November 22, 2014 | 1465 users online

Loose Powders - Everyday Minerals - Start to Finish Fair

no image

rated 3.6(11 reviews)

  • Write a Review
Pin It

rated 1 of 5 top reviewer on 5/30/2009 7:47:00 PM More reviews by KingTaco

Age: 36-43 Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Green

Not a great product. When I use it as primer, it keeps my skin from getting oily,
But it actually seems to dry me out, so I save it for special occasions.

When I put this on top of my makeup as finishing powder, it doesn't really do much.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 5/13/2009 8:13:00 AM More reviews by JulesGrey

Age: 19-24 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Red, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

This is usually the first thing I apply after moisturiser and it does make a difference. Without a dusting of this, my foundation has a tendency to cake and look powdery. With a dusting of this, my foundation does glide on smoother. Though the key is to just sweep on a very small amount (I use a large powder brush) or else it adds to the problem.

As a finishing dust I do not see any noticeable difference in how long my make-up lasts or how it looks.

As for the packaging I'm not too fond of it. First of all the closable sifter does not work all that great. Using powder make-up is still messy.I think it would have been much better with a snap-close flap like you have for spice bottles, you know with the little pegs on the lid going into the holes making it impossible for the herbs to escape? And I do wish the label would have been on the top of the product.

Overall, I'm rather happy with this product. Not a must have. But at the same time useful.

EDITED: I try not to buy anything from EDM any longer due to certain events that have made me decide not to support this company any longer. It is not that I do not like the products I own from them, but just that I personally cannot embrace them as a company.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 2/19/2009 5:27:00 AM More reviews by pinkiipromise

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Black, Other, Other Eyes: Brown

I LOVE this product!!
When i first looked at it.. I was disappointed cos it looked really white.. I tried it anyways over my EM foundation & I absolutely LOVED it!! You guys know the ads in magazines where models have gorgeous envious skin that everyone admires? Well... THAT is exactly what the product did.. It felt so velvety soft on my skin & it gave my skin that airbrushed look. Although its translucent, it made my skin look absolutely amazing.
It also help with my oil control (but i haven't tried it on a humid day yet.....) but one thing it did was set my makeup.
I am definitely going to order a full size of this.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/12/2009 8:19:00 AM More reviews by rozwielitka

Age: 19-24 Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Green

Love it and would die for it. I haven't decided yet witch formula of EMs foundation suits me best, but I'm sure that start to finish fair is absolutely my must-have. It makes my make-up last longer and fresher, gives my skin pretty matte finish without mask-effect. It comes with lovely close-able jar, with I can take with me if I want to. STF fair is totally translucent, so it doesn't interrupt my foundation.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 5 of 5 on 1/10/2009 10:04:00 AM More reviews by sadie_g

Age: 25-29 Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure Hair: Blond, Other, Other Eyes: Hazel

This makes the biggest difference in my makeup! It makes my makeup go on smoother- I think of it as a quasi-primer because it helps the foundation glide on smoother than when I don't use it. It makes my makeup last longer, especially in my oily areas. And if I come home from work and need to hurry back out the door, a light dusting really freshens up my look.
I truly do not notice a difference between the fair and the sunlight. I used the sunlight in the summer months and switched to fair for the fall and winter, but my skin tone doesn't really change all that much and so I don't think there is a big difference.
For a while I was using a heavy hand to apply, thinking that if some is good, more is better- not necessarily the case. Using a little less has actually improved the effects. I use the EM long handled kabuki brush to apply.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 12/19/2008 9:34:00 PM More reviews by Jolly_C

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Warm Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

UPDATE (4/10/09): For Golden Medium and darker, try the Sunlight formula. It's less ashy.
ORIGINAL REVIEW: This is a pretty good product. I have combination skin, and my t-zone usually gets oily after 5 hours. With the STF powder, I get slightly oily after 8 hours, and maybe need to blot at the 10th or 12th hour. I would get the STF in a smaller container, as a little bit goes a long way. I bought a mini size of this and, after using it almost everyday weekday for 6 months, I've only finished half the jar. I have yet to try the SFT Sunlight, but I am a EM Golden Medium/ Olive Medium and the STF Fair is not noticeable unless I apply a lot of it.


In terms of oil control, the discontinued EM silk powder is the best (I am allergic to it), followed by the STF kaolin (the regular STF), followed by the STF rice, and then the Finishing Dust after that. Highly recommended.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful. Did you? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 top reviewer on 10/7/2008 9:49:00 AM More reviews by tracyveronika

Age: 30-35 Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine Eyes: Hazel

I find this to be a good primer and finishing powder. It does a pretty good job at absorbing and controlling oil, and the color is nice and translucent. If you are not sure about it, you can always try the sample size first (which is what I did.)

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 4 of 5 on 8/18/2008 7:42:00 PM More reviews by SiouxCat

Age: 19-24 Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Warm Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium Eyes: Brown

This is a great, all natural mineral primer. It gives a similar silky smooth feeling & look as many silicone primers. My pores are much less noticeable, and my foundation looks so smooth & flawless with it. I use EM's olive fair intensive foundation on top. It does not look cakey for me, but my skin is very oily and not dry or flaky at all lately. It quickly melts into my skin & looks super natural.

Oil control is good, but not mind-blowing. Using a powder mineral makeup helps cut down on shine for me anyway, but I think the kaolin clay in this is an added boost to the wear of the foundation. I still blot here & there, but I don't get super greasy.

This a great replacement product to the silk dust which is being discontinued, and which was never as good for me once they added the black currant powder as a preservative.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 2 of 5 on 8/5/2008 10:07:00 AM More reviews by xxxlor241xxx

Age: 18 & Under Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure Hair: Brunette, Other, Other Eyes: Blue

I love the start to finish rice powder but the ordinary to start to finish doesn't suit my skin at all. It gives me these small under the skin bumps which are very annoying. It also doesn't control oil very well. I find the rich powder way better in terms of oil control.

Is this review helpful? Yes No

rated 3 of 5 top reviewer on 7/3/2008 1:04:00 AM More reviews by stargazer_lily

Age: 30-35 Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine Eyes: Blue

I got this as a freebie with one of my orders. I really wanted this to work for me! I have fairly finnicky skin - oily t-zone which is prone to dry flaking areas. (I do my best to deal with the flaking in my skincare routine as much as possible because I know any makeup looks terrible on flaking skin!). Anyhow, I have had no success using this as a primer and only moderate success with it as a finishing powder. Priming with the EM products recommended for this task never seems to work for me - it just exacerbates my skin problems and doesn't keep me matte. I am currently using this Start to Finish powder in a refillable brush for touchups, but I don't feel this is that great for this purpose. It tends to cake a little bit. I'm also not 100% happy with this shade. It's a smidge ghostly on me. I'm pretty pale (Golden Fair) but I feel that Tinted Silk Dust looks better on me. I was happy to get this for free but won't be purchasing.

Is this review helpful? Yes No