October 2, 2014 | 1049 users online

Lip Gloss - Maybelline - Lip Polish in Flesh Light

no image

rated 3.2(13 reviews)

  • Average Rating: 3.2
  • 61% would buy again
  • Package Quality: 3.7
  • Price: $

  • Ingredients
  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 4/7/2010 12:46:00 AM More reviews by labu

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Olive, Warm Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium Eyes: Brown

I really wanted to like this product when seeing the beautiful flesh color in the tube. I was thinking I'd get a great nude gloss, and this one even seemed to have just a hint of shimmer, enough to be sophisticated without being obnoxious. Although in the end I still really like the color, there are unfortunately four main reasons why I immediately resumed my search for a nude gloss.

1) This color is extremely sheer, like REALLY sheer. I have very pigmented lips, and when I put this on, it's as though I did nothing but slather a little glossy shimmer on. Sure, it may make my natural lip color or whatever lipstick I put it over a bit lighter, but the color underneath still shows through dramatically. I will say that the gloss is much less sheer when first putting it on than after a little while, and this is related to my next point.

2) The staying power is nearly non-existent. I put this gloss on, and it seems to creamify (made up that word) whatever color is underneath it, but it fades away literally within 10 minutes, almost like it dries up and turns invisible. I'd keep this gloss as a sheer gloss if it at least stayed for a bit, but it doesn't, making it pointless to even wear it at all. Even worse, as it dries it becomes sticky... hate that!

3) This may be the worst part of this gloss... the formula is way too thin and runny. Immediately after putting it on, it races to the corners of my lips and inner rims, collecting in white globs (EW!!!) that make strings as I open and close my mouth to speak. The words I'd use to describe the feeling are slippery and gooey. I even timed how long it took for the stuff to migrate, and it was a record 30 seconds. This has no ability to stay put, no matter what you put it over. Considering how sheer it is and how lame the staying power is, you would think you could layer on a little bit more to contribute to both, right? No. Whether I used a lot or a little, the stuff was still runny, and was gooier the more I used.

4) The applicator is pretty bad. The tip is SUPER small, so small that I have to run it over my lips numerous times just to cover them, and it's round, not flat. It's very impractical and does not encourage an even application at all.

I'm rating this at one lippy just for the color in the tube, because it really is a beautiful color. Wish the formula was better, though. I found NYX mega shine gloss in Taupe to be the PERFECT nude gloss, it's matte and great quality. It's up to par with all NYX mega shine glosses, which, in my opinion, are GREAT formulas.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 4/25/2008 11:49:00 PM More reviews by xjsbellamias13

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This is very similar to MAC's C-Thru. It is a sheer nude color with shimmer. I do like it even though i wish it was a bit more pigmented. I have to apply several coats to make it "nude" colored.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 3/26/2007 9:39:00 PM More reviews by AKgirl1

Age: 25-29 Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Fantastic nude lip gloss color. Hard to find colors similar to compare it to. I'll buy over and over again. I look weird with any color on my lips, so this is perfect for me.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 2/15/2005 More reviews by MerryBerriesNCherries

Age: 19-24 Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

Ugh!! This stuff is so goopy and sticky I could barely spread it on my lips evenly. And then it gums up on my lips where they meet and looks real gross. I'll admit the color is nice, but the formula stinks.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 6/30/2004 10:00:00 PM More reviews by JeepGirl443

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

this is as close to perfect as a lip color i have found. the only thing that i dont like is that sometimes it doesnt show up well. and looks just kind of clear. and it doesnt last as long as i would like , HOWEVER this is the only thing that i have found that can give me a nude lip. my lips are very very pigmented and this actually helps to cover that up. probably not good for those with already light lips, but works great for me! UPDATE: This became messy after 2 weeks use it was pretty gross!

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 11/30/2003 3:01:00 PM More reviews by scorpricorn

Age: Unknown Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure Hair: Other, Other, Other Eyes: Other

At first I hated this color on me, it made me look washed out (im a PPP/LLL with dark blonde hair and blue eyes). But after wearing it a few more times, it looks great especially after it dries a little. Gives the effect of porn star slutty lips, but still looks really good! The one thing I hate about this is that it can dry out your lips and have that while film..but you can prevent that by wearing a lip primer or just Carmex under it. This lip polish looks even better with Revlon's Glistening Sand Lipglide over it (helps it not dry out either).

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 top reviewer on 4/24/2003 3:49:00 PM More reviews by gitargirl

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Green

I was hoping to kill my lemming for NARS lipgloss in 'Chelsea Girls' by purchasing this. It gets an extra lippie because it IS workable, but it doesn't produce the desired effect. If worn extremely sheer, it's oooook, but if worn like a regular lipgloss, it will look like sh*t on anyone. It's frosty unnatural ass (to steal from my favorite MUA'er, Calamity). (sigh) Now I have to get Chelsea Girls for $20, boo.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 4/12/2003 1:58:00 AM More reviews by cremebrulee

Age: 30-35 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brown, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

Im a LLL Asian girl (MAC C2 BB sand) and this made my lips look pearly white! Ghastly!! Maybe it's just me but I so wanted to love this! Why does it work for everyone else? :(

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 4/8/2003 9:50:00 PM More reviews by riotkitty

Age: 19-24 Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Hazel

WOW! This the closest lipgloss to a MAC Lipglass I have found. The color is very close to C-Thru, only more shimmery and yellow toned, which is great for toning down the pink on my drugstore nude lipsticks. This looks particulary good on top of Maybelline Wetshine in Spice It Up. This combo makes for a shiny, true nude color, not too pink, grey or brown.

*EDIT* I'm deducting 2 lipsticks because this is way to shimmery, In fact it looks frosty and makes my lips look like crepe paper or something.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/6/2003 10:00:00 PM More reviews by smookitty

Age: 25-29 Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

Great lookalike for MAC c-thru lipglass, probably the closest I've found by far. And for only about $5 a pop, much cheaper too! Hoorah! :)

Is this review helpful? Yes No