for a nice powder for Summer, make sure to try this. I am very bummed it doesnt work well on my skin- however I am working on it! It is really hard to find products for my skin- because I dont have one spicifc 'type' of skin. I have a mild-oily T zone, a very dry chin and sometimes nose, normal cheeks. I try to even out the type and tone by using certain products on different parts of my face, but after a while it just becomes too much! So i will keep this in my arsenal of products and hang onto it until I can manage and get a hold of my skin type a little better. Usually when we are in transition of the different seasons, is when it seems to really act up. After a while and when the shift is over with, is when it seems to get a little better.

Overall, this product may not suit my skin right now, but I still love.and plan on using this product in the future. I would reccomend this product to any woman who is looking for a high end setting powder, with an excellent price to go with it. I love that this powder comes in different shades. One of my favorite setting powders (which just so happens to be E.L.F. brand, and pretty cheap) comes in translucent ONLY! I thought that all of them only came in translucent, which ended up being wrong. The translucent works well, but when your being photographed, there is a white cast that appears all over your face, when you are in pictures. Because Mac has shades to choose from, this is no longer a problem. Anyway. Its an excellent product, it suits many different shades and tones of women. I also love that MAC has a super flexible return policy- if you happen to dislike the product, or for some reason it just doesnt work for you, they will always take ot back and either exchange it for something else, or give you a full refund. This is very important to me, I will not shop anywhere where their return policy isnt 100% flexable, because of how hard it can be to get products that suit me and look good at the same time! I give this 5 lippies... it may not have worked out for me, but the product is exceptional... and I will reccomend it over and over!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 2/16/2013 4:42:00 AM More reviews by KB333

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I've been using this product for probably 3 or 4 years now. It's great coverage,very natural looking, and doesn't break me out. In fact I think it makes my skin better. For example, if I go a week without it my skin will eventually begin to look dull, yet when I use this powder and then take it off, I feel as if my skin looks better. Perhaps it's just me, but yeah...

Pricing is expensive, considering this is my HG powder, it hurts me every time I run out. It's like having to get an oil change :( lol. Painfully necessary.

I give it a 4 for packaging because it can get messy since the powder flys out, and has no mirror. 4 for pricing because its expensive, but affordable. And overall it's a 4, because I haven't tried other brand named powders so I don't want to seem biased lol. I'm sure there is a better one out there, I've just been too comfortable and lazy to search.

P.s. I now pair this with my smashbox camera ready tinted primer. Perfect!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 7/27/2012 12:08:00 PM More reviews by feveragnes

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I generally am a big fan of MAC MSFs, but not this one in Deep. I was tanned and I used MSF in Medium Dark on my NC30 skin, and I use MSF in Deep to contour my cheeks. It is 2 tones darker than Medium Dark, but sadlly it is of a completely DIFFERENT colour tone. It is not bronzed/beige/golden, but yellow. It is descibed as 'caramel brown' on the MAC website and they're right. It looks very unnatural on my skin, and doesn't fit into anyone's skintone because even darker skintones are not that yellowish!

The finish is alright, not the best among the range, a little bit cakey and the powder is quite loose (compared to other MSFs I own). But I don't use it at all now as the colour is just a complete turn-off on my skin, and other people's faces I've worked with.

Texture: 4/5
Function: 2/5
Pigmentation/ Colour: 1/5 a total disappointment in this category, too yellowish on all skintones, doesn't work as a bronzer or settling powder, very unnatural on tanned skin
Packaging: 4/5
Price: 3/5 €25.5 for 7g in Hong Kong, but I don't consider it a good price because it's not practical
Overall: 2.8/5

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 2/21/2012 8:20:00 AM More reviews by ljoseph29

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse Eyes: Brown

I love this powder!!! Anyone who has dark skin will not be disappointed! Unlike most powders I've used in the past, it doesn't leave an ashy appearance like most powders do. It goes on naturally and makes my skin look flawless and glow. My skin was not oily for 6 hours during the spring time and I've only touched up once. I give it a 4 because it won't stay on during the summer and I had to keep touching up throughout the day. Other than that, it is worth the money! :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/3/2011 10:20:00 AM More reviews by nola80

Age: 30-35 Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I originally bought this for bronzer like the SA suggested but overtime, when I looked at pictures it looked really orange on my skin. For months I didn't reach for this when one day I was in a rush to get ready at a friends house and didn't bring any eyeshadows. Well, I reached for this to use on my crease and lined my top line and it turned out to be a great "put together" look for me! I use this everyday now for my work look and also use as my bridge color for my smoky looks since It's slightly darker than my skin tone. I just realized the other day this color is very similar to texture without the slight shimmer. I said I wouldn't repurchase just because it will probably take years for me to hit pan.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/3/2011 4:07:00 AM More reviews by deehippolyte

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Cool Hair: Black, Kinky, Medium Eyes: Brown

This product is a great buy from MAC! Its pricey but worth it in my opinion.

It gives very good coverage and has a very natural finish (I'm NC45).
I have a few acne marks from a horrible acne episode and I find it easy to swipe this on when i'm heading to work or the cinema and it gives pretty long lasting coverage.

It's great for touchups during the day as it does not cake and has the most natural looking finish. Its not quite a shimmer but gives a subtle glow to the skin.

Will definitely repurchase. Not sure when though as its a lot of product and will last quite a while even with daily use. The packaging is solid and easy to toss into my purse and carry around.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/1/2011 11:13:00 AM More reviews by Hamstershell

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Relaxed, Fine Eyes: Brown

I have this in Medium light. I love this as a setting powder, and using it for touch ups. I find that it gives a very natural finish with subtle glow (not shimmery) plus it feels very light and comfortable on my skin. The only issue is it has no oil control. It is ok when I am using this together with a good oil control foundation (Revlon Color Stay or Estee Lauder Double Wear light), just have to blot my nose every 3 hrs or so lightly, and repowder. The great thing about this powder is it does not cake up, so using this for touch ups is great. My favorite powder at the moment.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 12/19/2010 7:57:00 PM More reviews by JasmineC

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

ALERT ! ALERT ! THIS IT THE BEST POWDER I HAVE FROM MAC . This powder is AMAZING ! You can get this for $26.00 at Mac stores, counters and online at http://www.maccosmetics.com/ . Its a baked mineral powder. It Not dewy and it Not matte it Natural . It gives you that natural look your face is not naturally dewy and your face it not naturally matte it like matte with a sheen and that is the look this powder provides. This powder gives Light coverage you can build it up to medium but don't try to get full coverage because it will start to look cakey .You can use it over foundation , tinted moisturizer, or you can use it alone with a little concealer . This powder does not give you that powdery like the studio fix powder (P.S. i have a review on the studio fix powder) Though i LOVE the studio fix powder , it give great coverage but it you wanna go for a more natural look the studio fix wont work . If you just wanna go hang in the day time and don't need alot of coverage this is for you !

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 8/27/2010 8:16:00 PM More reviews by Catarah

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I love this stuff!!! I actually ris and it's probably one of the best items that I swapped for. The color match is perfect for my NC40 skin. The coverage is fantastic, and it doesn't make my skin look too powdery or cakey.

Is this review helpful? Yes No