November 25, 2014 | 1756 users online

Brows - Anastasia Of Beverly Hills - Brow Pen Long Wearing Brow Tint



image 0

rated 3.4(51 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.4
  • 54% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 4.1
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 10/24/2014 3:23:00 PM More reviews by domokun_nyc

Age: 44-55 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I usually use powder to fill in my brows - they're light brown with some sparse areas and I like them to look natural rather than thickly drawn on. I was looking for something that travels well to avoid carrying powder and brush, and thought this might do the trick.

On the plus side, the universal light tint goes well with my dyed auburn hair. As for the rest, I really wanted to like this, but find it only so-so for a number of reasons:

1. the tip is a kind of mushy pointed sponge, rather than fine hairs, so application is not very precise to get a good narrowing at my outer edge. Also unable to draw wispy hair-like marks - just end up trying to fill in an area with tint. Just not very precise.

2. tint comes out either in heavy drops or not much of anything at all - very inconsistent in dispensing product. I end up blobbing it on and wiping it off to create the shape I want.

3. It's rather expensive relative to performance. I'd expect this to be more in a $6 drugstore product, not something for $21.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/17/2014 3:19:00 PM More reviews by Stacieeelovesit

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I decided to give this brow pen/tint a try after using the Stila Brow Pen for the past year. The Anastasia Brow pen comes in 2 shades - Universal Deep & Universal Light. I purchased the Light one because I had light honey brown hair. This product is definitely on the pricier end of $21 (same as the Stila pen).

I prefer to use brow pens over pencils/powders just because I like something that I can put on in the morning and then just forget about it without worrying whether half my brow will be gone at the end of the day. Pens tend to have better staying power and are smudge proof. Especially since I have very oily T-zone as the day goes on and if I touch my face I don't want to smudge my eye brows.

This pen definitely does the job and is practically identical to the Stila pen except that the Stila one is a little easier to apply in my opinion.

I prefer brow pens to be a little more on the sheer side so I can slowly build on the color just because pen strokes can very easily look unnatural so when a brow pen formula is very opaque or "strong" it comes out looking very "drawn in".

Stila has a more sheer and build-able formula while this Anastasia one is definitely more pigmented and the brush itself is a little stiffer than the Stila one. With brow pens I think its crucial that the brush applicator is a little softer so you can make more natural looking feather strokes.

Other than that I must say that the Anastasia's color matches better than the Stila one (I use shade Light in Stila).

If I had a choice I'd probably want to combine the two pens' strong points because I wouldn't choose one over the other since I'm not fully satisfied with either one.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 2/7/2013 2:22:00 PM More reviews by applecour

Age: 19-24 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Grey

I went out on a limb purchasing this. I honestly didn't think it would be that great, but boy was I wrong! I love this pen! I purchased the Universal Deep color. My hair is not dyed and is a pretty dark neutral brown color. My eyebrows however, are much lighter for some reason. When I use this pen, it makes my brows match my hair and doesn't look too made up and unnatural. I do recommend, as another reviewer said, to keep it in something standing up. I keep it in my glass container standing up along with all my other liners and shadow pencils. You still must use a light hand and small strokes along with a brow brush to achieve a natural look. My issue was that the beginning of my brows would always look too dark and fake, so I started using little dots there rather than strokes and brushing it out immediately - problem solved.

The price was a little steep, but nothing too drastic. I think I paid about $20 for this at Sephora. Before using this product, I had been using Rimmel's professional brow pencil but I just couldn't find a match in the shade. My HG was MAC's brow pencil in "Fling", but they run out so quickly. I think I was using up more than one a month with daily use. At $16 a pop, that's a little ridiculous.

I'm hoping this lasts as long as some of the other reviewers (5+ months). If it does, It'll take over the top spot as my HG brow filler.

EDIT: So I realized that this makes my brows look red! I had taken a few photos and noticed it slightly, then a coworker pointed it out and I was mortified! I immediately washed it off and filled them with a shadow from the bottom of my bag. All this time I was walking around looking like an idiot. It's almost gone now, so I'm just going to throw it out. I wouldn't repurchase. I tried BeneFit's Gimme Brow in Light/Medium and I like it so much better.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 10/20/2012 1:48:00 AM More reviews by yyou

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I love this pen, I have it in the Universal Light and it does a great job of giving me natural looking defined brows. It's extremely important to use this with a light touch and to fill in your brows with small strokes or else your brows will look too heavy and fake. I actually prefer this pen when I have used it for a while because it gets drier and the ink comes out lighter.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 9/17/2012 1:08:00 AM More reviews by smanha

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

I thought I would like a pen better than a powder. I was wrong.
It definitely makes your brows look fuller, but not in the totally natural-looking way I was hoping for.
This is a good product! It lasts ALL DAY, the color stays true, and it's lasted me about 5 months after daily use.
It's just not what I was looking for.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 6/17/2012 6:48:00 PM More reviews by cafran03

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

First off, I think the concept of a stain for your brows is much easier for unskilled to even professional makeup artists to apply. However I have blonde hair and this 'universal light shade' still seems a little too brown for my liking. it goes on heavy as an almost ink blot and i have to blend it around in order for it to look natural. Its defiantly a unique product and its very smart with its felt tip pen dispenser but its just a hassle to get a naturally full brow look without constantly blending it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 top reviewer on 5/17/2012 3:56:00 PM More reviews by jmara

Age: 56 & Over Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

The tails of my brows vanished years ago due to hypothyroidism and I've bought many products to try and get a natural-looking brow back. This product is the best I've ever found! I bought the universal light a week ago, have used it every day and it's perfect for me. No reddish tone at all, it turns a light taupe on my skin. It stays on all day and looks completely natural. I'm surprised that there are some bad and so-so reviews. I'd buy this again in a heartbeat!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/8/2012 3:32:00 AM More reviews by rtran4

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

This gets a high rating from me because I haven't used any other brow products besides Anastasia's for years. I'm Asian with medium/tan skin and sparse brows that I have to fill in on the ends and I've been using the brow pen in Universal Deep for years. It deposits just the right amount of tint evenly where I need it and the color works great again my skin and hair color. I used to use her double ended brow pencil but the pen is much easier and faster to apply, and it looks much more natural than the pencil. They also last a really long time (months) and I've never had one dry out on me before. The only thing is the price, $21 (US) is lot for a brow pen so if there's a good dupe, go for it instead.

Tip: I keep my pen standing up in my makeup brush holder so there won't be a huge amount of color at the tip when I'm ready to use it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 2/19/2012 7:25:00 PM More reviews by stephani99

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Other, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Brown

It's like a lip stain for brows, basically. I'm pretty happy with this so far, having tried half a dozen different brow products while I wait for mine to grow back after yet another over-tweezing episode (*sigh*). The Universal Deep is a bit more red than I'd prefer but since I changed hair color to a chocolate brown with highlights, it works better and now the Light shade seems too ashy or greyish-brown in comparison. Either way, I didn't want to look like I drew my brows on with a Sharpie- my main fear with this type of product. This is one of the few brow products I've tried that looks believable (keep in mind I have bare spots to fill in, not just evening out or taming what is already there). Most powders, pencils, creams, and even the more pigmented colored gels can look too 'flat' or harsh, or simply don't last; smudging has been my biggest struggle. This does not smudge. In fact I slept in it once by accident and only noticed minimal wear at the tail ends of my brows where anything else would have been gone. I can safely say this is one of the longest-lasting ones I have (Tarte's Amazonian Clay Brow Mousse is the other but it takes more effort to apply with a brush and only available through QVC). This also allows more control as to the depth of color you want that the other types don't. You can apply lightly for a more sheer look, and more heavily for a darker look if you go over the area again (I notice the red more with the lighter application). I also think this may have a bit of a sheen to it like natural hair does so it's not as flat or matte as others I've tried, which makes a big difference as to how natural it looks. I did knock off one for the price, as I think it is too expensive for what you get but I can NEVER find the NYX version so I went with this. I haven't run out of it yet, it hasn't dried up and no problems with the felt tip, so if it continues to perform as well and last long enough to warrant another purchase, I will likely do so.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 1/14/2012 5:41:00 AM More reviews by fleshisthelaw

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

this product is VERY much comparable to NYX "eyebrow marker". i tested Anastasia of beverly hills brow pen on one browand the NYX on the other brow and both products were exactly alike.

the Anastasia brow pen is not waterproof - it WILL wash off. it is, although, smudge proof. universal deep is very comparable to NYX deep.

of NYX and Anastasia brow pen's, none is better then the other.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No