BH Cosmetics - 120 Color Palette 1st Edition

4.0

114 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $

Package Quality: 3.4

Price: $

INGREDIENTS



Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I wanted this palette for so long and was so excited when I finally decided to get it. I have had it for a few years now I guess, I got it on ebay for I believe around $15 with free shipping.

Truth is, I don't reach for it on a regular basis because for every day wear I generally prefer neutral colors. But when I'm in the mood for a bright and colorful look, I will use my 120 palette. Whenever I do use it, I always get compliments on my eyeshadow.

Using a good primer or base is extremely necessary for these eyeshadows to reach their full potential, otherwise the colors are powdery and lacking in pigment. With a good base I can get several hours of bright full color that lasts until I wash it off.

This has all the colors you may want as far as the rainbow goes, purples, pinks, blues and teals, yellows, greens, and some neutrals. Some colors I am unlikely to use, like bright neon yellow for example, but that's just my personal preference. It has a variety of finishes, matte, satin, shimmer/frost, etc.

This is a great place to start if you are just starting to build your makeup collection, or maybe you want to try some bright crazy color combinations without breaking the bank. It's a really fun palette to play with and see what color combinations you can come up with. This is perfect for trying all kinds of colors that you may not normally try.

These 120 palettes are all from the same source, it doesn't matter where you purchase it. Brands like BH Cosmetics, Coastal Scents etc all stick their own brand labels on them but they're the same generic palette. I wouldn't pay more than around $15 for this in my opinion, it's nice but the texture isn't the best. If you don't mind waiting a little bit for international shipping, a lot of overseas sellers on ebay have great deals on these palettes.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

I actually don't own this in the 1st edition, I think I own the 3rd I'm not sure. Mine has a lot of cooler toned colors. I wanted less of the bright pinks and yellows and such that I knew I'd never wear. But anyhow my review will still work for this product. These have great pigmentation and an arrangement of matte, sheen, shimmer, even sparkly eye shadows. So many colors to make multiple different looks from natural to smokey eye to colorful. Great to experiment with colors and makeup. I got this on sale for $18 but I think it retails for around $25 or $30. Definitely worth the price. If you're looking for some eyeshadows And don't have a lot of money I suggest investing in this before any high end palettes.


on 10/10/2014 12:41:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I've purchased a few of these palettes and given away a few as gifts. Very very pigmented and lasts alllll day with a primer. My only issue is the red stained my skin. Not a huuuge issue but really weird. I love that they go on sale during any holiday too!!


on 11/24/2013 1:01:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This palette is great for mu gurus who love to experiment with colour!!! Most of the shades are buildable and pigmented, with a few exeptions(like with most eyeshadow palettes) can't wait to go crazy with this palette!!!


on 8/28/2013 10:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

The colors in this palette are what initially caught my attention. Being a (broke) college student and someone who is not willing to spend a ton of money on makeup, this has definitely been a great buy. 120 colors - I rarely need to buy additional eye shadows because almost every color is there already. I always get compliments - everyone wants to know how I managed to find an eye shadow color that exactly matches the surgical green scrubs I have to wear for clinicals or how I manage to precisely match my eye shadow with my nursing uniform. The price was pretty good too - BH Cosmetics always has sales - I ended uo getting this palette for around $17. I'm no MUA but just a hint - I use the NYX Eye Shadow Base in white. It makes the colors MUCH more vibrant and bright.


on 8/9/2013 4:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

The most beautiful, pigmented colors that I have. I absolutely love my palette. I still have colors that I have not used in it, and love that I have so many options that I am able to use. It glides on smoothly with or without eye shadow primer, lasts all day and stays vivid throughout wearing it.


on 4/27/2013 6:48:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

For the price and the amount of colors you get, it's definitely worth it! Not all the shadows are pigmented tho. Some colors have little to no color pay off, whereas some have great color pay off. Lasting ability is good. I noticed little fading throughout the day. I said I would repurchase cuz it is a good deal for the selection of colors you get, but I probably wouldn't need to repurchase again.

Shipping is awesome! I received my order in a little over a week and I live in Canada!


on 3/15/2013 1:58:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I would never need to repurchase this as I don't experiment with colours that often, but it is really handy to have for seasonal looks (St Patrick's Day, Valentines Day, Halloween etc). It's not high end quality by any means, but it is pretty decent considering the price. If you use a primer, it will definitely last a long time, without a primer though, it'll end up all over your face as the shadows are a little powdery. Really fun colours and overall a fun, affordable palette to experiment with.


on 3/4/2013 6:59:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I never thought I would find the nerve to purchase and wear bright colors, but the 88 and 120 palettes make it easy to experiment without regret. I believe most brands are dupes of one another (as opposed to same supplier, different package name) as I've read about slight differences in pay-off and chalkiness. This particular palette from BH Cosmetics wins my vote!

There is a wide range of soft highlighter shades as well as brighter shades, some commonly used and others that dare me to try them. Surprisingly, I found out that a medium bright orange looks like a soothing peach on my NC40-42 skin. I loved it and have been wearing it at least once a week.

Color intensity, color payoff and chalkiness varies by shade. For the most part, the colors respond well. I have only found a handful in the 120 that have no color payoff on my skin. Most are highly pigmented and easy to lift and apply. Less fallout than Lorac, more than Revlon.

Overall, I have been more pleased with the BH eyeshadows than with their lip palette.or blushes.

I've purchased 5 palettes from BH and each was packaged extremely well

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/27/2012 7:08:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I love all of these palettes. I get them sooo cheap on ebay from China (no name brand just search 120 palette) and they are so good. You cannot use them alone however. I use urban decay primer and boom, perfect eye shadows that last all day and are pigmented ! I receive soo many compliments. I find myself using these palettes more then my UD, Mac, or others. I will definitely continue to buy these.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Palettes


Contour Kit
69 Reviews
NAKED
2243 Reviews
The Nudes
75 Reviews
NAKED3
372 Reviews


Back to Top