November 23, 2014 | 1984 users online

Mascara - New York Color - Maximum Boost Volumizing Mascara



image 0

rated 2.9(10 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 2.9
  • 30% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.5
  • Price: $$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 4 of 5 on 10/15/2013 3:38:00 PM More reviews by Tinnuwen

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

I love this, it gives me a nice clean boost for my long lashes and when paired with my curl conture sculpting mascara, it is amazing. Thankfully, with my pairing, I don't really notice the lower pigment in this one. The straight brush is VERY useful for my eyeshape. The smell isn't very prominient like some others I've tried. :) it does very well to make my day wonderful!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 11/17/2012 8:09:00 PM More reviews by ayngemac

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

When I first applied this I liked it very much. It gave good volume and definition but it wore off really quickly.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/23/2011 11:02:00 AM More reviews by aprettypetal

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

I have mixed feelings about this. It doesn't really clump which is a good thing, but it also doesn't really add volume either - which brings me back to my first point, maybe it doesn't clump because not enough product gets onto the wand, and consequently barely anything gets transfered onto my lashes. I don't know if this is because the formula is too dry, I got a defective tube (because some people said the formula was really wet), or maybe it's the packaging where the tube opening scrapes off all the mascara from the wand when I put it out. Anyway, I shan't be repurchasing!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 11/23/2010 2:30:00 PM More reviews by IslandGirlSPN

Age: 30-35 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium Eyes: Brown

Cheap thrill from Dollar Tree. It defined my lashes but that is all it did. It didnt volumize or boost anything. I do like the brush an how it applied. This would be good for someone with already long thick lashes for definintion but for myself (I have short stick straight sparse asian lashes) this is no good. Ill probably use it when I wear fauze eyelashes but after that I wont buy this again. I just need to get my arse to the Lancone counter and buy my HG Defincils which never does me wrong.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/14/2010 2:39:00 PM More reviews by xxxAmandaxxx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

i found this at the dollar store. i like it but it doesn't do what it says. i just bough it because i needed a mascara at the time and i saw this and bought it. i would buy it again but i haven't seen it at the dollar store.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 7/9/2010 8:08:00 PM More reviews by tamedDOLL

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Straight, Fine Eyes: Brown

Definitely not 'maximum boost'. This really didn't do much except darken my lashes and it smudges after 2-3 hours wearing it even with powder under my eyes. I gave it more tries but did the same, so i threw it out.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 5/21/2009 8:51:00 PM More reviews by merupi

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

[shorter summary]
*pro
-EXTREMELY natural looking
-NO clumps. even if you try, and put on 10 coats.
-dries quickly
-cheap cheap cheap!

*average
-length
-volume

*con
-smears if you wipe your eyes (duh? it's not waterproof)
-doesn't keep curl

oh i like this. very average mascara, though. i thought this mascara was going to be a really low quality product, but since i got this for free, i had to have tried this out! i never really wear mascara because out of all the mascaras i've tried, they would CLUMP, and smear. and i don't really like waterproof mascaras because the forumla tends to be tacky are not able to carry the same effect as its non waterproof.

this mascara looks Completely Natural on my lashes. i love how the packaging makes the brush not leave so much mascara left on there (which usually causes clumps). it doesn't make your lashes look shiny and conditioned like some others, but it's mainly because it's a dry formula, so it dries quick! despite that, the mascara still smears if you mess around with your eyes- but you should just take the smudge off with a bit of water on a Q-tip because you can take it off easily.

it is buildable and makes my lashes not super long, but long. it really doesn't do much on it's volume. but didn't i mention it looking completely natural?! it looks beautiful on my lashes, anyways. i RECOMMEND to people who already have long lashes, but want an extra oomph. i use this because of my need to re-blacken my lashes after my eyeshadow keeps falling down on my lashes. i'm asian and have really short, straight lashes. this is the only reason i'm not going to get another one of these- doesn't hold a curl that well. after 2 or 3 coats, it reaches a real good length, but what good is it if it doesn't keep my curl? it's straight long lashes!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 1/29/2009 7:28:00 AM More reviews by amy_singhs

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Green

As soon as I saw the brush I knew this was not going to be what I wanted it to be. Takes way too much work to get any volume. Plus by the end of the day it's smudged on my bottom lids...and I don't wear it on my bottom lashes. Might be inexpensive but still a waste of money since I'll be replacing it asap.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/6/2009 4:40:00 PM More reviews by Annie2611

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

While I was browsing through the cosmetics section of the drugstore and needed a mascara on the whim since my other ones have run out. I was also on a budget since I always blow my money away =.= I have long and thick lashes already but I like adding a little drama to them to make my eyes stand out. This really does the trick, it volumizes, defines, and lives to the colour (blackest black). At first I was hesitant to get this because it was NYC which is known for its cheapness and which might mean bad quality. But no this is not the case here. Itsa wonderful mascara and it doesn't test on animals! =D I know most ladies think if it's cheap that means the quality sucks but it's not true! Quality not quantity. I got this for 4 dollars at Shoppers's Drugmart (CDN) The tube is quite unique. So ladies go out and try this. You have nothing to lose! - : ) Annie

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 9/17/2008 7:59:00 PM More reviews by barbie_c0ri

Age: 25-29 Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

At first i didn't like it because it's soooo dry and did a okay job. But i layered the NYC curling macara on top and BAM i got lots of volume and lengths! I bought this in Blackest black. I think this is a new product.

update: nevermind...the mascara only last a week and it dried out. but it was good while it lasted.

Is this review helpful? Yes No