September 30, 2014 | 1328 users online

Scrubs - Jurlique - Daily Exfoliating Cream



image 0

rated 3.5(19 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.5
  • 68% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.3
  • Price: $$$

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 8/31/2012 3:15:00 AM More reviews by silviabeloved

Age: 30-35 Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

This is expensive, and the design of the bottle makes it really hard to get all the last bit of the product out. It kinda has an odd smell, and yes, it has an even odder texture and the product falls off your face all the time. The alcohol content in it irritates my face a little, but not too much, and not always. It does make your skin feel smooth and softer, but I just really can't find anything about it that can justify the price. Not buying it again.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 12/7/2011 10:15:00 PM More reviews by rnancy

Age: 36-43 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

This has to be the strangest product I have ever bought. I had read so many great things about it, and looked at a tester at the store. It seemed a little odd, but I guessed that was because it was a tester. Unfortunately I opened the seal and found the same, very stinky oatmeal product coming out of the very nice metal tube. I almost felt like laughing at myself as I put it all over my face. Now as a natural scrub, it wasn't terrible. However, I wanted to hold my nose as I rubbed it on my face, and that isn't right.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 10/21/2011 6:36:00 AM More reviews by farmy

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Grey

Okay so I'm a bit of a Jurlique fan. I have acne prone skin and I'm in my thirties, so this means I have oily skin. I struggled for ages to find skin care stuff for my face that wouldn't dry me skin out, make my face flakey or leave my face feeling more oily than before I used the product. This product was suggested to me by my beauty girl after I started using the Jurlique Purifying Cleanser. Now I resisted using this stuff for some time, I hate it when anyone tries to hard to sell me stuff. I finally buckled and haven't looked back. How and when you use it is really important. I use my cleanser in the morning to wash off the sleep from my face and wake me up for the day. I use this exfoliating "cream" - really it's a scrub, in the evening to wash off the day and get my skin nice and clean before bed. I usually wet my face a little to get the skin damp, I then squeeze about a 20 to 50c piece in my palm and add a little bit of water to the product. I then mix it into a bit of a paste and rub (I know they say pat but I rub) into my face. I then wash the product off my face with nice hot water. My skin always feels fantastic after I use this and I would really recommend it to those of you that have oily, acne prone skin.

Pros: The smell is really devine and the scrub itself works wonders on keeping your skin beautiful and clean.

Cons: I'm really not a fan of the packaing. I've had tubes of this stuff where I can't get the last of the product out and the amount that I'm paying, I want all of the product.

Yes Jurlique is expensive, but for me I've found this to be the best scrub on the market.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/28/2011 11:49:00 PM More reviews by misspurchase

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I have used this exfoliating cream on and off for about 5 years. It is a little messy to apply and the tube is hard to deal with as you get through the product. My last tube split where I had folded it over to squeeze out the product. It's pricey but that's expected from a brand like Jurlique.
The product has been kind to my skin and is a very gentle exfoliant and suits my combination skin. I find the majority of scrubs too harsh and scratchy so this or Dr Hauschka's cleansing cream are my favourites. This product leaves my skin feeling refreshed, plumped and well cleansed.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 8/22/2011 5:33:00 AM More reviews by leea

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Black

This is exactly what I'm looking for in a face cleanser. Jurlique's Daily Exfoliating Cream gently removes any impurities and sloughs off dead skin cells, and unlike most other exfoliating products, it doesn't leave my skin dry and flaky. Instead, my skin feels soft, smooth and clean. This is perfect if you are looking for a gentle, soap-free, exfoliating cleanser for daily use.


This is nothing groundbreaking or revolutionary, but it doesn't have to be in order for you to love it. It does not claim to cure acne, reverse the signs of aging or remove makeup, so don't expect it to. But it's a great, basic, non-gimmicky cleanser for daily use. From past experience, I have learned that the best thing you can do for your skin (acne-prone, sensitive, oily, dry or otherwise) is to stop using harsh, soap-based cleansers. I have found that a simple, soap-free cleanser with a gentle exfoliating effect will suffice to keep your skin looking its best without interfering with its natural mechanisms.


The texture is something that requires some getting used to, simply because there are few products on the market like this one. I find the best way to use this is to squeeze some product from the tube, add a few drops of water and mix it between your fingers until it becomes watery. Then apply it to your face by pressing and rubbing into the skin. Jurlique calls this a "cream" but I would describe it as more of a thick paste. Don't be deterred, the thick consistency is what provides the exfoliating action.


Unlike most exfoliating products, it is non-granular. It does not contain grains/crystals/beads, which is actually a blessing since they can be very abrasive and leave the skin dry and flaky (I should also note that chemical exfoliants also strip the skin of all its moisture). Instead, the Daily Exfoliating Cream contains real bits of almonds and oats, oatbran, sesame oil, macadamia oil and honey, all of which form a thick paste that provides resistance against the skin, effectively but non-abrasively removing dead skin cells. The sesame oil, macadamia oil and honey also prevent the skin from drying out, leaving it soft and smooth to touch.


Retailing at $30 AUD, it's not the cheapest. For me, its ingredients make this product worth the money. Like all of Jurlique's products, it contains natural ingredients (that being said, it does contain a couple of synthetic chemicals, but significantly less than the vast majority of face cleansers on the market, which are filled with chemical fillers).

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 3/6/2011 8:17:00 AM More reviews by devilzwind

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Wow, I was pleasantly surprised by this product. I think one of the most important things is the technique - don't be tempted to use it like a normal manual scrub, read the instructions and follow them, in particular the press-release motion. It is an interesting texture, quite a chunky cream with bits of oatmeal and stuff, so it's a bit messy, but it left me with super soft skin, pores are more refined, and skin is instantly more glowy. A great product to have in the cupboard. Smells good too!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 2/13/2011 7:50:00 PM More reviews by EcoPretty

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Green

I bought this because I was experiencing irritation from a too-scented organic moisturizer that I've since thrown away and needed a super gentle exfoliator. This scrub uses a large amount of oat, which calms the skin, so I impulsively bought it on vacation despite the outrageous price tag -- $25 for a little tube!

Yuck! This is too thick, isn't at all cohesive (falls off your face as you're trying to apply it), had big chunks of almond skin in it, and barely exfoliates. Back to John Masters Jojoba & Ginseng Exfoliator....

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 on 12/15/2010 12:21:00 PM More reviews by MariaCamilla

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Blue

When I used this the first time I was very seeing the texture of the cream. It looks a bit like oatmeal. And smells like some kind of herbal soap. Very natural. After having used for a couple of months I am positive. It exfoliates my skin gently and leaves it soft and clean. I don't use it daily though, only every other day or a couple of times a week. The texture is a bit thick and clumpy, but I found that it helps mixing the scrub with some drops of water in the palm. It makes the texture more creamy.
I think it is too espensive, but it is a great exfoliater, so I might keep buying it.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 11/24/2010 4:21:00 PM More reviews by jacquelina23

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I still haven't figured out a way to apply this exfoliant correctly, it feels like you are trying to rub soggy oatmeal all over your face, it falls off and it's very chunky, doesn't blend into a nice paste even if you apply a bit of water. I have been using it in the shower with the "press and release" motions and while most of the product falls off, I put the rest on my body that doesn't stay on my face. I feel like my face feels a bit waxy after, but soft. It was definitely a surprise to see it come out like ground almonds mixed with oatmeal! But, on the positive side, it smells very natural and it's full of good stuff, no chemicals. It's a weird product, I definitely prefer St. Ives Apricot Scrub for $3.99 over this!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 6/13/2010 10:09:00 AM More reviews by girllovepurple

Age: 36-43 Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Definitely the best exfoliate I have been used for my dry/combination skin. It is the perfect match with AHC - drop 5-7 drops of AHC in the warm water, wash the face with the water for 5-10 times, then squeeze the Daily Exfoliating Cream to the balm, mix with some warm AHC water, message on the face for a few mins, then wash it with the AHC water. Wow, my skin was never this clean and smooth before. The cream is so gentle and smells gorgeous.

Is this review helpful? Yes No